We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, others are better for the same cash”
Review of El Palacio

El Palacio
Ranked #647 of 859 Restaurants in Gijon
Price range: $30 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Cimadevilla
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Ok, others are better for the same cash”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Hot days in Gijon demand cold beer, wine and some seafood.

It was hot, the beer was cold and the wine was too. One of us ordered standard calamares. Normally this would be a pretty safe bet. Here it was overcooked to extreme-chew setting and regardless of the rest of the meal, this set the benchmark.

Sorry, 3 out of 5

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Superharrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    23
    25
    23
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cozy Tapas at El Siete of El Palacio”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

When we weren't ready for a full meal at El Palacio, we wandered around behind it and found their cozy little tapas bar (you can see the clock tower from the terrace. Our first night, we enjoyed Ribera wine and an interesting dish of salted nuts on their terrace. When it was too cold upon our return, we moved indoors and discovered a series of small cozy rooms with comfortable conversation areas including sofas, stuffed chairs and low tables. We again enjoyed Ribera, but this time we ordered their tempura tapas which was large enough to feed all three of us. We tried to go back one more time, but they were closed. We never did make it to El Palacio which I'm sure is great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tapas Return Visit”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Six months since our first visit here and not disappointed. Chose from Tapas menu, nice food and good red wine at reasonable prices. Typical Spanish bar / restaurant, nice little square. Good for people watching if warm enough to sit outside.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dee2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Spain
Level Contributor
197 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Rudeness proportional to extortionate prices”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

What a shame that such an old, beautiful building in such a prime location can be host to such a shoddy, overpriced restaurant.

I cannot emphasise how rude and grumpy the staff come across. From the moment you set foot in there you'll be dealt with as if they were doing you a favour, which is amazing really, if you consider how expensive their stuff is.

If you're standing by the bar, be prepared to experience the staff's unique craft in avoiding eye contact and ignoring polite pleas for attention. In other words, fourth-rate service.

As for the food, the "montaditos" at lunch time are a nice touch, but also cancelled out by how uncomfortable the staff will make you feel in the event you dare to go back for another taste, which is absolutely off-putting if you consider that this is normally actively encouraged (if not actually offered to you) in most other places in the North of Spain.

Final mention for the unbelievably extortionate prices El Palacio charge for their sit-down meals. Completely unjustified, as the food is nothing to write home about and shoddily served.

Basically, we won't be going back. As simple as that.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Palacio also viewed

 

Been to El Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing