We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“God value for money, very central and interesting old building restyling” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia El Pilar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Catalonia El Pilar
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
181 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“God value for money, very central and interesting old building restyling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is few steps away from the wonderful Basilica de El PIlar and the gorgoeus gothic/baroque Catedral de La Seo. You are few steps from Calle Alfonso I, where in the evening most people gather for a walk and window-shopping (as in many provincial towns in the Mediteranean).
Don't miss the great Churreria la Fama, few steps away from the hotel in calle de Prudencio.
In c/Manifestacion, where the hotel is located, you will find an elegant sexi shop with a decor of a luxury lingerie shop, with toys and sexi lingerie exhibited in full size windows (InsinuaT).
Just in front, Antifaz, one of the many incredible costumes shop of Zaragoza.
The hotel staff was very friendly and efficient. Breakfast very rich and good, though the fresh fruit selection was not so great (just pineapple and melon, and not very tasty).
Beware the hot water in the shower: you can suddenly be boiled or just get chilled. The only negative point in my stay.

Room Tip: The hot water in my room (314, third floor) was not instantaneous (about 5 minutes to warm up in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dharmamaster61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    330
    53
    12
    6
See reviews for
157
473
40
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Norfolk, Uk
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Catalonia El Pilar and we were very happy with our choice. The location is excellent, literally 2 minutes walk to the main square. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. Our room was large, well equipped and the bed very comfortable. Bathroom was also roomy, modern and clean. We only had breakfast once and arrived right at the end of service, but still found plenty to choose from. We requested a double bed by email and got one. My only slight criticism was the first night there was a lot of noise from outside, but this wasn't a problem on the other two nights, so perhaps there was a special occasion/party going on. I thought the hotel was extremely good value for the price and would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed by email if you want one, also ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peggypatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Very happy with this choice of hotel. The staff at the front desk were always polite and very helpful. The room was clean and a good size with a more than adequate bathroom. Breakfast was OK, although with a limited choice and not replenished. The bed was not the most comfortable (pretty hard) and the aircon a little noisy. However overall this hotel was very good value with an excellent location, close to the museums, cathedral, basilica and plenty of tapas bars, and yet very quiet (our room with a small balcony was triple glazed). Also short walk from the underground carpark(€19.10/day). I would be happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frimley
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is as good as it gets on a number of points. Location couldn't be better, central and walking distance to everything. Service outstanding particularly from the reception desk, nothing was too much trouble from information, reservations, taxi's through to ice cubes for the room.
Comfort, we were given ajoining rooms (2 adults per room) 502/503 these were the best rooms that I've ever stayed in, both were suites in there own right with an added adjoining lounge for the 2 rooms, beds very large and comfortable, bathrooms fantastic, what a treat.
Please don't bother to look anywhere else, Their web site is confussing try, www. hotels-catalonia.com and scroll down to El Pilar Zaragoza and phone them direct, good english is spoken by all the team

Room Tip: Speak directly to the hotel team and tell them of your preferences, they are most helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calonge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great front desk, helpful, smiling, seemed quite open and willing to answer questions and give suggestions.
Great breakfast, coffee in pots and refreshed. Lots of wait staff ready to replenish, even with tour groups eating at one time.
Room are modern and new TVs
Clean and well appointed rooms.
Location is excellent, but block from main center - therefore quieter.
Hot water surges in shower - comfortable to scalding hot.
Question of the A/C working - as in all hotels (8) we stayed in, if the A/C worked it was never lower than 22 (74).

Room Tip: A/C may be a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
504 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Huge part of our good impression of Zaragoza caused the choice of Catalonia El Pilar! We did not regret a minute! And what's to regret about! The location is perfect - in center but still in quite cozy district! The room is spacious with bathroom half it's size! Comfortable beds, big LCD-TV, wardrobe with enough hangers to unpack 2 suitcases. Our room had 2 balkonies and marvelous view to the Church of St. Isabella and the square of justice! The staff was polite and friendly. We enjoyed every day of our stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank VasilyMalygin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. It was clean, quiet, had good service and was very comfortable. location was great. Highly recommend. I don't have much more to say, but advisor its making me write 200 characters for my review.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraTAS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Sauce
Hotel Sauce
#2 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Tryp Zaragoza Hotel
#4 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
#7 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Palafox Hotel
Palafox Hotel
#15 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Romareda
Hotel Reina Petronila
Hotel Reina Petronila
#5 of 80 in Zaragoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia El Pilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia El Pilar

Property: Catalonia El Pilar
Address: Calle Manifestacion 16, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Zaragoza Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zaragoza
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
#5 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#6 Family Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia El Pilar 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent hotel is situated in the historic centre of Zaragoza, a few metres from the Basilica of El Pilar. It is situated in a modernist building from the beginning of the 20th century. Besides offering guests a very pleasant stay, the hotel is considered as a tourist attraction in the city. It has 3 facades with decorative elements in wrought iron. The walls are made of brick, except for the lower part of the building, which is made of stone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Catalonia El Pilar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia El Pilar Hotel Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing