We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice stay in zaragoza”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palafox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palafox Hotel
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“very nice stay in zaragoza”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We were initially stuck for finding a hotel in Zaragoza for 4 of us to attend a Spanish christening, with a decent sized swimming pool and reasonable price for our budget. Our Spanish friend had informed us it would be hot. We initially looked and decided to wait a bit, and then we struck lucky with an offer for the Palafox at £68 per night, breakfast excluded. Hotel was lovely, rooms excellent sized and well equipped. We were offered breakfast on arrival for 14 euros per night but decided to grab something quick outside instead. Hotel is fab located in a quiet side street but nestled amongst lots of little shops bars and restaurants (head in the right sided direction as you leave the hotel) and near to Plaza Espana and a 15 min walk to the Basilica area. Staff were very friendly and polite. We ate lunch on the pool terrace one day. Food was good and ok priced for a 5 star hotel. Drinks were a little on the pricey side however. Pool temp was a bit refreshingly temp controlled, but the loungers were comfy. Nice breezes whilst there. There are a few things needing a bit more attention to detail: phone from pool to reception was not working - hence a trip 9 floors down to get drinks, and no pool towels around the pool. A few times the room key would not work, and a trip down 6 floors needed. Other than this, was very happy with our stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: our room overlooked the casio and we were a bit disturbed on the weekend from locals talking loud in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbarnes_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palafox-Hoteles, Dirección hotel at Palafox Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind opinion. We regret the inconvenience during your stay. I´d like to inform you that phone in pool area works properly now (I have checked it). Your opinion give us the opportunity to improve.
Yours sincerely,

Elena Auría
Dpto. Operaciones
Palafox Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    237
    70
    20
    11
See reviews for
121
228
18
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire,England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Arrive at the grand entrance and you know you have chosen well. Very elegant and comfortable hotel with "old school" decor, a bit like a classic cruise ship. The reception staff are totally helpful, if you have the smallest problem they will fix it. Rooms are spacious, but being a city hotel don't expect stunning views. Bedroom was traditional with no hint of the unfortunate new trend for "open plan" or see-through bathrooms. Bed was very comfortable and the room to room soundproofing very good. Breakfast was "average" with a minimum selection and warm rather than hot choices. Very nice bar just above reception, again with very helpful and friendly staff. The position of the hotel could not be bettered for discovering all that this delightful city has to offer. Underground car park seemed a bit pricey but well worth it for convenience and security. Our hire car stayed put the entire stay. This is a city to explore slowly and on foot.
Biggest attraction is obviously the Basilica of Our Lady of Pilar. If you have a head for nights, take the scenic lift to the top of the tower. However, don't fail to see the Cathedral too. This is one of the most stunningly decorated I have seen. Check opening times, it doesn't stay open all day.
We will most certainly visit Zaragoza again and the Palafox is the only place for us when we do

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camera-Clicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palafox-Hoteles, Dirección hotel at Palafox Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us. We' ll do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back any time soon.

Best regards,

Elena Auría
Dpto. Operaciones
Palafox Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

I spent three weeks at this hotel, and this was my second visit.

Excellent location, older hotel, but clean and comfortable.

Everything is within walking distance, plenty of great restaurants within a few blocks..

Will stay here again..

Safe travels!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LjekovitMetak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palafox-Hoteles, Dirección hotel at Palafox Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your opinion.
Kind regards

Elena Auría
Dpto Operaciones
Palafox Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Daunting to find if you are negotiating Zaragoza's busy one way system by car. Sat Nav puts you on a slope to a car park in front of the hotel but it's not the hotel's! Dont go down there. You're stuck and need someone to rush across to hotel to get you out of an awkward situation!
Staff very polite and friendly. Usual swanky entrance. Good room. Big bed but if you are five star you have to get details right and not leave it to the customer to ask. So.....
No soap in bathroom, no milk for the tea/coffee machine. Lovely chrome ice bucket but ice machine not working, air con very weak and hand basin very slow to drain. Breakfast a cornucopia of fruit, pastries and meats but uncovered scrambled egg dish stone cold because on 'hot plate' and not in a water still with lid. No offer of eggs next day.
Very convenient for shops being in the Centre and staff engagement with you first class. It's the irritating unnecessary failures that take down the score. And, of course, if you're driving to find it be warned!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palafox-Hoteles, Dirección hotel at Palafox Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear guest,
I regret that you had so much trouble to get to the hotel.
Thank you for your opinion, all the suggestions of our guests give us the opportunity to improve.

Best regards,

Elena Auría
Dpto. Operaciones
Palafox Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
260 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The Palafox Hotel is a bit of Old World luxury in Zaragosa, a hotel that offers top quality service in a quiet and understated manner. Rooms are spacious, the linens are very good and the bathrooms well appointed.The staff is so low key and quietly efficient you may never realize just how many benefits the hotel offers. From a good pool and fitness room to an exceptional restaurant there is much to enjoy beyond the quickly obvious in-room amenities.

The Palafox has a great location - very close to many shops, the famous tapas bars of El Tubo are no more than 10 minutes' walk away and many good restaurants are an easy stroll away.

My only complaint is that while the Palafox offers free WiFi, there are frequent bottlenecks that slow the connection speed significantly. The WiFi works, but it isn't up to the needs of modern business if you're a power user.

That small glitch aside, this is a wonderfully calm spot to stay in one of Spain's most appealing still-to-be-discovered destination cities. By the way, the hotel offers an excellent breakfast with the room, and it's a very complete start to the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn_Farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palafox-Hoteles, Dirección hotel at Palafox Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your opinion. I would like to inform you that the hotel has a wifi service contract with a limited capacity which is habitually enough, but when the occupancy in the hotel is higher it can give some problems.
I regret the inconvenience during your stay about this issue.

Best regards,

Elena Auría
Dpto. Operaciones
Palafox Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions and it has been a lovely experience both times.
We spent 5 days there for a medical congress and 3 days will touring the area with family.
The hotel is situated in the center of the city, it is easy to walk to the tourist sites, bars and restaurants.
The rooms and baths are large and very comfortable and quiet. The staff is very helpful and pleasant. My brother left his cell phone in the room on departure and they kept it for us until we returned by the hotel a few days later.
I think it's a good value and it has the added plus of valet parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palafox-Hoteles, Dirección hotel at Palafox Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for coming back to hotel Palafox during your visit in Zaragoza. We are glad that you had a great stay with us. We´d like to inform you that we keep all objects that our clients forget in the hotel during several months.
Best regards,

Elena Auría
Dpto. Operaciones
Palafox Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a stylish, comfortable hotel only a few minutes' walk from interesting places to visit, good shopping and restaurants. The room was spotless, comfortable and well furnished and the valet parking was a plus. Staff were very helpful. Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire_walker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palafox-Hoteles, Dirección hotel at Palafox Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words.
Best regards

Elena Auría
Dpto. Operaciones
Palafox Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Catalonia El Pilar
#1 of 80 in Zaragoza
973 reviews
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Romareda
Hotel Reina Petronila
Hotel Reina Petronila
#5 of 80 in Zaragoza
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Alfonso Hotel
Alfonso Hotel
#9 of 80 in Zaragoza
584 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Sauce
Hotel Sauce
#2 of 80 in Zaragoza
1,053 reviews
San Pablo
Melia Zaragoza
Melia Zaragoza
#6 of 80 in Zaragoza
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palafox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palafox Hotel

Property: Palafox Hotel
Address: Calle Casa Jimenez s/n, 50004 Zaragoza, Spain
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zaragoza
#11 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Palafox Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palafox represents the prototype of the large five stars luxury hotels being the first of the entire region of Zaragoza. It houses an important service center and meeting place of Zaragoza. Furthermore it is located in a quiet street, surrounded by the largest commercial district in the city.Great business center named "Real de Zaragoza", only for its size and appearance impressive, equipped with extensive communications systems, secretarial services, simultaneous translation, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palafox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palafox Hotel Zaragoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing