We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Hotel Sauce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sauce
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
Boucherville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hotel Sauce is a hidden gem of a hotel tucked away in a great location surrounded by Zaragoza's premier attractions. The staff was particularly helpful in providing insights on our specific interests and their English was way better than our Catalan. Our stay was followed by an email which was specific to our particular visit asking if our stay was up to expectations.
The garage was a tight squeeze and scared our rented car but at least there was one. A good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear guests, wow! thank you for your wonderful review. Hope you were greatly impressed by the charms Zaragoza offers, it definitely worths a visit and to get know their people, gastronomy, customs and language ( let me point out that we belong to the county of Aragon, and we only speak Spanish, it is only in Cataluña were they speak Catalán) :-) . Thank you for bring such kind guests. Best regards, Isabel and all the Sauce team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    383
    71
    8
    6
See reviews for
291
465
42
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Sauce for 2 nights. We had a lovely stay and the hotel fulfilled all our expections, staff were friendly and kind (especially when it came to parking in the car park) and are clearly proud of their hotel,the room was simple, clean and quiet and ideally located for visiting the historical centre of Zaragoza. Represented great value for money and would use again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFitzFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guests: We are overwhelmed with your 5 star review! Yes, we are proud of our hotel. And opinions like yours make us very happy and encourage us to keep on giving the best service to our guests. We like to take care of them make them feel as if they were at home with a friendly and warm welcoming and stay.
Thank you for relying on us.
Kind regards,
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights end Sept 2012. Room small with few frills but clean, comfortable and excellent value for money. Perfect location for old city tourist sights. Good inclusive breakfast. All staff most friendly and helpful. Would certainly use again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sensara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guests: Thank you for choosing us for your stay! And we are happy to know that if you had the chance to come back again to Zaragoza you would repeat the experience and use again our hotel. We are very greatful and glad you trust us!
Hope you had a nice journey on your way back to England.
Kind regards :-)
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel 2 nights whilst expolring the many sites of Zaragoza.
How can this hotel be just 2* ??
Small but immaculate rooms and very friendly and helpful staff. Great location within walking distance of all major sites and a very very tight underground carpark opposite that the manager personally directed me into and out of . This park is one of the tightest I have encountered but so convenient and well worth the experience.
We will definitely return and recommend this hotel plus Zaragoza.

Room Tip: Front rooms have window to street plus small balcony and road noice if left open rear rooms have ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippetmignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guests: wow! thank you for the 5 star review! Thank you for recommending our family run hotel and Zaragoza to other travelers. Yes we are a 2 star hotel, but we are proud to say that we are a little Grand Hotel :-) Sorry for the inconvenience about parking. It is true it is quite tight, but there is always someone from the hotel that goes with you and help you. And the rest of your stay you forget about the car. Everything is round the corner, everything walking distance to discover the charms the city offers :-) Thank you for your opinion :-)
Kind regards
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel has a great location with clean spacious rooms. The included breakfest is of high quality and the parking garage (which costs extra to park) is a lot of fun to navigate. The larger the car, the more fun. The staff was very friendly and helpful at all hours. If I was back in Zaragoza I wouldn't look anywhere else for my room.

Room Tip: Ask for a bottle of water at breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loudbellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guest: thank so much for your sense of humor :-) about our tight closed carpark. This might be the cons but the pros is that is very convenient, just in the heart of the city, and in front of the hotel. Thank you so much for relying on us and for choosing us for your stay!!!!!
Kind regards,
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Lovely decorated room in great location close to square and restaurants and exceptionally clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great city to spend a couple of days in and explore the back streets and stumble upon some great street art. Would definitely recommend Hotel Sauce.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guests: seems we really fulfilled your expectations. We are so happy. And Zaragoza worths a visit! So glad you came across and discovered the street art. Zaragoza is a city that surprises you in every corner if you walk along the city center.
Thank you for your point of view and highest punctuation.
Kind regards
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I've just spent 7 nights here whilst finding accommodation for my daughter. We shared a twin room on the top floor. The room although quite small, was what you would expect of a 2 star hotel. It was however spotlessly clean and the high standard was repeated each day. The breakfast is a buffet with a great choice of pastries alongside cereal, fruit and yoghurt. The staff were all very friendly and spoke English to varying degrees - a rarity in Zaragoza.
The only downside is the parking. If you have to take a car, make sure it's small. As the hotel is in the old part of the city, the car park is 3 floors underground and is VERY tight. A member of staff guide you in the first time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick301b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guest from Manchester: hope your daughter had a nice experience as a student in Zaragoza. Thank you for recommending our homemade breakfast served with love and care. You guests like it very much and it will help you start the day with positive energy and attitude. Thank you for sharing your opinion with the rest of the travelers.
Best regards,
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Catalonia El Pilar
#1 of 78 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Tryp Zaragoza Hotel
#4 of 78 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Pablo
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#11 of 78 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Centro
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
#7 of 78 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
#15 of 78 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sauce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sauce

Property: Hotel Sauce
Address: Calle Espoz y Mina 33, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Zaragoza
#2 Family Hotel in Zaragoza
#3 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sauce 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel in the center of SaragossaHotel Sauce is located in the historical, artistic and commercial center of Saragossa, close to Basilica del Pilar and Cathedral, La Seo de San Salvador and the best attractions of the city.Each room is uniqueHotel Sauce has 40 rooms. Each one has been personally decorated and taking care of the details.They are equiped with complete bathroom with hairdryer and toiletries, TV, telephone, individual safe, air conditioning, heating and free WiFi.Services that you can enjoy during your stayHomemade breakfast buffet with natural products, private parking, free WiFi, Cot Service, Meeting Room, Laundry Service, Fax and Regular Mail, Transfer to Airport and Baggage Storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sauce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauce Hotel Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing