We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best views by the beach in Gijon and great value for price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Principe de Asturias
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Gijon
Madrid, España
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best views by the beach in Gijon and great value for price”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Every time I go to Gijon (once or twice per year) I go to this hotel and take a room with views to the beach. The rooms are nice, the service is good, the breakfast is very good with the best views in the city, and the price is incredible for what you get. definitively, best value for money. The hotel has an agreement with a garage around the corner, what is very useful for those (like me) going to Asturias with car.

Room Tip: For sure, ask for a room with views to the beach. The view to the old city by night, and sleeping he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco Javie... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    69
    106
    41
    33
See reviews for
54
142
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This city reminds you of a mini-Miami, at least this part of town. You are right on the beach with its beautiful sand and Atlantic waters. The beach is chockablock in the summer and as it is customary in Spanish beaches, ladies go top-less (if they wish). Well, Hotel Principe is right there and you cannot ask for a better location. Get a room with views, obviously, and you will not be disappointed. The rooms have been updated few years ago and they are comfortable, modern and well priced. Last time I rented a suite and it was a steal!
Asturias, the region, is the "Spanish Switzerland" full of mountains, green all year round, fantastic back-packing and outdoor activities and phenomenal beaches. Great holiday destination. If you want to experience a beach town of around 300,000 people -but feels smaller- with great food, great bars, fantastic people and good nightlife you should visit Gijón.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
121 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on our driving tour of Spain and Portugal. As you drive past the hotel take the first right and almost an immediate left, and down into a parking lot. We were a bit concerned about having to leave our keys but it was a rental car so we took our chances. No trouble at all. We came back the next day and the guy jumped out of his booth and said "Mini". That worked out well as we were driving a Cooper. The hotel is at a great location right on the beach. You have to cross the road to get to the esplanade and the beach but that's the case for all the hotels. The room was a pretty good size for a european hotel and the floor to ceiling windows that over look the sea are fantastic. Some panels open so you can hear the ocean at night and smell the sea breaze. It's a lovely walk down the esplanade to the old part of Gijon. Well worth it and you won't even know any time is passing. There's a museum for some old roman baths which is neat and the old fort ruins on top of the hill as well. Small elevators as you would expect. A great breakfast buffet on one of the top floors so you can eat and look out over the beach. I am pretty sure our breakfast was included though I don't know if that was the case for everyone. We had originally wanted to stay in the old part of town but since we were there on Friday night of the long weekend we were happy to not be on the main square there and to have the walk along the beach back to the hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PegLeg-and-SherBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
158 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We went to Gijon atter failing to find a hotel in the places that we had been and frankly it was getting late!! We ventured into this four star classed hotel and were staggered to find a wonderful who gave us a room for 108 euro. Sounds a lot? This room has floor to ceiling window overlooking the sea with the early morning walkers, sunbathers and evening surfers and promenaders.

It has not got a restaurant and the bar is only open for four hours a night but the veiw made it impossible to leave and we stayed two nights!! A walk away into town and there are numerous restaurants but be careful....I went to one for lunch and had two beers and plate of ordinary ham and the bill was 31 euro!!

We had a great dinner for just twice that including a bottle of wine that was worth the whole bill never mind the excellent mixed salad, sardines and baked lamb!! We are lucky enough to dsay that we will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ustaritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2007

I've read the reviews here, and can agree that this is an older hotel, but it is the oldest city in Spain! Gijon was a Roman city originally, and you can see parts of old Roman walls around town.

The garage is scary, but luckily I didn't do the driving, since we were in a Mercedes mini-van! I think all the garages in the area are the same way, though, and parking was hard to find, even now - I can't imagine what it's like in the Summer!

Elevator is a shock if you've not been in old European hotels - 4 people would be tight - impossible with luggage too. Room was average size for Europe, and it did have two twin beds pushed together. Never turned on the TV, but there was no internet - had to use dial-up!

Bath was fine, decent size, with tub/shower, w.c., bidet, sink, etc. I was there in February, so air conditioning was not an issue. View was great - see pics from my mobile - not enough light to use indoors.

Breakfast was fine on 9th floor - for dinner we drove a couple of kms to a very good restaurant on the water - El Puerto. Very good seafood, and recommended.

Overall, this hotel is fine. I don't know what the other options are, so consider all options before you reserve.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank CSL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2006

We booked a three night stay in this "4-Star" hotel and paid a one night deposit. If we had not paid for one night, we would not have stayed at all but we did tolerate the place for one night.

After winding through the network of one-way streets of Gijon, we found the "cave" that the hotel uses for a parking garage. (It is a big, completely dark basement that has a big, mean looking dog in it. Parking in the cave costs 14 Euro a night but there is not much choice near the beach. (By the way, it's not a very good beach either.)

Turning to the hotel itself, we had requested a "double" and found out that that the only thing available was two twin beds. Now, that's not too unusual in Spain but we were taken aback by the attitude that we received when we requested a room with a double bed. The front desk staff defensively informed us that we should have asked for a double bed if we wanted a double bed and that they could "upgrade" us to a room with a view of the beach and a double bed but that it was NOT AIRCONDITIONED. Now, Gijon is not usually very hot but it does get warm from time to time and we were in a warm period. So, we decided to keep the twin bed room since it was "air conditioned".

Upon arriving at the room and opening the door we were greeted with a blast of HOT air. The room had been closed for some period of time and the "air conditioning" had been turned off. I found the "air conditioner" over by the frosted glass window that overlooked a dreary courtyard and got it turned on. After a minute or so it started to produce a weak but cold stream of air that had no noticeable effect on the stiffling atmosphere of the room. Our next task was to look around the room and see just what we had to tolerate for the night. It was clean, but dark, and looked about like it had been decorated/designed about 1975. There was a phone and a tiny TV but no data connection/WIFI at all. The carpet was a dull, grimy gray and the walls a bright green (remember the "70's colors"?).

After a few minutes of misery, my wife immediately got on the phone and called the Parador de Gijon which was only about 3 blocks away and tried to get us a room there. Unfortunately, the Parador was full but they recommended that we try the Tryp Rey Pelayo which was nearby. Without further ado, we called the Tryp and the gentleman there seemed a little puzzled why we were asking if they had anything other than rooms with twin beds and if the hotel was airconditioned. We were pleased to find out that the rooms were indeed airconditioned and had something other than twin beds and cost about 40 Euro a night less than the "4-Star, air conditioned" Principe de Asturias. So, we made a reservation for the next two nights and decided to suffer through our one night at Principe de Asturias.

After going to dinner and wandering around the town and looking at the beach (right in front of the Principe de Asturias) we figured that the room would be cool enough to tolerate. Wrong! The "air conditioner" was chugging away putting out cold air that just could not make any meaningful difference in the room temperature. We turned in for the night and sweated the hours away and managed to get some sleep (the room was actually quiet). I must have check the "air conditioner" 10 times and I always found that it was struggling valiantly and emitting nice cold air but it made no noticeable difference in the temperature of the oven, er . . . room.

So, next morning we packed up, and went to the "cave" to get the car and made a quick get away to the Tryp Rey Pelayo where we should have gone in the first place and where we saved about 90 Euros during our stay in Gijon. At least two locals told us that the Principe de Asturias was "viejo" (old) and that nothing had been done to improve it for years. I could not have agreed more and that's pretty much the bottom line. It's old, hot, depressing but it is close to the beach and you get to park your car in a cave. It was probably a 4 star hotel in 1975 but last time I looked, that was over three decades ago.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gijon hotels

Cardiff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2004

Spent a week travelling up the northern Spanish coastline from Bilbao and stayed at this hotel in Gijon.

I had prebooked the hotel through webtourist.net but on arrival, they had no knowledge of the reservation. However, they had a room for us which was a huge relief. Rooms were average but suitable for an overnight stop.

Although the town of Gijon is on the coast, it is a large town and accessing the hotel proved difficult between one-way streets and constantly "tooting" Spanish drivers with no patience for strangers!

The view from this hotel looks out over the beach and ocean and encourages you to sit in the comfy leather chairs in the lobby.

The downside was no restaurant but the wonderful breakfast on the top floor looking out to sea was a bonus!

Helpful?
4 Thank CACTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gijon hotels
Centro
Hernan Cortes Hotel
Hernan Cortes Hotel
#4 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Abba Playa Gijon
#8 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Gijon
#2 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Cimadevilla
Asturias
Asturias
#29 of 47 in Gijon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Silken Ciudad Gijon
#1 of 47 in Gijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe de Asturias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe de Asturias

Property: Hotel Principe de Asturias
Address: Calle Manso 2, 33203, Gijon, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Gijon > La Arena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Gijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe de Asturias 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Principe de Asturias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe De Asturias Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing