We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of the best meals I have ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomeque

Palomeque
Ranked #10 of 1,290 Restaurants in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Casco Antiguo
rochester, kent
Level Contributor
397 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

.......And I eat out almost every week, and have eaten in many Michelin star places too....but this was just perfect. Our waiter was brilliant -friendly and full of knowledge and passion about the food and wine - one of the best waiters I have ever come across - all restaurants should have one like him ! And the food was fabulous - Palomeque chips (foie, crisps and ham) were amazing, the lobster and chick pea 'broth' was amazing, the desserts were unusual and memorable, and there was an excellent range of beers too. But the wine selection was one of the best things about Palomeque - so often you have to pay an arm and a leg for a decent glass of wine - but here the wine is superb and very reasonably priced. We ate here twice whilst in Zaragoza, and tried to get in on another day, only to find it booked. so be warned - reserve a table. You will not regret it. A meal (we had 4 half racions) for two of the most divine food with a bottle of wine and deserts is about £55. Also, forgot to say, they have a huge menu of 'regular' dishes and daily specials

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marcovanbatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    246
    59
    25
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Took advice from Trip Advisor and found this place in a little back street. Tried to book day before but fully booked, but made enquiry next day and they took us at 8pm. All tables reserved but we were the first there. A most wonderful experience: top quality food and charming attentive service..even when the restaurant had filled up. A smallish dining room with some tables outside [but in an unprepossessing alley so not ideal.]

The owner and waiter helped us with our choices. They said to order 3 dishes between us and then see if we needed more or not. A set of 8 tapas but quite our of the usual run of ingredients; a risotto with foie gras and iberico ham, a tomato salad with onions and langoustines. Together with delicious bread this was enough shared between 3 people. Two bottles of wine were good and inexpensive and twe paid just 90 euros including a well-deserved substantial tip. We were given a present of Aragon sweets to take away.

Unlikely ever to be in Zaragoza again, so I want others to have a similar lovely experience. Please go!! The best meal we had in Spain in 2 weeks there

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeCoucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

After finding this place on tripadvisor, we went there for dinner on our last night in Zaragoza. We were not disapointed at All after reading all those good reviews before....Great food and big servings. The service was good too, we came there without reservation and even though it was quite busy, they set us up with a table right away. We definitely recomend this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Found it easily, no trouble getting table 9:30 pm thursday. It got busy at 10. We split the tapas platter and foie gras as suggested. They made a nice sangria witha touch of spice,cinnamon? Finished with lemon sorbet and champagne ice which cleansed nicely. White tablecloth tables or sit at bar as preferred. Waiter explained Spanish menu in English very friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
1,500 reviews
588 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 679 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We came here for lunch on a Tuesday. Everything was perfect and we enjoyed the food, surroundings and service equally. We shared two 1/2 servings which were more than adequate for lunch. We had the lobster with vegetables and the Lamb leg, each under €10. Highly recommended to anyone visiting Zaragoza in the land of Aragon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palomeque also viewed

Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
 
Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
 

Been to Palomeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing