We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel - excellent location”
Review of Catalonia El Pilar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia El Pilar
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Catalonia El Pilar and we were very happy with our choice. The location is excellent, literally 2 minutes walk to the main square. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. Our room was large, well equipped and the bed very comfortable. Bathroom was also roomy, modern and clean. We only had breakfast once and arrived right at the end of service, but still found plenty to choose from. We requested a double bed by email and got one. My only slight criticism was the first night there was a lot of noise from outside, but this wasn't a problem on the other two nights, so perhaps there was a special occasion/party going on. I thought the hotel was extremely good value for the price and would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed by email if you want one, also ask for a quiet room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peggypatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
There are newer reviews for Catalonia El Pilar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Very happy with this choice of hotel. The staff at the front desk were always polite and very helpful. The room was clean and a good size with a more than adequate bathroom. Breakfast was OK, although with a limited choice and not replenished. The bed was not the most comfortable (pretty hard) and the aircon a little noisy. However overall this hotel was very good value with an excellent location, close to the museums, cathedral, basilica and plenty of tapas bars, and yet very quiet (our room with a small balcony was triple glazed). Also short walk from the underground carpark(€19.10/day). I would be happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is as good as it gets on a number of points. Location couldn't be better, central and walking distance to everything. Service outstanding particularly from the reception desk, nothing was too much trouble from information, reservations, taxi's through to ice cubes for the room.
Comfort, we were given ajoining rooms (2 adults per room) 502/503 these were the best rooms that I've ever stayed in, both were suites in there own right with an added adjoining lounge for the 2 rooms, beds very large and comfortable, bathrooms fantastic, what a treat.
Please don't bother to look anywhere else, Their web site is confussing try, www. hotels-catalonia.com and scroll down to El Pilar Zaragoza and phone them direct, good english is spoken by all the team

Room Tip: Speak directly to the hotel team and tell them of your preferences, they are most helpful
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calonge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great front desk, helpful, smiling, seemed quite open and willing to answer questions and give suggestions.
Great breakfast, coffee in pots and refreshed. Lots of wait staff ready to replenish, even with tour groups eating at one time.
Room are modern and new TVs
Clean and well appointed rooms.
Location is excellent, but block from main center - therefore quieter.
Hot water surges in shower - comfortable to scalding hot.
Question of the A/C working - as in all hotels (8) we stayed in, if the A/C worked it was never lower than 22 (74).

Room Tip: A/C may be a concern.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Huge part of our good impression of Zaragoza caused the choice of Catalonia El Pilar! We did not regret a minute! And what's to regret about! The location is perfect - in center but still in quite cozy district! The room is spacious with bathroom half it's size! Comfortable beds, big LCD-TV, wardrobe with enough hangers to unpack 2 suitcases. Our room had 2 balkonies and marvelous view to the Church of St. Isabella and the square of justice! The staff was polite and friendly. We enjoyed every day of our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank VasilyMalygin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. It was clean, quiet, had good service and was very comfortable. location was great. Highly recommend. I don't have much more to say, but advisor its making me write 200 characters for my review.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaraTAS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We booked a double and when arrived they gave us a twin. I asked they for a double but they told me they gave me a twin and it Was the same and they were full and hai no double. It wasn't true because i tried to boom by their site and it gave me double free!
Anyway, the hotel is not a for stars but it's not more then a 3 stars. Amenities: no body milk, no comb ( in spain they Give you in every 3 stars), no toothbrush.
Spotted Bedspread , Bad smell in the Room ( we had to open the window) bathroom not Very clean. Next I'll upload the photos.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexascab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaelpilar, Director General at Catalonia El Pilar, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

We are very sorry about your impression of our hotel due to a misunderstanding.

In most of the hotel reservation websites the rooms offered as DOUBLE does not specifically mean to be a one-bed-room. “Double room” means a room for two people, and this can be with one or two beds. In this case, it is the customer himself that has to detail its preferences. If the customer does not specify it, the hotel offers what is available.

It was not specified in your reservation and we are sorry that we could not offer you a room with one bed as we did not have any left on that date. Please believe that our policy is to offer all our customers a pleasant stay. We hope to have a new opportunity to receive you in our hotel to change your impression of your stay with us. We are proud of having great reports of customers fully satisfied and very much regret your concern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Sauce
Hotel Sauce
#2 of 79 in Zaragoza
1,186 reviews
Centro
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
NH Ciudad de Zaragoza
#8 of 79 in Zaragoza
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
#13 of 79 in Zaragoza
509 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Alfonso Hotel
Alfonso Hotel
#11 of 79 in Zaragoza
644 reviews
Tryp Zaragoza Hotel
#4 of 79 in Zaragoza
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia El Pilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia El Pilar

Address: Calle Manifestacion 16, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Zaragoza Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zaragoza
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
#5 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#6 Family Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range: $74 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia El Pilar 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent hotel is situated in the historic centre of Zaragoza, a few metres from the Basilica of El Pilar. It is situated in a modernist building from the beginning of the 20th century. Besides offering guests a very pleasant stay, the hotel is considered as a tourist attraction in the city. It has 3 facades with decorative elements in wrought iron. The walls are made of brick, except for the lower part of the building, which is made of stone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia El Pilar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia El Pilar Hotel Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing