We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At very best location”
Review of Alfonso Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alfonso Hotel
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel Alfonso is the very best location. Shopping street is just behind the corner.
Room was modern and nice. Zragoza is a very hot city but no problem A/C worked int the room very well. The pool outside was very nice. Staff also very helpful and nice. I will choose this hotel again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eero N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palafox-Hoteles, Dirección Hotel at Alfonso Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear guest,

I greatly appreciate your comments about the service and hotel facilities.
Best regards and thank you very much.

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
There are newer reviews for Alfonso Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 644 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Nicely appointed room spotlessly clean.There were electric blinds so the light did not disturb us and good sound proofing- so sleep quality excellent! Enjoyed indoor pool because outdoor pool was closed. The staff were so helpful and nice- even lending us an umbrella when they saw it was raining! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghilly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed her for 1 night on a trip from Madrid to barcelona. Centrally located but I couldn't actually work out how to find its car park so I parked in a nearby public park.

Room was fine, clean and quiet.

The location is really very good because you have everything you need right on the doorstep.

Would recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palafox-Hoteles, Dirección Hotel at Alfonso Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear guest,

I really apreciate your lovely comments. I Would like to inform you that in your next stay in our Hotel, it will be a pleasure for our Front desk department to be able to show you the location of our private parking. I am really sorry that this information was not given to you in your last stay with us.
Best regards and thank you very much.

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed in the Alfonso for one night in June 2013. It is a very clean, tidy, modern hotel. The hotel is in an excellent location at one end of the pedestrianised street which leads to the spectacular Cathedral Square. The trade-off is that our room, facing Calle Coso, was on the tram route, the trams are frequent but not that intrusive. The hotel staff are very helpful, Carlos directed us to the ‘must see’ locations in Zaragoza, and explained how to get into the conveniently located underground car park. He also recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner (see separate report on La Fuella). The room was decorated to a very high standard with efficient air con. The buffet breakfast was first class and reasonably priced as was the double room. I’d be happy to stay at the Alfonso if I return to Zaragoza.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper you might want to request a room which does not overlook Calle Coso
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedkiteAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Now need to try the swimming pool outside ;-) breakfast is similar everyday but good. Now going to try restaurant. Kind personnel. English is fine. The guys organised me a meeting room with projector thanks to them

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Migube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

the best thing in this hotel is the location in the middle of the down town, about 2 min walking, you will get restaurants, coffee shops, cloths and more, the rooms are not that big a little bit small, also the view not nice at all, the staff are friendly, and everybody smiling but most of them doesn't speak English, overall i can say the hotel is good but nothing more

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayyad j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Alfonso for 4 nights in March as we had to attend a wedding in Zaragoza. After spending 3 nights in Jerez at a 4-star hotel which was awful, we did not have high expectations for this 4 star hotel. However as soon as we entered the lobby, we knew it was going to be a nice stay. The lobby was modern with funky furniture, and it had a nice boutique feeling to it.

The lady in the reception was nice but her English almost non-existent. We asked for a smoking room or a room with a balcony, which were unfortunately not available. Instead we upgraded to a Junior Suite for an extra EUR 30 per night, which was a bargain! The suite was very nice with a huge balcony facing the main street and the small church.

The room itself had a lounge with a couch and TV, big bathroom with a separate shower and a free standing bathtub as well as a nice size bedroom. Much like the hotel, the rooms were also very modern and visually pleasing. Our friends stayed in a Junior Suite as well, and their room was nice too albeit with a different layout. There was also free in room WIFI available and it worked without any problems. Amenities were ok and there were robes, slippers, hairdryer available.

There were a few things that were not that great though. Firstly, our bed consisted of 2 single beds pushed together! Seriously, why would they do this in a junior suite? Secondly, the AirCon/heater in the bedroom is placed right above your head when you are lying in bed. The heater was blowing right in our faces and also making quite a lot of sound. We had to switch it off and turn the heaters on high in the other rooms. Furthermore, when you are staying in a Junior Suite at a 4 star hotel, is it too much to ask for a coffee/tea maker? This was reoccurring in all the hotels we visited in Spain (both 4 and 5 star), so it must be a Spanish thing. Lastly the towel heater was not working and the towels were flimsy and had been washed one too many times.

Most of the staff were very friendly especially Patricia who really went out of her way to help us with getting a table at the best restaurant in Zaragoza (Taberna La Piedra). Do go there if you have a chance, but like the restaurant, patrons should be gay-friendly.

Our room included breakfast and it was ok the first 2 days. However there is only so much chorizo and Tortilla de Patata you can eat until it becomes boring. The spread was the same all 4 mornings. There were also the nastiest scrambled eggs available which we never saw being replaced. They had been there so long that the liquid had separated, and the eggs were completely dry. It was the same thing every morning, and the hotel should be ashamed of providing food like this. You are able to ask for eggs of your choice which are freshly made in any case, so there is no need for the hotel to have this appalling food available.

The hotel also needs to allocate more staff in the mornings at the restaurant. The poor girl was basically doing everything, replacing food in the buffet, making coffees, taking food orders, clearing tables, setting tables. Quite often you would see more dirty tables than set ones as the girl did not have enough time to clear them.

Despite these draw backs, overall the hotel was very nice and there was a very nice roof top with pool, with a great view which would be nice during the summer. The location of the hotel is excellent for sightseeing and especially going out in Zaragoza. There are tons of restaurants, bars and clubs a few minutes walk away. El Corte Ingles department stores are also fairly close by.

This hotel is probably one of the best in Zaragoza and we would happily come back.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, do upgrade to a Junior Suite!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KennyBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zaragoza hotels
Casco Antiguo
Palafox Hotel
Palafox Hotel
#15 of 79 in Zaragoza
664 reviews
Hotel Hiberus
#10 of 79 in Zaragoza
577 reviews
Catalonia El Pilar
#1 of 79 in Zaragoza
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
NH Collection Gran Hotel de Zaragoza
Romareda
Hotel Reina Petronila
Hotel Reina Petronila
#5 of 79 in Zaragoza
509 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Sauce
Hotel Sauce
#2 of 79 in Zaragoza
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfonso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfonso Hotel

Address: Calle Coso 15 17 19, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Zaragoza
Price Range: $79 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfonso Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Alfonso is a 4 star city hotel newly built location (Calle Coso, corner Calle Alfonso), a step away from the Basilica del Pilar, 103 rooms and 17 suites equipped for long stays. Indoor pool. Fitness Centre, Solarium and swimming pool overlooking the historic Zaragoza (opening soon). Meeting rooms and Business area. Parking near the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Alfonso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing