We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great location”
Review of Hotel Sauce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sauce
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place, great location”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed only one night in early April at this great little hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. The location just tops and was just round the corner from the Basilica and although the hotel is amongst the bar district, we had no problems with noise at all. Rooms are comfortable and I would say modestly sized rather than small but very clean and cosy. Breakfast was a buffet and great value and the ladies were very helpful (even tried to teach us a little Spanish). Zaragoza is a great place to visit and the Basilica was astounding. Only had time for one night as we were passing through but for sure somewhere I would recommend and I will be coming back to for longer. Thanks to the Sauce team for making our stay a good one.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guests from Edinburgh,
One more time we think that our guests from the UK are adorable :-) . We love the words " great little hotel" because as you say, most rooms in our hotel are not very spacious. Our cafetería, reception and lounge are small as well, but with a personal, cosy and warm decoration. It is not a Sheraton chain :-) but Sauce is a special experience worth living once in your lifetime :-)
Thank you so much for recomming our hotel to other travellers and we would love to see you again in the near future . Best regards,
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    383
    71
    8
    6
See reviews for
291
467
42
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
100 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

A really excellent, family run hotel. Stayed two nights whilst attending exhibition in Zaragoza.
Staff are excellent, and very friendly and helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Parking is underground, but very tight.
When we arrived, parked outside, and the guy on front desk offered to park car for me, and I picked up the keys in morning.
The following evening one of the girls came to car park to guide me in.
Room was lovely, comfortable double bed, and free wifi. No noise at all during night.
Breakfast to die for - worlds best tortilla, fruit, cheeses, hams, fresh bread. Superb coffee.
All in all a lovely hotel, and lovely people. And very reasonable rates too !!! Cannot recommend highly enough.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank timbo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guests from Kent,
Thank for your kind lines. Everyone of us in the Sauce team feels very supported by your words. Frankly, we feel very close to most of our guests, because in our small hotel you can breathe a happy and familiar atmosphere. And we know that our British guests really appreciate this quality of our business and at the same time our personal and professional customer service.
Sincere thanks and hope you can come back and visit us again.
Best regards ,
Isabel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

What a great experience !
We would never have visited Zaragoza if not our daughter was living here. And we would have missed not only a great city full of attractions - we would have missed this cozy hotel and it's splendid staff !!!
It may not offer the latest in technology, no spa or pool, no sterile business athmosphere, no pure show - but honest and friendly care for the guests.
In fact, feeling welcomed already started with the communication during booking and it remained as such throughout our whole stay. If you don't feel at home with these great people, you can not be helped.
We had brilliant five days here. Muchas gracias to the whole team !
However, a positive feedback is not complete without paying a special tribute to the fantastic Pilar:
What a start into the day with you at the breakfast buffet !!!
Muchos saludos a todos !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear guests from Germany,
We love your headline! And we are happy to know those five days in Zaragoza were wonderful holidays for you. Hope your daughter is enjoying her experience in our city.
Thank you for your enthusiasm, for your kindness and all the friendlyness in your words. Pilar feels very flattered. And it is true Pilar is pure happyness and sweetness, 24 hours a day, 365 days of the year! Fantastic woman! The rest of the team was also very pleased to serve you and to meet you!
Best regards, :-)
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Have just stayed at Hotel Sauce for 3rd time. The team in this hotel are unbelievable- friendly ,attentive ,fun and helpful. They go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The hotel is comfortable and well located. I loved it

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suchal1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest from Newcastle,
I have passed on your words to the rest of the team to congratulate them for the excellent work the do day after day. It is very rewarding to know that we have a magnificent and best team to rely on. Always with that personal human touch and professional all at the same time. For all the team, each day is a new challenge and we face work with excitement and passion. We also feel very lucky to host the nicest guests in the world :-) Thank you for choosing us again. It would be a pleasure to host you again if you have the chance to come back to Zaragoza.
Kindest regards from all the Sauce team.
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We expected this to be a nice stay with a very good location but found that it exceeded both of these expectations. For us, Hotel Sauce turned out to be one of the nicest places we stayed (2 nights) in Spain, with elegant, beautiful room right on the corner over looking the streets. We were just a few blocks from El Pilar plaza -- also where we parked our car with very easy in and out access during the day. Our rooms perfectly accommodated us as a couple along with our two boys, ages 15 and 13, essentially in a suite with two rooms. And the breakfasts were the best we had in Spain -- really, really good!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenAndLynnBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear guests from Michigan,
All the team feels very proud to read that we have exceeded your expectations. Zaragoza is not a very turistic city and we imagine that coming all the way from the US to our town must have been a real adventure. So when you say that our hotel and our breakfast were one of the bests you found in Spain, you could not make us more happy!! We are also glad to see that our family room is a good choice if you travel with children. Hope the word spreads in The US and we have many many American visitors :-)
Best regards,
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagin, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We booked for 1 night & stayed 2. Our room was lovely, clean, cosy & comfortable. The hotel has everything you need close by- Goya (for free), parking (13€), bars, restaurants etc. Breakfast was included. The big selling point is the wonderful staff- every single staff member we saw said hello and was very friendly. Stay at Sauce- it's great!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Harris-Moroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear guests,
Happy to know you extended your stay one more night, yes! Zaragoza worths a longer visit. It is true that we are a very convenient hotel, everything walking distance and nearly door to door from Goya Museum, a Renaissance palace with Goya engravings and paintings and other travelling exhibitions. At hotel reception desk we are always eager to help and listen to our friends and guests ! Best regards from all the Sauce Team :-)
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel is an real find. Great location in centre but not noisy. A relief to have a hotel that is not part of a faceless corporate chain. Room had character and was spacious and very warm and welcoming. Really nice little cafe on ground floor where you can have a good breakfast and great coffee/Earl Grey tea or a great gin and tonic in the evening. Every single member of staff I encountered was smiley, friendly and, as a woman staying alone in the hotel, I felt very safe. The cafe staff were efficient and their attention seemed effortless. The staff were definitely 5 star and the hotel was very affordable and I think deserves more stars. Forget the more expensive places in Zaragoza - this is a truly lovely hotel and I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kw262013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear guest from London,
We are very grateful for your tender and charming words describing your experience in our hotel. You make us feel very special. It is true that we are not a big chain hotel but a small family run hotel, and we think that with a lot of personality. All our rooms have different decoration, we treat our guests with love and care, and our little but cosy cafeteria is a warm and unique place in Zaragoza.The name of our cafetería is "mi habitación favorita" " my favourite room" and it is very very British :-) because we serve a wide variety of tea and coffee, carrot cake or hummingbird cake... :-)
Thank you so much for those 5 stars for our staff :-) yes, we are a happy and united team. Happy 2014 from all of us! We are London fans :-)
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Catalonia El Pilar
#1 of 78 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Tryp Zaragoza Hotel
#4 of 78 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Pablo
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#11 of 78 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Centro
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
#8 of 78 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
#16 of 78 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sauce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sauce

Property: Hotel Sauce
Address: Calle Espoz y Mina 33, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Zaragoza
#2 Family Hotel in Zaragoza
#3 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sauce 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel in the center of SaragossaHotel Sauce is located in the historical, artistic and commercial center of Saragossa, close to Basilica del Pilar and Cathedral, La Seo de San Salvador and the best attractions of the city.Each room is uniqueHotel Sauce has 40 rooms. Each one has been personally decorated and taking care of the details.They are equiped with complete bathroom with hairdryer and toiletries, TV, telephone, individual safe, air conditioning, heating and free WiFi.Services that you can enjoy during your stayHomemade breakfast buffet with natural products, private parking, free WiFi, Cot Service, Meeting Room, Laundry Service, Fax and Regular Mail, Transfer to Airport and Baggage Storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sauce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauce Hotel Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing