We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good, some bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Oca Palacio de la Llorea
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

I stayed there with my daughter for the World Duathlon Championships. Our room was fine though a bit dark as the window was small. The bathroom was nice with plenty of toiletries. Dinner doesn't start till 9pm which was rather late as we had an early start next morning and the meal was only OK. The Saturday night was dreadful as there was a wedding on and it was very noisy till after 4am. They supplied us with an early breakfast which was helpful. We used the spa pool (which was very enjoyable) as we thought it was included but later discovered they had charged us 40 euros for it. Fortunately they removed it from the bill when I explained we weren't told it was extra. That was the main disappointment as we wouldn't have booked this hotel had we known. Our bill also included some other things that we hadn't had but these were also removed without difficulty.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceebee1444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    64
    29
    10
    7
See reviews for
28
99
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We have styed there 2 nights and we were quite frankly disappointed. First, the room is very standard for the price we had to pay. There was only a small window as a mezzanine so it was very dark. Second, the shower was not an enjoyable experience as the water was not going out. I mentionned this to the reception and they changed the room without any further questions. The second room we were given, the lights were not working. I complained again to the reception. They asked me to wait until 8 pm to get it fixed. (It was 3 pm when that happened.) As my husband wanted to take a shower and couldnt really do it in the dark, I asked to change the room again. The receptionnist made me feel as I was a pain. That day, we also wanted to take advantage of the spa. Bad experience as it needs some renovations in there. There was rust in the bottom of the pool and on all the accessories. The shower was not very clean. In conclusion I felt like I was in a gym in high school. As for the breakfast, nothing really special there. I would not recommend this place to anyone. I felt very embarassed about this whole experience as my family came from Canada to explore Asturias with us and stayed there as well as we thought it seemed to be a nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

We decided to spend the day at this place (Spa, massage and dinner) to relax for a few hours. It was going to be our first time alone after our 6 month baby was born, so it really was a special occasion.
SPA
Just to mention that kids of ANY age can access the SPA WITHOUT adult supervision gives a perfect description of what you can expect. In theory, minimum age is 10 years, but they simply do not care if kids of any age access the place. We were luckly enough to find a group of 10 kids running, screaming, jumping during the hour we spend and the spa (we were going to spend 2 hours, but we decided we had had enough). They excused (we obviously complained) only at the end of our stay to say that those were "special" customers (large family) and to offer a free access to the spa on any other day. That is worth only $40, and we paid for the whole package $300, so I kindly declined their offer since I consider it was unacceptable.
In addition to this, water was cold, and some features on the spa were not running.
RESTAURANT
Average food and really weak service.

If you are looking for a place to relax, stay away of this place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spainontheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

Took ferry from Portsmouth to Santander, then drove to Hotel.
Drive was really easy, literally straight there from the port. Good directions from Brittany ferries.
Check in quick and smooth. Rooms are spacious. twin beds that are pushed together are rather hard, but that could just be me. TV only had eurosport and CNN in English. No tea or coffee making fascilities. Lovely bathroom with large walk in shower and all the toiletries you would need, even comb, toothbrush sowing kit with plasters and soap in the shape of a golf ball. Although no minibar in the room. On every floor a small cupboard is opened every night which has a minibar in it -soft drinks only- and its FREE.
Definately opt for the half board option, just tell reception before 4pm so that they have time to prepare an english menu. Otherwise the food gets expensive at about 20 euros per course. Whereas half board is 20 euros for 3 courses, bottled water and wine, we even had extra wine and coffee as well. Unfortunately the restarant closed for Sunday and Monday evnings so we had to make other arrangements. One hight we went over to the golf club and had an evening meal in there, that was ok but not as good as the hotel. The other night we went out. On recommendation from two seperate sources we wentout to a local taverna. Total disaster. Only my stuffed potatoes saved the day. They even charged us for the bread which we were given and did not even ask for.
The hotel sits in the middle of a golf course, our room looked out onto the 15th green and 16th tee. The club house which is seperately run to the hotel sits across a quiet road. Book tee off time with the hotel as it is cheaper. 18euros per round up till April 1st then the summer season hits and it increases to 24 euros per round. Excelent value. The front nine is across the road and a mix of quite forgiving holes and some quite testing holes. The back nine which runs around the hotel is relatively easy with a few blind shots for the wary. The course is a municiple course and dress is quite relaxed with some people playing in jeans. This does not detract that the Spanish love their game and it does get busy, so be aware that pairs may have to play with the locals. We had no problems with this as we were all out to have a nice day and four does translate.
Ask at reception for a map and you will be supplied with a usefull piece of paper that will direct you to two other courses in close proximity one in Gijon called Campo de Golf El Tragamon and a championship course called Club de Golg de castiello. Sorry only had time for the hotel course as we enjoyed playing that so much.
The hotel also has WIFI along with a cubicle where you can access the internet via a dedicated customer computer.
The hotel has spa fascilities. My fiance had a facial and massage and was very impressed by the proffesssionalism and treatments. It was also quite reasonable at roughly £1/min, so 30min=£30 and 1hour=£50/£60. I was under the impression that the hotel had a swimming pool. No. This is a hydrotherapy pool and costs 20 euros to use. Fortunately the hotel gave us a free use of the facilities pass-one use. So we ventured into the pool area. It consists of a steam room, sauna, jacuzzi area and the main pool. The pool has a circuit of underwater and overhead jets. You simply wade your way around the pool, press a button and get pommelled by water for a minute or so, the move on to the next one. Or use the steam room or sauna along with the cold pool. Along the edge of the pool area are sun chairs were you can relax and whil away some time watching the golfers outside. The gym was pretty basic but had all you could need, if you are into that sort of thing.
Drove into Gijon a couple of times and had a look around. Unfortunately for us we were quite early in the season and most places seamed to be shut. There is a lovely promenade around the bay which surrounds a lovely beach area and some great surfing, by the looks of all the people surfing.The old part of town along with the ruins overlooking the harbour were quite pretty too.
Overall had a lovely time in the hotel. The staff were great. If a problem arose which could not be translated a quick phone call brought someone in who did understand and everything was sorted. Really enjoyed the golf and talking to the locals - appararently there is a lovely scenic walk from the glof club through the forest down to Gijon and onto the promenade - one for next time. Also just an hour and half or so away from good skiing. Who'd have thought, glf in the morning, sunbath on the beach for a while then nip off for an afternoons skiing. Next time its a bigger car.
If anyone needs any further information please just ask.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

Perfect Service
Golf Course
Spa
Quiet and warm with a mixture of old elements and new design

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaajazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gijon
5.1 mi away
Silken Ciudad Gijon
Silken Ciudad Gijon
#1 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
5.3 mi away
AC Hotel Gijon
AC Hotel Gijon
#11 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
3.6 mi away
NH Gijon
NH Gijon
#2 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BAL Hotel & Spa
BAL Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quintueles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hotel Zen Balagares
Hotel Zen Balagares
#3 of 12 in Aviles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
3.7 mi away
Abba Playa Gijon
Abba Playa Gijon
#7 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oca Palacio de la Llorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oca Palacio de la Llorea

Property: Hotel Oca Palacio de la Llorea
Address: Ctra. Ribadesella - Canero No. 6780 | Campo de Golf de la Llorea, 33394, Gijon, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Gijon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oca Palacio de la Llorea 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Golf & SPA placed in La Llorea Golf course.Excellent connected through the Cantabrico Highway.4-star hotel with a full Club Spa & Hidrotherapy Center.Free internet connection, gym and parking. Ideal for rest and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oca Palacio de la Llorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing