We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location and friendly staff. Now called Hotel Las Torres.”
Review of Hotel Pilar Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pilar Plaza
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in Zaragoza
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location and friendly staff. Now called Hotel Las Torres.”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The hotel is in a superb location, directly across from the magnificent Basilica El Pilar. It offers very good value for money. Rooms in the front overlook the attractive plaza and the Basilica, a first class view. We opted for a room in the back to enjoy a more quiet night's sleep. We were on the third floor (room 319), and it was indeed completely quiet at night. The airconditionng worked very well, and to our delight was completely quiet. The room featured a huge king size bed which was very comfortable. The room was relatively compact, but very functional in terms of storage. The bathroom has a dated look, but also fully functional. There were a few missing tiles on the floor, not sure why they don't just replace them? Staff were very friendly. The hotel is within short walking distance of all the sights, and the main bar and restaurant streets. If arriving by taxi, ask to be dropped off behind the Basilica, the hotel is a short 100 meters directly across the pedestrianised plaza (next to the Toursit Office). We thoroughly enjoyed Zaragoza. It's a beautiful city and in addition to the religious landmarks there are some top notch museums. We stayed two nights and would have been happy to stay a third if our itinerary had allowed. We would definitely return to Hotel Las Torres. It is in the very best location, and we slept great in the super comfortable huge king size bed. Also, WiFi (free) reception was very good in our room. The only negative was the very slow elevator.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front overlook the attractive plaza and the Basilica, a first class view. We opted for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alixz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    184
    98
    31
    17
See reviews for
58
286
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is an old hotel with modern rooms. Immediately across from Cathedral of Pilar and so on that famous plaza. Parking forty yards away under the plaza. As we are not persnickety this hotel fit our needs perfectly. We loved Zaragoza - the only city in Europe named after Caesar Augustus. If you like Spain and haven't made it here yet, if you do on next trip you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felipepelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

we walked in and got a room in mid day , the room is black and white ,very fancy and the bathroom has a shower had multi shower heads from walls and sides and top. very cheap for the look and comfort.it was located just cross walkway from basilica De pillars. sounds of cathedral was enchanting.american travelers, remember basilica was there before us and will be there long after us. enjoy this city has a lot to offer, will stay at this hotel again and again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougndoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Location was great with views from the room unbeatable. Found room to be funky and adequate-we got out on to the Square asap after arrival. Great tapas scene just behind the hotel. The midnite bus tour starts here as well. We stayed out till 2 pm on the Square- it was simply beautiful.
Maybe when the hotel is fully renovated and all, we will have to pay double but for now, we definitely recommend it to everyone.

ps: despite the dark gothic reception, the hotel was completely safe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the square if available-the view of the pilgrims will astound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IkeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

On the good side, the location is central.

My Lonely Planet guidebook recommended this hotel. That was the one and only time we picked a hotel from that particular guide book.

The staff were unfriendly. I asked if I could have a room with a view of the Plaza and was told "No". No explanation as to why not.

The decoration is black and white. If you have teenagers who are Emos or Goths, they will love this place. If you are anywhere near grown-up, you will perceive it for what it is: - a tatty hotel that has been painted with the hostel crowd in mind.

Lots of things in the room were broken, scratched or dented. There appeared to be no fire exits.

The spa in the basement is rubbish. It is a whirlpool bath and a tiny "not very hot" sauna, along with some random pebbles thrown everywhere. It is so dark it feels more like a cannabis den than a spa.

The spa shower with radio in the rooms was to say the least, naff, although I did like the "Rock & Roll Radio" station.

If you are 16, stay here. If you are adult, find a different hot

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockabilly-Raz-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Location unbeatable. But for this just goes to show how we all have such different perceptions.
Hotel gas been undergoing an almost never ending refit and remodelling. View from
Our spacious room was superb but everything seemed dog eared and dirty - was this post refit or pre refit??? Hard to tell and staff seemed clueless.
Having said that service was very friendly and helpful.
'Petit Spa' is not much and in real need of a big clean and serious maintenance.
Our room was on 3rd floor and above the remodelling was ongoing all day and night it appeared it was an un official party venue with a lot of noise. Front desk apologised but again seemed suspiciously "unaware".
So, location great, service friendly but messy, badly maintained and disorganised with signs promising future enhancements that I doubt will ever appear after all these months waiting.... let's face it they have yet to update the name of the hotel over the door!!!
Great for students and back packers... if you're older, wiser and richer then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. The location is unbeatable... RIght smack dab in the middle of the plaza. We paid the extra 10 euro for a room overlooking the plaza, it was one of the best hotel views I've seen. The church was literally right out our window. I wouldn't characterize it as loud even, despite this. It was easy to get a good night's sleep.

As others have pointed out, the hotel has been renovated recently... The upper floors are still in progress and I don't think they're even open right now actually. The hotel has a lot of Ikea-like items, so who knows how long it will stay nice.. But our room seemed really new still. The bathroom floor could have probably been cleaned better.

Our room was much larger than expected, spacious almost. It had a full king size bed. A balcony door that opened to the plaza. The shower was cool, but odd. It had a built-in radio, built-in seat to sit on for a massaging sprayer

There were spa facilities downstairs. We didn't get a massage, but their massages were insanely cheap (30euro/hour). The "facilities" include a small steam room, sauna, and hot tub, all free to use if you're staying at the hotel. The hot tub wasn't warm enough but we used it anyway.

If you're parking, call ahead and get the specific information for the parking garage that they validate for. There are two or three entrances to the garages underneath the plaza, they only validate at one of them (which is the closest). Parking was about 15euro/night if I recall. Parking was easy once we knew the correct entrance. Once we got to the plaza we walked past the hotel twice before realizing where it was. The awning for the old hotel's name is still up, only on the windows do they have the new name. Oddly, we went to the tourist office which is 10' from the hotel directly adjacent, and they had no idea where the hotel was.

Wifi in the hotel was free and worked well.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dddane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Catalonia El Pilar
#1 of 78 in Zaragoza
1,062 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Sauce
Hotel Sauce
#2 of 78 in Zaragoza
1,129 reviews
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
#14 of 78 in Zaragoza
468 reviews
Centro
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
#8 of 78 in Zaragoza
1,115 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Alfonso Hotel
Alfonso Hotel
#12 of 78 in Zaragoza
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pilar Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pilar Plaza

Property: Hotel Pilar Plaza
Address: Calle Nuestra Senora del Pilar 11, 50720 Zaragoza, Spain (Formerly Hotel Las Torres)
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pilar Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pilar Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Torres Hotel
Las Torres Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing