We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go”
Review of Casa Camila Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Camila Hotel
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Oviedo
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't go”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Went with a group of people as we were in Spain for the World Dog Agility Championship. We took over virtually the whole hotel.
It is not in fact a hotel in the traditional sense. The owner has split her large house in 2 and opened one half as a hotel.
The owner does not speak a word of English so it made communication difficult at best. She does have a man who works there who speaks English but only saw him a couple of times.
The rooms were large and spacious however when we were there it was cold and the heating was not on so the Hotel was cold.There is also insufficient hot water.
One evening the whole electric system blew and the owner blamed our group because we were using out laptops and travel kettles. She was very unhappy and shouted at us. Basil Fawlty would have been proud of her. No apology from her.
The couple of times we had breakfast it was hit and miss. When they say 0830 for breakfast they mean it. The door is locked until that time. You go in and they bring the food out bits at a time. That may be the Spanish way but it's not ours and when you are paying good money it should not be theirs either.
Overall a very disappointing experience and not one I would ever do again. The Spanish in that part of Spain are also extremly rude and it is not a place I would ever visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor2661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antodb, Propietario at Casa Camila Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado señor.
Lamento que su estancia en nuestra ciudad no fuera de su agrado, tenemos fama de amables y hospitalarios, tanto es así que les permitimos que que trajeran comida, bebida y el té de su país algo que en un establecimiento con bar y restaurante esta prohibido.
Sus apreciaciones con respecto al hotel están muy equivocadas, no he dividido ninguna gran casa para hacerlo, el edificio de al lado es otra casa independiente.
Alejandro, el recepcionista que habla ingles perfectamente tiene un horario de trabajo como todo el mundo, es amable, atento y siempre dispuesto para hacer la estancia de los clientes lo mas agradable posible. Si no lo veían era porque ustedes se iban a las 6 de la mañana y venían por la noche.
Ustedes solo desayunaron dos días, el primero y el último y sí, somos puntuales en nuestros horarios, pero se les ofreció adelantar la hora para que pudieran desayunar todos los días y rechazaron la oferta ya que tenían que irse a las 6 de la mañana al concurso de perros.
Lo cierto es que su mala critica no la entendemos ya que si bien es cierto que se fue la luz , fue porque ustedes con sus calentadores de agua, y demás aparatos eléctricos encendidos todos a la vez sobre cargaron la linea, luego se solucionó y no pasó nada.
Ninguno de ustedes hizo referencia alguna al agua caliente, si nos lo hubieran dicho se habría solucionado al instante.
Sus compañeros fueron muy amables y nos dieron las gracias al irse, los perros muy bien educados no causaron ningún problema, pero usted Sr desde que llegó hasta el mismo momento de marcharse no hizo mas que comparar su país con el nuestro y lo mal que lo hacíamos todo comparándolo con el suyo. Con esa actitud va a ser difícil que disfrute de ningún viaje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
14
67
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Casa Camila really deserves a higher rating because, all things being equal, it is very good value for money. Unfortunately a number of things went wrong with our particular experience - hopefully the same will not happen to you.

The location is great as it is high up on a hill overlooking Oviedo. The downside to this is that the car park is separated from the lodging by a steep backyard (about 30-40 steps) so you need to be young or fit to handle your suitcases.

A restaurant is attached to the casa and residents can apparantly order a meal even if they are the only one's on site - but you need to notify in advance (arriving late afternoon we could not reserve a table in time).

The third incident involved breakfast. We hoped for an early start so we could sightsee - unfortunately our host slept in and we were unnecessarily delayed. However the breakfast when it arrived was excellent - especially the fresh juice and pastries.

Apart from the above the atmosphere is homely and warm with a downstairs fire in the guest living area. Lots of good advice re local attractions.

Room Tip: The owner is willing to carry your bags up and down those steps if you ask him. If you want a meal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blue255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I had such a amazing time at Casa Camilla in Oviedo that I felt I needed to write a review. Great and relaxing atmosphere, exquisite food, extremely clean, amazing scenery, great and appropriate service, so comfortable…

There is something about this place that was truly inspiring for me. I was able to savour my coffee for an extensive period of time whilst admiring the magical views from this high location.

Perfect to unwind and rejuvenate. It certainly helped me achieved that and I cannot recommend Casa Camilla enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smilaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful holiday in Oviedo. Been there a few times before but this was the first time I stayed at Casa Camila (recommended by a friend who was there recently). And I will certainly stay there again. It's a small hotel, and feels very friendly and unfussy because of that. All the things you expect to be good - the food, the service, the cleanliness etc - are first class. What really stands out though is the view from its high location. I was there for a week, and spent most of the time relaxing on the terrace, eating lovely Spanish food, drinking, looking out across miles of beautiful scenery. Breathtaking views.
I went there to relax and recharge the batteries after a stressful time, and this hotel was the perfect place to do that. If you want a relaxing holiday and you've never been to northern Spain, try Oviedo. And if you do, definitely stay at Casa Camila.
If any of the staff read this: thank you all for helping me to have a great time.
Paul (the guy from London who you very kindly lent a camera for the week).

Room Tip: Make sure you take a camera to capture those stunning views. I left home in a hurry and forgot mine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I am not normally one for writing a review - only if I had a bad experience, but on this occasion i had to share with everyone how positively surprised I was when i got to Casa Camila. Quiet, relaxing, breathtaking landscape, lovely service (family owned hotel) and absolutely FANTASTIC food. Very good location, where you will be able to explore the real Galicia. I do not think the picture does it justice. Very good value for money, and lovely place, i would definitely recommend it for family, friends and couples.

Estela

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oviedo hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio de la Vinona
1.5 mi away
Ayre Hotel Alfonso II
Ayre Hotel Alfonso II
#11 of 49 in Oviedo
228 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vetusta
Hotel Vetusta
#26 of 49 in Oviedo
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Castillo del Bosque la Zoreda
1.2 mi away
Aparthotel Campus
Aparthotel Campus
#5 of 49 in Oviedo
228 reviews
1.6 mi away
Barcelo Oviedo Cervantes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Camila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Camila Hotel

Property: Casa Camila Hotel
Address: Lugar Faro de Arriba 29, 33195, Oviedo, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Oviedo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Oviedo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Camila Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Camila Hotel is located near Oviedo, in a unique rural setting (just 2 kms from the city) It has 7 double rooms, one superior, each with its own full bath. It has a lounge and a bar with terrace to admire the incredible views as the hotel of the Asturian capital while sipping your breakfast with homemade products ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Casa Camila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing