We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Center of Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Oviedo
Certificate of Excellence
San Isidro, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“In the Center of Town”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lovely old building in the middle of town, very well looked after
Near the Old city, walking distance to the Cathedral and the plaza with its market
Nice rooms, quiet and comfortable, we had dinner a couple of away, tapas and good wine

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    188
    79
    29
    15
See reviews for
105
259
19
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I travel extensively and Melia Reconquista rates in the top 3 hotels I have had the pleasure of staying at.

Three issues bothered me on check-in. I spoke to the duty manager (Antonio) who immediately addressed them. One of the issues was that we had booked a room with a Queen bed and at check-in were given a room with two single beds. Antonio apologised and upgraded us to a superior room overlooking the central court yard with our own private patio/terrace.

My birthday was two days later and the Director of the hotel sent me a complementary bottle of the sparkling cider that the region of Asturias is famous for with birthday greetings on behalf of himself and his staff.

It is a beautifully hotel which is only four floors high with a massive central courtyard. It is built on the site of an ancient monastery. The beautiful lobby adds to the charm and unhurried atmosphere of the property.

There are great cafes and restaurants all around the hotel which serve exceptional food. Given the very high hotel food prices I would recommend eating all meals outside the hotel. There are two lovely breakfast spots across the road just to the left as well as just to the right. On the left is also a fabulous patisserie.

The hotel is a three minute walk from the central business district as well as the beautiful park in the center of Oviedo and a 15 minute walk from the historic part of Oviedo.

As the hotel is just 30 meters from police headquarters the police communications signals affect the wifi connection in the room. This should be remedied and the awkward wifi interface can also be improved.

Except for the hotel staff no one in Oviedo seems to speak English - not even at the wonderful department store "la cote ingles" !!!

Oviedo is a lovely little city fully worth a two day visit. A 20 minute drive to have dinner in a Sidrerai (Cider House) on the waterfront in the port town of Gijon is highly recommended.

Viresh Fernando
Toronto, Canada
viresh@vireshlaw.com

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room - around the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrazyCanuck2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

First: we visited about 10 cities of different sizes on the north of Spain and I must say Oviedo did not meet my expectations. It doesn't have the charm that other places (even smaller) have. The city center is not interesting at all; we arrived on a Friday and the city (and the area where all the bars and restaurants are) looked like the siesta time, except that is was 9pm. BORING, BORING, BORING....
Now for the hotel:
Pros:
- nice exterior and building
Cons:
- most expensive parking we had in a hotel. It was €23 for the day.
- the location is not as it looks on the Internet. It takes about 15-20 minutes walking to go to the bars and the old city "Casco antiguo". Please note we are fit and walked fast.
-the rooms, bathrooms and corridors need major remodelation!! Carpets in the rooms are old, dirty and stained.
- mattress was very soft and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Negroycanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Perfect location, not far away from the historic zone. Our room was excelent. The interior decoration is very nice. Unfortunately there was no entertainment, at night. The breakfast, although being good, is overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSilva1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The rooms and location are excellent. However, all it needs for a perfect summer vacation is an outdoor pool. Unfortunately the "evening" restaurant is moved from its usual location to the basement for the months of July and August. Consequently an evening walk to a local restaurant is recommended. The breakfast is expensive but the best in Oviedo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newly renovated area of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holten, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

we had complaint about very bad service during extremely noisy wedding night till 5 o,clock in the morning we had no sleep ,director of hotel 1st gave me full discount and after he charged me 50% without sending me message or email no discussion possible with him,also very poor check in no service th vr

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirección G, Director General at Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks for your comments.
About your complaint, as I told you by phone and mail, we've made you a 50% of discount, but never said anything about a free room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,226 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Probably the nicest hotel in town. Historic property close to all you might want to see in Oviedo. The overpriced breakfast had us dine across the street in the morning. Comfortable room and helpful staff are aplud.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigoBoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirección G, Director General at Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
On behalf of the staff and myself, thank for your stay in our hotel and the comments about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oviedo hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Oviedo Cervantes
0.5 mi away
Ayre Hotel Oviedo
Ayre Hotel Oviedo
#3 of 49 in Oviedo
1,110 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Oviedo Principado
NH Oviedo Principado
#4 of 49 in Oviedo
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Castillo del Bosque la Zoreda
0.3 mi away
Exe Oviedo Centro
Exe Oviedo Centro
#12 of 49 in Oviedo
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princesa Munia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista

Property: Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista
Address: Calle Gil de Jaz 16, 33004, Oviedo, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Oviedo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oviedo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oviedo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel de La Reconquista is, quite possibly, one of Spain's most characterful hotels. Tradition, luxury, nobility and 300 years of history have transformed it into an international symbol of Asturias. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Reconquista Oviedo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing