We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Four Star”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Oviedo
Reviewed December 29, 2011

A very nice ultra modern hotel, with parking in the lot next to the hotel. The cocktail lounge and restaurant is in the basement. The drinks and food were very good! I would definetly stop here again! A Solid four star.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tatonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gruta R, Propietario at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for New Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 273 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed here when my boyfriend was having his eyes lasered in the famous Fernandez Vega clinic in Oviedo. It was on the outskirts of town and close to the clinic, but as result maybe a bit further out than most tourists would like. I did manage to walk into town one day, and another I caught a bus from opposite the hotel with no problem. The hotel is a huge building with a massive free car park for guests. It seemed to have a lot of conference rooms and facilities, so I imagine quite frequented by businesses and weddings etc. We found the best rates on booking this hotel was through their website itself, rather than any other, and I think we only paid 100 for 2 nights between us. It included everything as well, extra large beds, a free glass of cider, free coffee, snacks, fruit and water at reception, and we didn't have to check out until 1400.
On arrival we were designated the wrong room, but the staff at reception were fantastic, and changed us with no quibbles. The room we eventually had was spacious and well equipt, although admittedly quite dated. It also has spectacular views over the countryside beyond Oviedo. As my boyfriend was effectively blind for most of the trip, we decided not to stray out of the hotel, and ate in their restaurant (something we don't usually do). And we were pleasantly surprised. There was a lift straight down to the restaurant, and it was a lovely place, very well decorated in tradition style, all wood and cider everywhere, and the food was really very nice. There was a terrace outside to have drinks, and the staff were excellent, the second night we went to the restaurant and ordered, and just afterwards my boyfriend decided he couldn't stand the light, so went back upstairs. The staff were very helpful put everything on trays for me so I could take it all up to the room.
I would definately recommend this hotel if you're not worried about being in the town centre and catching a bus. It is right on the outskirts, so very quick to get away from Oviedo out into the countryside. We'd definately consider staying there again for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RatonCantabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lagrutaOviedo, Gerente at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2011

Thank you very much for his comments
We wait to possess his presence in a future
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2002

I spent two nights at this hotel. The first one was normal. But the second, a saturday nigth, ther were some celebrations and there was a terribly loud music until three in the morning, preventing many guests (and I among them) from sleeping properly. At 1.00 in the morning I managed to talk to the hotel manager who, in a very bad-mannered way, explained to me that every week-end was the same and he couldn't do anything but search another hotel for me. But, he added, should I go to another hotel, I wouldn't be given the official complaint form. Of course I wanted to complain (both for the music and for the way the manager treated me), and I decided not to look for another hotel. After a bitter argument (I needed to sleep, because the following day, a sunday, I had to work, (what the manager couldn't understand)I was given the complaint paper. As I was filling the form, the manager stole it violently from my hands, shouting that I was not allowed to complain because I had not yet paid anything. (I had told him my intention not to pay for such a night).

After longer arguments and I don't know how, the manager realized he had been extremely rude, and very ashamed became apologetic, let me complete the form, and even accepted not to charge that night.

Of course I addressed officialy my complaint, and did not pay a euro for that night. But this is not worth it, and I would reccommend everybody to avoid such a place. TRhere are many other nice hotels in Oviedo.

10  Thank Ignacio37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gruta R, Propietario at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014
Google Translation

Sentimos su malestar en nuestro establecimiento, pero desde el 2013 ese establecimiento tiene una nueva dirección y gerencia y entendemos que en ningún momento habría posibilidades de que se volvieran a repetir tales infortunios, gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Marta Rocío C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank valenth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Tere L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Habitaciones interiores que no tengan vistas al monte
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnWayneBadajoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oviedo hotels
1.4 mi away
Exe Oviedo Centro
Exe Oviedo Centro
#11 of 49 in Oviedo
502 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Oviedo
Hotel Ibis Oviedo
#12 of 49 in Oviedo
597 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silken Monumental Naranco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ayre Hotel Oviedo
Ayre Hotel Oviedo
#3 of 49 in Oviedo
1,159 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ayre Hotel Ramiro I
Ayre Hotel Ramiro I
#25 of 49 in Oviedo
287 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Oviedo Cervantes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: Plaza Occidente 1, 33006, Oviedo, Spain (Formerly La Gruta Hotel)
Location: Spain > Asturias > Oviedo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Oviedo
Price Range: $56 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing