We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (958)
Filter reviews
958 results
Traveler rating
381
421
115
29
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
421
115
29
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station indoor pool reception area old town care and attention easy access excellent hotel secure parking wifi connection minute walk would stay again good size other hotels air conditioning hotel is located spa city
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 958 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

Close to the city’s train station this hotel is a good 20’ walk from the centre. Plenty of public parking in the nearby square, the hotel is a modern building with standard rooms. There’s an indoor pool but it’s very small and noisy as every sound echoes.
Staff at reception kind and smiling but very swift at getting you off.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank inch1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionHCG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Ciudad Gijon, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Dear Charles,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for having chosen The Silken Ciudad Gijon as “your home away from home”.
Your comments are very important to us, as they help us to improve ourselves and provide a better service everyday,
Once again thank you very much for your time, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to our hotel in the nearest future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2018

But location is very nice and the city are so beautiful and so friendly,but hotel can be better!start with staff.good parking service,breakfast medium,I stay in other silkens hotels and it was better in other city’s

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hugomoreira3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionHCG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Ciudad Gijon, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2018


First of all, I would like to thank you very much for having chosen The Silken Ciudad Gijon as “your home away from home”.
Your comments are very important to us, as they help us to improve ourselves and provide a better service everyday,
We regret the heat in the room, maybe you did not call reception to be able to offer a solution.
Once again thank you very much for your time, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to our hotel in the nearest future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2017 via mobile

I did stay for night in buisness trip. Staff was friendly english speaking. Room was clean. Bed very comfortable. Room had tv like most of rooms today. Breakfast included. I think it was one of best breakfas I have ever had before. New standard for me. I can gladly recommend this hotel to stay.
It was list of few famos people wich have stayd there before. I guess they will upgrade this list with my name on

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank JosefSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionHCG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Ciudad Gijon, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2017

Dear sir,
First of all, I would like to thank you very much for having chosen The Silken Ciudad Gijon as “your home away from home”.
Your comments are very important to us, as they help us to improve ourselves and provide a better service everyday,
Once again thank you very much for your time, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to our hotel in the nearest future.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017

We stayed here three nights with breakfast. It was less than five minutes walk from the railway station and close to the beach and the centre of town. Rooms were fairly standard but shower was excellent and the double bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good. There is a spa in the basement of the hotel but strangely it only opened at 5 p.m. which is very strange as there was no lifeguard or other staff on duty so it was not closed to reduce staff costs.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionHCG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Ciudad Gijon, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Dear Client,
Thank you very much for giving us your comment.
We regret that the spa schedule has not been adapted to your needs. In the closing hours, maintenance is carried out.
We hope to welcome you again and we send you a cordial greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

Don't like bigger group hotels, but this was part of a BA package holiday. Couldn't fault Hotel, staff very helpful and overall standards of room, bathroom, service and breakfast very good.
Situated next door to railway station and about 10-15 minute walk to old town / town centre.
Some local restaurants very close by if you don't want to walk far.
Recommended. Would happily go to again.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Walt6075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionHCG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Ciudad Gijon, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Dear Customer,
We thank you for choosing us for your accommodation in Gijón.
We are glad that you have rested and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews