We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Collection Palacio de Aviles

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
NH Collection Palacio de Aviles
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Aviles
Certificate of Excellence
Briarcliff Manor, NY
Level Contributor
190 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here three nights in June 2012 and couldn't have been more pleased. Everything from the room to the staff to the food was 5 stars. And, you can't beat the location, right on the square in the old town. It you are thinking of staying in Aviles, thisi s the place to be.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    289
    41
    11
    8
See reviews for
201
450
33
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Charming hotel that is a restored old building right in the central square of Aviles.

Its comfortable , clean and high standard hotel. Has nice breakfast and the stuff is really friendly. It helps if you are part of the NH points program as it allows you for good upgrades.

Junior suite is huge and has a marvelous view to the internal garden.

Aviles its beautiful and has its charm. The only problem is its souroundings that is an industrial area

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xronis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

The location of the hotel is perfect on the southern side of the Plaza de España right in the heart of the pedestrian area of the old town. The older part of the hotel and main entrance is opposite the Town Hall on the corner of Calle de San Francisco whilst the modern part to the rear faces onto the park (Parque de Ferrera).

When we stayed in September the Plaza de España was full of life with a number of bars and cafes, with outside tables and seating, along the southern and western sides. In reality there is no shortage of cafes, restaurants and bars to choose from in the areas surrounding the Plaza.

We paid for a 'Superior' room (415) which was in the fourth floor of the modern part of the hotel; very spacious and overlooked the park. The room had two small balconies (although no outdoor furniture); a separate dressing room and large bathroom. The advert behind the reception desk suggested a simple tiered approach to the room upgrades with specified (per night) additions to the basic room rates. As suggested by other reviewers we did have breakfast in the hotel- €12 per person if booked the night before- there we a number of alternatives close by including the cafes surrounding the market on the Plaza Hermanos Orbón (outdoor Market on Monday). The coffee machine in the room, although a little complex, was a nice touch and produced tasty results.

The old and new parts of the hotel are well integrated with numerous smaller seating areas that are comfortable and well decorated. On the third floor, to the front of the old part of the hotel above reception, there is a small library with an old spiral staircase that provides access to the tower and a small roof terrace with views over the Plaza, Calle de San Francisco and to the Óscar Niemeyer Centre - well worth a visit.

The reception staff were all multi lingual and helpful in dealing with all queries or requests. The room and common areas are all well maintained and clean.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms and on a personal level I would prefer the ones that overlook the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TierraDelSur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
128 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Very beautiful hotel located right in the center of Aviles, on the main square. Rooms were modern and comfortable, staff was multilingual. Our friends stayed in the suite and they were told that "Brad Pitt has slept there" :D
The breakfast is very expensive so one should rather eat at one of the many cafés a few steps away and save money. And bring your laptop for free internet (with cable), there is no free wifi in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank so_voyage49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed a long weekend here visiting friends, thought I would splash out on a nice hotel. The common areas were very pretty indeed and the front of house staff very friendly and spoke good English. Room was nice but smelled of cigarette smoke. The bathroom fairly dull and bed uncomforatble as mattress leaned to one side. At nigth time the room was very noisey due to several weddings at the hotel and also the walls are paper thin so you can even hear your neighbours conversations. The housekeepers start their work at 8 am even in the weekends and they are extremely noisey so forget about sleeping after 8 am.
As the hotel is right in front of the town hall, in the main square, you will see all the demonstrators camping right there due to the current political situation in Spain so if you are thinking of going to that hotel to get some peace and quiet think twice, save a lot of money and go to the Silken hotel down the road.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank russatpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

The hotel used to be a palace, and the integration of old and new in the common areas is pretty amazing, e.g. the reception and the bar areas on the ground floor. I stayed in a room in the newer part (#307), and though it overlooked an interior atrium, I didn't have any noise issues...though I should say the hotel seemed pretty quiet. From my room window, I was also able to peek into the palatial gardens. The room was new with two large single beds (what I had requested), a good amount of space and very nice spacious bathroom. The hotel is in a central location. The staff were very nice, but at times my broken Spanish wasn't quite enough to get by - most of the staff spoke very good English though.

I was there for a 3-day meeting, and unfortunately didn't have much time to explore the surrounding area of Aviles or Asturias. From what I did see though, the town was lovely and quite safe for wandering, even at night.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gb4Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

Stayed one night. Very nice hotel, friendly welcome and excellent location. Rooms were large, comfortable and quiet (we were at the back overlooking the garden). My only criticism would be that the extras add up- the breakfast and the parking together came to 46 euros (two people). It was a good breakfast but the room was only 68. Also we went out for an evening meal and in retrospect should have eaten at the hotel- Aviles has loads of bars but we struggled to find a restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HerbertFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviles
1.6 mi away
Hotel Zen Balagares
Hotel Zen Balagares
#3 of 12 in Aviles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.1 mi away
40 Nudos
40 Nudos
#4 of 12 in Aviles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
16.2 mi away
Castillo del Bosque la Zoreda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Silken Villa de Aviles Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro
Hotel Don Pedro
#2 of 12 in Aviles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio Valdes
Hotel Palacio Valdes
#5 of 12 in Aviles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Palacio de Aviles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Palacio de Aviles

Property: NH Collection Palacio de Aviles
Address: Plaza Espana 9, 33402, Aviles, Spain (Formerly NH Collection Palacio de Ferrera)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Asturias > Aviles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Aviles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Palacio de Aviles 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star NH Collection Palacio de Aviles in Aviles, Spain, a Collection hotel, is situated right in the heart of the old town on the city's main square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your NH Collection Palacio de Aviles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Avilés
NH Collection Palacio De Aviles Spain - Asturias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing