We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Collection Palacio de Aviles

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
NH Collection Palacio de Aviles
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Aviles
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

In the centre of Aviles and perfect to tour the town. The hotel was perfect, however I don't think it's a 5 star more a 4 star. We had dinner there (which was an offer diiner + breakfast 24euro per person) well wqrth it as the dinner was pretty good and tasty. The staff very helpful. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    290
    41
    11
    8
See reviews for
201
451
33
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night only as we were traveling on to Cantabria the following day. Would have loved to stay longer as this hotel was a real find. I chose to stop in Aviles as when trawling through tripadvisor prior to trip i came across this hotel and its great rate. Aviles was delightful. Will definitely go back there when next in Asturias . The hotel is in a superb position on the corner of the main square so very convenient for exploring the old part of the town with its many delightful little cobbled streets. Staff on front desk couldn't be more pleasant and helpful especially when trying to guide us on our way to Garabandal in Cantabria. Rooms were perfect and atmospheric with ours overlooking the little church which seemed to be attached to the hotel. We did not eat there but were recommended to eat in a great local eaterie down the road which was packed with both locals and visitors, not an english/irish / american voice to be heard anywhere !
Had to be dragged out of this place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetalGalwayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Aviles is a charming medieval city, very very friendly and seemd really safe to me. Nearby beaches are great too, I am reliably informed !
Stayed here for 3 weeks, on a business trip. Hotel is lovely, charming, clean.... and of a very high standard. A really good 5 star hotel, for a steal of a price !
Breakfast is great, and I must say the food in the hotel and surrounding bars/restaurants is strikingly fresh... and cheap !
All the staff are very friendly and I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel where the staff seemed so passionate and conscientious about their job. Notably the lovely Konchy on reception, and the super efficient Maxi, the breakfast waiter.
It was pretty quiet for the 3 weeks I was here, but I think that added to the charm of the place.
Downsides:
# Not many folk in Aviles speak English - a problem for an ignorant Brit like me !
# Hotel TV only has 2 English channels: Uk news and USA Business news !
# No in-room tea/coffee facilities or Iron/Ironing board... but from my experience this is the norm in Spain - You have to use their laundry service.
# No food available in hotel from mid-afternoon, until restaurant opens at 20:30. But then this is Spain, and nobody really eats until 9 or 10 pm.

If you are hankering for an English speaking place, and somewhere to eat early evening then take a trip to nearby 'El Cafe de Joey' at 16 Cai/Calle La Camara (2nd left turn out of hotel, approx 200 metres). The owner is an Asturian born guy, who grew up in the USA.
He is a really friendly chap, and has a great collection of Malt Whiskeys.. go say hello and say big 'G' recommended the place. Food is fresh, amazingly priced - you can even get burgers, fries, Liquer coffees, Waffles, Pancakes etc as well as traditional Asturian foods !!
If you are bit more adventurous than me, take a walk down any side street and they are filled with friendly bodegas, tapas bars and restaurants. Each one seems to have it's own character, and I have no doubt you would not leave disappointed.
all in all a charming, if fairly quiet sort of place... probably would only want to visit for 2 days max.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huw_Jass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, NY
Level Contributor
190 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here three nights in June 2012 and couldn't have been more pleased. Everything from the room to the staff to the food was 5 stars. And, you can't beat the location, right on the square in the old town. It you are thinking of staying in Aviles, thisi s the place to be.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Charming hotel that is a restored old building right in the central square of Aviles.

Its comfortable , clean and high standard hotel. Has nice breakfast and the stuff is really friendly. It helps if you are part of the NH points program as it allows you for good upgrades.

Junior suite is huge and has a marvelous view to the internal garden.

Aviles its beautiful and has its charm. The only problem is its souroundings that is an industrial area

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xronis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

The location of the hotel is perfect on the southern side of the Plaza de España right in the heart of the pedestrian area of the old town. The older part of the hotel and main entrance is opposite the Town Hall on the corner of Calle de San Francisco whilst the modern part to the rear faces onto the park (Parque de Ferrera).

When we stayed in September the Plaza de España was full of life with a number of bars and cafes, with outside tables and seating, along the southern and western sides. In reality there is no shortage of cafes, restaurants and bars to choose from in the areas surrounding the Plaza.

We paid for a 'Superior' room (415) which was in the fourth floor of the modern part of the hotel; very spacious and overlooked the park. The room had two small balconies (although no outdoor furniture); a separate dressing room and large bathroom. The advert behind the reception desk suggested a simple tiered approach to the room upgrades with specified (per night) additions to the basic room rates. As suggested by other reviewers we did have breakfast in the hotel- €12 per person if booked the night before- there we a number of alternatives close by including the cafes surrounding the market on the Plaza Hermanos Orbón (outdoor Market on Monday). The coffee machine in the room, although a little complex, was a nice touch and produced tasty results.

The old and new parts of the hotel are well integrated with numerous smaller seating areas that are comfortable and well decorated. On the third floor, to the front of the old part of the hotel above reception, there is a small library with an old spiral staircase that provides access to the tower and a small roof terrace with views over the Plaza, Calle de San Francisco and to the Óscar Niemeyer Centre - well worth a visit.

The reception staff were all multi lingual and helpful in dealing with all queries or requests. The room and common areas are all well maintained and clean.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms and on a personal level I would prefer the ones that overlook the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TierraDelSur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
128 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Very beautiful hotel located right in the center of Aviles, on the main square. Rooms were modern and comfortable, staff was multilingual. Our friends stayed in the suite and they were told that "Brad Pitt has slept there" :D
The breakfast is very expensive so one should rather eat at one of the many cafés a few steps away and save money. And bring your laptop for free internet (with cable), there is no free wifi in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank so_voyage49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviles
1.6 mi away
Hotel Zen Balagares
Hotel Zen Balagares
#3 of 12 in Aviles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.1 mi away
40 Nudos
40 Nudos
#5 of 12 in Aviles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
16.2 mi away
Castillo del Bosque la Zoreda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Silken Villa de Aviles Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro
Hotel Don Pedro
#2 of 12 in Aviles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio Valdes
Hotel Palacio Valdes
#4 of 12 in Aviles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Palacio de Aviles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Palacio de Aviles

Property: NH Collection Palacio de Aviles
Address: Plaza Espana 9, 33402, Aviles, Spain (Formerly NH Collection Palacio de Ferrera)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Asturias > Aviles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Aviles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Palacio de Aviles 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star NH Collection Palacio de Aviles in Aviles, Spain, a Collection hotel, is situated right in the heart of the old town on the city's main square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and NHHotels so you can book your NH Collection Palacio de Aviles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Avilés
NH Collection Palacio De Aviles Spain - Asturias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing