We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff went out of their way...”
Review of Melia Zaragoza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Zaragoza
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Staff went out of their way...”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Melia 1o days ago. Unfortunately, they did not have our reservation. Although it was a Sunday, the front desk clerk, Almudena, went out of her way to help us with our reservation. She even made calls for us many times to help us figure out what the problem was. The other front desk man, Jose Antonio, supplied us with chilled water and chocolates as he realized our stress. The room was beautiful and comfortable! We definitely would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thillest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María RO R, Guest Experience at Melia Zaragoza, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear thillest,

Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Melia! It is a real honor to know that you enjoyed it.

We are hugely pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided and were impressed by our Team. Their passion to deliver above and beyond and to exceed our guest expectations every day is the reason why we are proud of our profession.

We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you.

Best regards,

María Rubio
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    567
    163
    44
    25
See reviews for
330
519
48
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zaragoza
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I just stayed 4 days in Zaragoza at the Melia, location is excellent, you may walk into downtown easily. Staff was Very Helpful, always there to talk help you, very nice! Rooms are big, old style, but nice. Breakfast buffete is a must, great price and food was delicious, zaragoza is a great city to walk around and you'll enjoy it staying at the Melia!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Aldo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María RO R, Guest Experience at Melia Zaragoza, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Aldo P,

Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your positive feedback about some points of our Hotel and our staff.

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with the hotel facilities and our staff.

We are constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests, and we are glad to see that our attempts are appreciated.

We look forward to receive your visit soon and we remain at your disposal.

Best regards,

María Rubio
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Although the Melia in Zaragoza is large, the service is good in most instances. The rooms are comfortable and quiet except for doors slamming at night, but that can't be helped. The complementary breakfast has an amazing variety of food, including 'American breakfasts' cooked to order. The hotel staff tends to ignore older women traveling solo (like me), so you have to speak up at the desk to get attention. But overall, the rooms and breakfast make up for that.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Carol May House... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María RO R, Guest Experience at Melia Zaragoza, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Mrs. Carol May House... P

On behalf the entire team we would like to thank you for reporting your impressions and feelings regarding your last stay at Meliá Zaragoza.

We hugely appreciate your kind and sincere words because for us your feedback is very important.

I remain at your complete disposal and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

María Rubio
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here towards the end of a road trip of Northern Spain. Needed another day here really to see more. We were celebrating a wedding anniversary and they were kind enough to upgrade us. We had a really enjoyable room, probably a junior suite, that was spacious and very nicely appointed, had a separate sitting area and a huge bathroom. Bed was comfortable and the room and the bathroom was spotlessly clean!! Staff were very helpful and friendly. Location is just a short walk from the main tourist sites and is easy to find with nearby parking that is easily accessible. When we return we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephencanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María RO R, Guest Experience at Melia Zaragoza, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear stephencanmore,

Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments; we believe it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our guests that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.

It is a pleasure for us to know that our customers feel comfortable and glad with our facilities and services because this is the main goal of our Hotel and our Company, Meliá Hotels International, and we all thank you for appreciate the hard work that all our team do every day.

We will be glad to welcome you in a future and make your visit unforgettable.

Best regards,

María Rubio
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I have just ended a 2 day business trip to Zaragoza and chose the Meliã Zaragoza as I wanted to be near the Pilar and able to walk around and explore the down in the evenings. Reception was very efficient, very friendly, and my room was immaculate. The hotel has very nice "old world" or spanish charm if you will. Lots of detailed (but not over the top) ornamentation, very clean, etc. The pics you will see do it justice. The location cannot be beat either! Just a 5-10 minute stroll and you're at the Pilar and very close to the main epicenter of the nightlife and phenomenal tapas! The town is much larger than it feels. Taxis are very efficient, very nice, and shockingly cheap as I had to be outside of city center for work (7-8 Euro each way, about a 10-15 min drive).

For business travelers, Wifi is free and quite fast. The breakfast buffet was, in my opinion, well worth it. Very nice and fresh selection of cured meats, cheese, sausage, eggs, fruit, bread, pastries, and cereal. Nothing "special" mind you (traditional breakfast fare), but well presented and fresh. Attendants were very responsive and took great care. All in all, I have nothing but outstanding things to say and - should I return to Zaragoza - I will without a doubt be staying right here again.

My only 'negative' is I found the mattresses quite firm. They were by no means uncomfortable, just firmer than my preference. My husband would have said they were perfect (just for perspective). Pillows were plentiful and supportive, which matters the most to me!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PegasusDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María RO R, Guest Experience at Melia Zaragoza, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear PegasusDVM,

What a big pleasure to read your nice comment referring your last stay with us. Thank you so much for it and for sharing it with another Tripadvisor’s users.

I would like to thank you for such a completely and inspirited review regarding your stay in our Hotel. We hugely appreciate your kind and sincere words.

The entire staff is looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future!.

Best regards,

María Rubio
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on a 2 night business trip to Zaragoza in February 2014.
It is a very large hotel conveniently located for the city centre.
It looks fairly bland from the outside and inside the decor and tiles are a throw-back to 1970s/1980's Spain. However, that said, the public areas are large and airy and didn't present me with any problems.
I found the room that I had to be very large and clean. Perfectly adequate. Huge king-size bed. Mini-Bar, air-conditioning.
I actually had a tour of the hotel with one of the Events team as I am holding a conference in Zaragoza later in the year. All-in-all, I thought it was excellent and they quoted be a fantastic nighly rate for my delegates.
By booking directly through the Melia website, I received a promotion, of 10 euros bar credit per night. That was just enough for one very large G&T.
On the nights that I was there, the restaurant was not open. But there are numerous bars/restaurants and cafes all around the area.
Breakfast was excellent. Large buffet with a chef on hard to cook fresh eggs if required.
I will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavemScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María RO R, Guest Experience at Melia Zaragoza, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear DavemScotland,

Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Melia. It is a real honor to know that you enjoyed it.

It is a pleasure for us to know that our customers feel comfortable and glad with our facilities and services because this is the main goal of our Hotel and our Company, Meliá Hotels International, and we all thank you for appreciate the hard work that all our team do every day.

I will share your kind words with the entire team who will be very glad to know that our effort is highly appreciated by our guests.

Best regards,

María Rubio
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This hotel is centrally located and nicely decorated. Shame that on arrival the toilet seat in my room had a brown stain that was very visible in spite of the poor lighting. I thought it might be a cigarette burn, but unfortunately it turned out to be "organic" in nature. Reception are not particularly friendly. They seem to relish in spending a few extra seconds looking at a screen before making the effort to acknowledge your presence. The gym is not really worth a visit. Breakfast is nice and the overall decor and ambiance is pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank PFernO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María RO R, Guest Experience at Melia Zaragoza, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Mr. PFernO,

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with all our services. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. Do not hesitate that every single comment will be carefully analyzed, following our continuous improvement plan.

We will appreciate if you may reconsider to give us another opportunity to welcome you again, in order to provide you with our best service and recover your trust in our hotel.

Best regards,

María Rubio
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Catalonia El Pilar
#1 of 78 in Zaragoza
1,023 reviews
Tryp Zaragoza Hotel
#4 of 78 in Zaragoza
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Palafox Hotel
Palafox Hotel
#14 of 78 in Zaragoza
602 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Sauce
Hotel Sauce
#2 of 78 in Zaragoza
1,103 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
Vincci Zaragoza Zentro
#15 of 78 in Zaragoza
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Zaragoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Zaragoza

Property: Melia Zaragoza
Address: Avenida Cesar Augusto, 13, 50004 Zaragoza, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza > San Pablo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zaragoza
#9 Family Hotel in Zaragoza
#10 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#13 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Zaragoza 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in the heart of the historical centre, perfect for discovering Zaragoza. Located in the city centre, a few minutes from the Aljafería Palace, Basilica del Pilar / Cathedral and Roman walls, Meliá Zaragoza is the best choice for your trip to Zaragoza, thanks to its excellent location, full facilities, and the quality of its personalized services. Amongst the impressive facilities and services, Meliá Zaragoza provides 245 rooms and suites, a breakfast buffet with show cooking, a lobby bar, free high speed WiFi Internet throughout the hotel, a full gym with fabulous views of the city, 18 meeting rooms for up to 300 people, a spacious lobby with different spaces and 24 public parking in the same building with direct access to the hotel (special rates for guests). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Melia Zaragoza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Zaragoza Hotel Zaragoza
Sol Melia Zaragoza
Zaragoza Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing