We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveler rating
256
273
99
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
256
273
99
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old style sitting area spent nights at this hotel a bit confusing four star hotel small room great city old town perfect hotel front desk staff comfortable beds within walking distance suite bathroom parking spain tv
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 643 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2018

My husband and I stayed in a Junior Suite in the Hotel Hernan Cortes in late September. The hotel might best be considered as a well restored "Grand Old Dame" type hotel. We drove there and found it easily with our GPS. We unloaded our luggage and were directed to an underground parking facility roughly one block away. Parking was easy to access, and with a discount from the hotel, quite reasonably priced. The Junior Suite was attractive, albeit not particularly large. Nonetheless, it was comfortable. The bathroom was done in marble, but there was mildew on the grout above the bathtub. This shouldn't happen in a 4 star hotel. A little spray of bleach cleaner would have gone a long way. The hotel is within walking distance of the beach and a nice shopping area. Likewise, it is convenient to several good restaurants. Breakfast was good in the hotel. All in all, a good, albeit not posh stay--but definitely worth the modest price.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Old fashioned hotel in city center. Room was spacious, but dated. Air conditioner rendered the room either too hot or too cold. Breakfast was mediocre at best but serving ladies very pleasant.

I suspect our expectations for four-star accommodation do not fit with the Spanish hotel rating system. During our three week tour, we stayed in all four star establishments, ranging from excellent to marginal. There seems to be little consistency in ratings.

Most interesting illustration of this in Hernan Cortez: I asked for a box of tissues as there were none in the room. I was told "Spanish law does not require us to provide tissues." A Spanish lady checking in during this conversation smiled wryly and said, in English--"A four star hotel should provide tissues. Full stop." BTW, one of the receptionists did venture out to purchase a box of tissues for us. Kudos.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warthog01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Elegant and old fashioned hotel in the city of Gijón. Clean and wellkept with a high level of service. Breakfast is ok and boring old style. Large rooms with wooden floor and very comfortable beds. Huge bath room but no fancy amenities.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 152mikaeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

leaonardo and jorge great staff at night to check in. the rooms are very nice and big. very quaint but comfortable you even get a sitting area, the hotel is in a good area of Guijon A great great city. Parking available under an agreement with the hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chelo1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

This is a good hotel not too far from the beach. We did briefly encounter a potential issue at check in when the manager sternly told us we only booked a double room instead of a triple. After a brief moment of awkward silence, we asked if a triple was available and stated we were willing to pay for the triple. After that the issue was solved and the staff was very friendly. The room was actually like a suite with an additional room and bathroom. The breakfast was also good and the servers were very friendly and helpful. We were on the 9th floor and did not mind the small elevators. We also received a good restaurant recommendation and advise to take the bus instead of the train from the front desk staff. Overall, this is a nice hotel and we wished we could stay longer.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Skarate72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews