We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (970)
Filter reviews
970 results
Traveler rating
286
470
155
33
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
286
470
155
33
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wifi is free room service football stadium plato park aviary centre city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 970 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Comfortable hotel on the edge of the biggest and nicest park in town, not far from the football stadium.

Fine rooms and buffet breakfast with a ot of different possibilities.

The hotel has optional and paid parking.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lenox C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola M, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Hello cornatel, Thanks a million for your comments about your last Tryp Experience“ We are really proud of our staff and your words make us fell very satisfied. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back home, Tryp Gijón Rey Pelayo”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

I am member of the Melia Rewards Program and I was really satisfied from my stay in Tryp Rey Pelayo. Clean and huge room, very fast check-in. The hotel is situated in a very calm area with good connection to all attractions, the beach is just 5 minutes from the property.

Room tip: Doble room
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
1  Thank danielapJ4297TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola M, Guest-Experience at Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

HelloDanielapJ4297TW, It is a pleasure to read comments like yours. Thanks million about your loyalty with Melia hotels International and Thank you for sharing your comments with other users. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

This Tryp has a wonderful location, just a 3 minute walk across the park to the boulevard / beach. From there it's no more than a 15-20 minutes walk along the seaside to the historic city center.

The hotel has a garage underneath the hotel, €15 per night. They do tell you that parking in the street is free though, but during the weekend it's quite impossible to fo so.

Rooms are nice, decent size and have everything you need. Wifi is free and strong in the entire hotel.

Breakfast is quite good indeed, more than enough choice. Something for everyone. The sportsbar offers simple meals for around 10 euros. Same meals can be ordered at room service.

On the downside: we reported that the AC wasn't working properly. Supposedly someone looks at it but the fact remained that it didn't work the way it should have. Too bad because we really liked the hotel and this puts a dark shadow over our stay.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank ronald2700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola M, Gerente at Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2018

Thank you Ronald for choosing our hotel and giving your feed back. The guest´s opinion help us to improve our business day by day.
We are glad to read you appreciate our services and location and we apologize for inconvenience caused by the AC.

I hope to see soon in Gijon!!!!!

Best Regards.


Alfonso Lara.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2018

The hotel itself is fine, location good. However, returning at 3am I found the front doors locked. There was no one in reception. After waiting I banged on the doors & a gentleman appeared who proceeded to suggest that I was the problem in some way (I assume for having the temerity to rouse him from his slumbers). Apparently there is a bell that can be rung but really?

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patchesonelbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Dear client:

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and giving your feed back because the guest´s opinion improve our business day by day.
I apologize for the inconvenience caused by the doors locked. I will check in the futur to avoid this situation.

Best Regards.

Alfonso Lara.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights business trip. Very nice friendly hotel good breakfast. The cafe is ordinary but with so many nice restaurants in Gijon it was suitable for quick snack. Nice location behind town park

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank kateh656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola M, E-Guest experience at Tryp Gijon Rey Pelayo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Dear Kate,
Thank you for choosing us during your stay in Gijón. The opinions of our guests help us to improve our service.

Best regards, at your disposal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews