We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional food and service in a small family style setting.”
Review of Palomeque

Palomeque
Ranked #12 of 1,481 Restaurants in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Casco Antiguo
Niceville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Exceptional food and service in a small family style setting.”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Mostly Spaniards (which was great for us). We were avoiding the tourist mobs... Solid service and food was very good. Lots of choices. Great small plate options. Our server guided our meal which consisted mainly of shared plates. Great wine and desserts. Would eat here again and again gladly! Cheers to Palomeque.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    324
    72
    33
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful "migas"”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The restaurant was recommended by the concierge of the hotel and we also read the recommendations at trip advisor. We didn't have a reservation. So we arrived early for dinner and there was just one small table left. The waiters were helpful and the food was really very good. Ask for the "migas" with foie gras. It's better to make reservation.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank eliane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Deserves its Rating”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We always make a shortlist of restaurants before we go away - we don't always use it but its there if needed. This restaurant was on our list for Zaragoza due to its high rating on Trip Advisor plus being less than 10 minutes walk from our hotel and it proved a very good choice. Unlike some other major Spanish cities, English is not so widely spoken in Zaragoza so we struggled at times. It was largely due to this that we ended up with the wrong bottle of wine - rose (which we're not that keen on) instead of red (which we are!). This was entirely our fault - we were so busy trying to communicate with the waiter (who to be fair, did speak some english) that we ended up selecting a wine from the wrong section. Since the waiter had brought us a menu in english we really had no excuse but he accepted our apologies, telling us not to worry about it & exchanged the wine for a (very good) local red. Our meals were very good too. I had veal, my friend had lamb - both excellent. The following day was very hot (approaching 40C) & after a busy day sightseeing we really couldn't face going on a restaurant hunt so we went back to Palomeque again. We sat outside again (our preferred choice) & although we were served by a different waiter this time I did look inside & caught the eye of the one who'd served us the night before. He gave a friendly wave which was quite surprising, considering the fiasco with the wine. Other members of staff were equally friendly. We'd decided we'd both have a T bone steak until our waiter suggested we share one T bone and a locally produced (and cheaper!) sausage dish which he recommended. We did and he was right the sausage was really good. They served the sausage first & only served the T bone after we'd finished the sausage. I was impressed by the quality of the food, the quality of the wine and the very good service we received. We had two relaxed, enjoyable meals at this friendly restaurant at reasonable prices & I can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank malcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One month in Spain one of the best meals yet!”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Lovely staff, great service, fantastic Spanish food, friendly ++++, highly recommend. We were curious about what someone was eating on the next table, they got clean cutlery and served us some...delightful people.

Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denmark
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“so so”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I was not impressed really. we were left waiting for a while in the door even though we made a reservation. after this we were ignored in the table - we asked for the water but they also forgot this. The food was all right but nothing special.I asked not to have foie gras on the the plate with vegetables - this they forgot.

Nice touch they gave us som chokolate when we left - maybe because they were aware we hadnt been treated so well?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teskeTeske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palomeque also viewed

Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
 
Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
 

Been to Palomeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing