We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent”
Review of Ayre Hotel Oviedo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ayre Hotel Oviedo
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Oviedo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

There is little to say. Spacious rooms, large and comfortable bathrooms and very clean and bright environment. Breakfast with a large choice of cuts and cheese and sweets, and a good espresso. Plus: the building itself is breathtaking. A plus: I thought it would have been way more expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Hotel Oviedo, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the nice comments you have made about the AYRE HOTEL OVIEDO.We are very pleased you had a good time with us!

If you need anything in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,

Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,161)
There are newer reviews for Ayre Hotel Oviedo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

When Santiago Calatrava has designed your hotel as a world-class monument to minimalism, it's hard not to receive an automatic five star review here. The welcome was warm, friendly and very helpful, storing our bicycles away from the risk of thieves at no extra cost. Our family room was simply enormous, with not one or two but three televisions, plus of course free unlimited wi-fi. The choice of fresh fruits, meats and cheeses at breakfast was just great, and the cosy atmosphere and customer service in the Bistro in the evenings (do book a table or you may be disappointed) made for a very convivial dinner. We got a great rate, and it is a pleasant 15 minute walk, partly through the city's main park, into town.
So what's not to like? Well here are my top tips for Ayre Hotels: improve the website, information is poor and poorly (i.e. too cleverly) presented, and it seems to crash ipads. Shampoo needs to be accompanied by a conditioner. A bit more interaction from breakfast staff please. Do warm up the bar area, it is too minimalist and cold, and you can tell by the lack of customers that most guests feel the same. Introduce bar food before 8.30pm - it seems pretty weird not to be able to get some kind of tea or early evening snack.
But such quibbles are outbalanced by the sheer grandeur, novelty and pleasure of staying in such an extraordinary building. Do try it.
Finally, a parking tip: it costs 13 euros in the car park overnight, but by feeding the meter in a local street anytime after 8pm, the ticket will automatically carry over your paid-for time to the following morning, which means that for 1.70 euros you can leave the car until 11am before you need to move it.

Room Tip: The family rooms at the end of each wing are huge - king size double in the bedroom, double and sing...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Redfred1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Socila Media Manager at Ayre Hotel Oviedo, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about your past stay in our hotel! Also we would like to thank you for your feedback about the hotel website and the Food and Beverage Department, it will really help us to keep on working to exceed our customer expectations and make them feel like at home.

We will be very pleased to have you here again!


Kind Regards,

Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is one of the most unique hotels anywhere. Beautiful, ultra modern and very unusual architecture. Room was large, comfortable and very clean. Bathroom had tub and walk-in shower - I thought the shower with multi-sprays was wonderful. Staff was very friendly. Easy walk to city center and the historical area, with many great restaurants. Short 5 Euro taxi ride from the train station. While this was a great hotel, for me the ultra modern architecture did not fit Oviedo. I would highly recommend this hotel, but for myself I would probably stay elsewhere next time. Simply personal choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tx_Traveling_Lite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Hotel Oviedo, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear guest,

First, we would like to thank you for your kind comments about your stay in our hotel.Your words help us to keep on working to achieve our main target, our guests enjoying happy experiences in our hotels. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers!

Kind Regards,

Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel deserves a visit on its own. The hotel is literaly on air, great architecture. The service is outstanding and staff are very helpfull. Out of the city"center" in walking distance. Astonishing sight as it stands in between the other buildings. A have to see and stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing " the back" have a great view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Hotel Oviedo, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear guest,
First, thank you for your kind words about your stay at AYRE HOTEL OVIEDO. We are glad to know you´ve had a great time with us. Your comments helps us to know about our customers needs. Hoping to have you here again, Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

To stay in this hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience, as it is like staying inside an uber-modern monumental work of art, which it is. I've always been a fan of Calatrava so when traveling to Asturias last week, we had to come to Oviedo if only to experience this for a couple of nights. The interior design of the hotel though not that impressive is quietly elegant and goes with its exterior appearance and overall architecture. I like that the furnishings and design of the room, while modernistic, is utterly functional, comfortable, and not cold and hard, in the literal sense. The only rather cheap shot is the multi-colored bead lights around in the headboard, which reminded me of street signs in some red-light district.

The room is large, though the bed and pillows are not firm enough for my taste. There is a wide range of TV channels to choose from, and there is free and reliable wifi for the first 24 hours. There are complimentary bottles of water, though the bar is almost empty except for a couple of frizzy water bottles. I found this a disappointment and rather odd. The bathroom is spacious and has a bath and two showers, one of which is a massage shower. Quite neat, and specially useful if you're in a hurry and both showers can be used separately at the same time, without a let up in the pressure of the water.

We had to pay for breakfast, as we took a room-only rate, and found it a bit expensive at 14 euros per person, especially that except for eggs and bacon, there were no other hot dishes, and the coffee from the machine was not good. I would have expected at least freshly brewed coffee.The range of choices though is wide, the breads and cakes were excellent, with good meats and cheeses,and a variety of fruits. Overall though it feels more like cafeteria type, without any personalised service.

For those traveling by car, overnight parking is available in the building basement, with direct access to the hotel. Not cheap at 12 euros per night, but at least its secure and easily accessible.

Service is friendly and efficient. The bar service is also good, and the drinks and food quite reasonably priced, the latter in servings large enough for sharing and good too. The gym, for a hotel with its number of rooms, seemed very small, though it had a fantastic view of Picos. It does not have a good ventilation, though, as when we peeked in one morning, an overpowering smell of stale sweat assaulted us just at the door, though there was no one there anymore. It turned us off the idea of trying the gym later.

The location of the hotel is both positive and negative. It is a bit outside the center, so it was not convenient for strolling around. Good though for those traveling with car, as one can avoid the tricky one way streets, and stick to the circumferential roads, assuming one knows where to enter from the highway! (We made a horrible mistake once, and got caught in the maze inside, and took us half an hour to find our way out!) The building is situated in a residential area, so there are no exciting views to see, and in fact, the apartment buildings around detract from the magnificence of the building, which in my opinion, as all Calatrava structures are, should be built on open and wide spaces, with no eyesore of structures and buildings around it to take away from the dramatic effect and impact created by his buildings. There is a mall inside the structure, and though smallish, its few restaurants are open late, so this is also a plus for the hotel.

Overall, good stay and great value for money. I would certainly recommend this hotel, specially for business trips and for couples.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CygniCygni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Hotel Oviedo, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear guest,
Fron AYRE HOTELES, we would like to thank you for your opinion in this web. This contributes to our improvement target, to achieve total customer satisfaction. Your words help us to detect what are our customer´s needs.
We will very pleased to have you here again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We took advantage of an offer (maybe because it's more kind of business hotel and it was august) and had the possibility to stay at this fantastic Hotel for a very reasonable price. Very helpful staff, foreign languages speaking (all of them spoke English, some spoke Italian too). Amazing design, spacious room, big bathroom with both bath tub and shower (separated!).
A little bit far from the city centre, but it's something we expected.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexnoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Manager at Ayre Hotel Oviedo, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear guest,
From AYRE HOTEL OVIEDO, we would like to thak you for your kind words. We are glad to know how good your stay has been.your comments are really useful to make us keep on improving. One of our most important targets is to share happy experiences with our customers. We will be very pleased to have you here again.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I recently stayed here while visiting my sister. The hotel is very modern and built in an old soccer stadium. The property is huge and we were shocked to find a 3 story mall underneath the hotel. The people at the front desk were extremely helpful. We arrived in a snowstorm at around 10 am and even though check in wasn't until the afternoon, they allowed us to check in early. The room was very clean and modern. The headboard with the varying lights was a very cool touch. The hotel was clean, sleek, modern, and had a nice restaurant and striking bar. We enjoyed our stay there very much and recommended it to my parents who will be staying there next month. Bonus about the hotel- I left my camera there and they tried to contact me and we have arranged for my sister to come pick it up.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Dept. at Ayre Hotel Oviedo, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Customer,
First, we would like to thank your kind words about your stay in our hotel. For us, AYRE HOTELS, your comments are really useful to make us keep on improving. One of our most important targets is to share happy experiences with our customers. We will be very pleased to have you here again.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oviedo hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Oviedo Cervantes
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Oviedo
Hotel Ibis Oviedo
#11 of 49 in Oviedo
598 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Oviedo Principado
NH Oviedo Principado
#4 of 49 in Oviedo
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Exe Oviedo Centro
Exe Oviedo Centro
#12 of 49 in Oviedo
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silken Monumental Naranco
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Oviedo Forum
AC Hotel Oviedo Forum
#13 of 49 in Oviedo
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayre Hotel Oviedo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Hotel Oviedo

Address: Calle Policarpo Herrero s/n, 33006, Oviedo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Asturias > Oviedo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Oviedo
Price Range: $74 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Hotel Oviedo 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ayre Hotel Oviedo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing