We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Catalonia El Pilar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Catalonia El Pilar
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is gonna be a short review because the hotel left no impression. But everything works, nothing was wrong. It is a standard good 4 star hotel with all you want plus a great location.
The little bar on the corner "el picadillo" has pretty good tapas btw.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Nice hotel, right in the center.

The stuff was very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are nice, bed are compfortable and the bathroom is big.

If you want to park for free: Cross the Santiago Bridge and turn right to Calle Palencia, there you cruise around until you find an empty spot. The walk back to the hotel is only 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

For anyone visiting Zaragoza this hotel is ideally placed for the Barrio del Pilar, enabling you to wander the city and take in almost all major sights without any problem. Nearby nightlife in the narrow streets of the area is also fantastic, wonderful bars and restaurants all within five/ten minutes walk.
There is no parking at the hotel but there is convenient underground parking in the nearby Plaza del Pilar although it does require a hike up some steps if you have a heavy suitcase.

Hotel reception staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were a reasonable size, comfortable but not exceptional. Not really worth paying the extra for the breakfast - a coffee and croissant as well as lots of other food can be had in the bar directly opposite at less than half the price.

Room Tip: Go for the higher rooms to get away from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loafingalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was there between 7-9 June 2013 for a weekend. I will Start off with how to get here. If you want to save 20 euros then get the only bus outside that comes every 30 minutes from mon - sat or every hour on Sunday. It goes to Zaragoza.Ticket cost 1.85 euros each which is a bargain and the trip is no more than 30 minutes and that is during what we call in London rush hour time. The airport is so small but there's stuff to eat in there, no shops. Only one plane lands at a time. If you have money to waste you can get a taxi for 20/25 euros. The bus is comfy though and clean. Once the bus gets to it's final stop you'll have a 15 min walk to the hotel. What you have to do is take the first left onto Paseo Maria Agustin then keep walking till you see an Archway to the left hand side. Cross the road towards the archway onto Avenida Cesar Augusto. From here it is straight until you reach a massive market looking building, tram stop or a what I think a Julius Cesar statue to the right. Once there, take a right and keep walking till you reach the hotel.

The hotel is not perfect but has its cons and pros. My personal cons are that my girlfriend and I got a two single beds and the shower was terrible. When you put the hot water on it makes weird and loud squeaky sound and the water is very slow. The tv is mostly in Spanish for those who care, I don't watch tv in hotels on a vacation. I stayed in room 212 which faces the street and has a blocked/closed balcony (not sure why?) but the whole row of the rooms facing that way above and below ours were like that. I did not eat in the hotel but they have a 13 euro each buffet breakfast and a bar downstairs.. Might be decent however there are so many restaurants and cafes all over the place so why eat at a hotel? Doesn't make sense to me.

The pros were that it was in an excellent location, it's not too badly priced, staff are nice and speak English and the room is nice and tidy. The hotel building itself is very nicely done and clean. The outside is fantastic, it's next to a beautiful square that has benches, a nice church and fountain. The hotel is pretty much in the heart of Zaragoza being close to anything and everything you need to see or do in this very underrated Spanish city.

You can easily explore most things in a day but that's tiring so I definitely recommend at least 3 days to enjoy things and what is a nice night life in a weekend. There are a lot of great drinking places, food and things to see (architecture) and I even think I spotted a strip club for those who go for stag does but the great thing about Zaragoza is that there aren't many Brits or hen/stag do's like other typical Spanish destinations.. It's a place not many silly people go to but more mature audience from what I gathered while there.

I can spend hours talking about what to see but you should just go and explore everything on that map you get at the hotel. We did that and even without the map always found a new church or building to admire around random little alleyways and corners of the street. We loved Zaragoza!!! Feel free to msg me for any help.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank norman_bates_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed the relaxed ambience and the MOST PROFESSIONAL customer service of the front desk men. Our biggest disappointed was breakfast. Average quality in my opinion and service wasn't adequate to 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yaqov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

First a big thanks to the previous reviewer who suggested aiming to follow signs to the Basilica and park in the underground car park. Coming out of the car park at ground level was sensational, since you find yourself in the middle of an enormous traffic-free square and, conveniently, beside a local information booth.The hotel is really close.
A big worry was what the food would be like (my wife says I'm always thinking of food!). Looking through previous reviews I could find nothing about dining at the hotel, but we thought we would chance it. It was the best meal we had on our 8 day visit to Spain. My pudding (tiramisu inside a chocolate Toblerone-shaped casing) was out of this world and the rest of the meal was also excellent. Breakfast was not bad either!
We liked what we saw of Zaragoza and thought it was a city we would be happy to return to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hotel in an excellent position and within a few minutes walk of the major attractions and cafes and shops. Our room had all the required amenities and although on a street it was quiet at night. We were glad to be able to open door onto a small balcony so that we could have fresh air from time to time. Breakfast was at a reduced rate and offered plenty of variety. Our bed was very comfortable, good water pressure in shower. We had a nice dinner in the restaurant on our last night. Reception staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MATTHEWS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Sauce
Hotel Sauce
#2 of 79 in Zaragoza
1,229 reviews
Tryp Zaragoza Hotel
#4 of 79 in Zaragoza
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
#17 of 79 in Zaragoza
521 reviews
San Pablo
Melia Zaragoza
Melia Zaragoza
#6 of 79 in Zaragoza
1,509 reviews
Centro
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
#5 of 79 in Zaragoza
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia El Pilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia El Pilar

Address: Calle Manifestacion 16, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Zaragoza Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zaragoza
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
#5 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#6 Family Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range: $68 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia El Pilar 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent hotel is situated in the historic centre of Zaragoza, a few metres from the Basilica of El Pilar. It is situated in a modernist building from the beginning of the 20th century. Besides offering guests a very pleasant stay, the hotel is considered as a tourist attraction in the city. It has 3 facades with decorative elements in wrought iron. The walls are made of brick, except for the lower part of the building, which is made of stone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Catalonia El Pilar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia El Pilar Hotel Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing