We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Decision”
Review of Hotel Holos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Holos
Ranked #53 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A Great Decision”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just left Carmens' Hotel Holos and are missing her and her teams personnel, informed and welcoming approach. The hotel is approx 5kms from the center of town. Situated in a renovated early 1900's 'expo' villa with seven rooms over three floors. Our room (6), was adjacent to a outdoor terrace and was compact, but modern and functional; with large windows opening to view across the rooftops of the neighbouring villas. We had some concerns about the location as we are not used to public transport, (NZ is just starting to sort that out), but Carmen sorted us out with a local bus/swipe card and off we went, the bus stop is 2 minutes from the hotel and drops you right into town (5minutes) and visa versa... easy as. The hotel is adjacent to the University of Sevilla, safe, friendly folk who are only too happy to help and practice their english. But back to Carmen and her crew who all seemed sincerely concerned that we enjoyed our time in their fine city, which isn't hard, as Sevilla is great, but they make bookings, give a guide and list of great bars and restaurants to try, we almost knocked the list of over 3 days, and don't mind or at least seem to mind the odd dumb question that we seem unable to keep bottled up; these seem to come up over breakfast, (which was simple, fresh squeezed juice, espresso coffee, toasted breads and homemade toppings) when Carmen helps plan your day.
Hotel Holos is a small hotel away from the tourist throng, which provides a calm welcoming retreat, and a taste of 'local colour', we would recommend Hotel Holos without reservation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkSturgiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoutiqueHotelHolos, Propietario at Hotel Holos, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mark,
Thank you for your comments about Holos.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Seville.
We really try hard to make our guests feel "at home" and provide them with the information they need to enjoy their stay.

Best regards,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    104
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
46
275
30
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I have pondered for a long time over this review as I would not want to detract from the service given by the lovely Carmen.
We booked this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and expected a warm friendly welcome but we were very disappointed. When we arrived we were not greeted by a smile or even a hello. The man in reception asked for our ID and we waited in silence whilst they were photocopied. He then handed us our keys and said room 3. when I waited he said "are there any other questions" and I said " where is our room?" The reply was "up the stairs on the first floor", he made no effort to show us to our room.
The room was at the top of a dark narrow staircase and was extremely small and very functional. The bathroom was little more than a cupboard although very stylish even down to the vivid orange and green toilet paper!' I understand the style of the hotel is contemporary but there was no comfort, no tea or coffee, no English Tv, no chair to sit on. What really annoyed me was that the tubes of shower gel and shampoo etc were used and half empty.
The bed however was comfortable but the rooms very noisy. We could could hear the hair dryer in the next room and people's voices. Every time anyone come up the stairs we were disturbed.
Breakfast the next morning was served by Carmen who was welcoming, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was of good quality but was basically toast and pressed tomatoes and coffee. There was no alternative. An interesting introduction to a traditional breakfast but I wouldn't want it for more than a couple of days.
I know Seville is expensive but at 138 euros a night we felt it
was very poor value for money. We could not understand why this was rated the 5 th best hotel in Seville. Were we missing something? We felt this was more a bed and breakfast. There was no resturant, no room service, no bar, no lounge, nowhere comfortable to relax. A couple of dressing robes in the room does not make it a hotel.
There appear to be many happy customers but compared to some of the other hotels available in the area for the same cost it had very few facilities.
The location was some way from the centre and we spent over 40 euros just on taxis in 2 days.
It just wasn't what the reviews made it out to be.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoutiqueHotelHolos, Propietario at Hotel Holos, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Vanessa,
I am very sorry to hear that you were disapointed with Holos and specially, I understand, by not feeling welcomed at your arrival.
I always appreciate the comments from our guests as they are the most important value for us.
Even if your comments express disenchantment. Your opinion is taken in consideration as we really make an special effort to please our guests giving them the best service.
In this effort you help us to detect aspects that otherwise we couldn´t appreciate. Including poor service from the employees, amenities half empty (very rare, I am surprised), not having been offered coffee, tea, water, anything you needed at any time, etc. All these things are always treated with special care.
As for the characteristics of the rooms and the hotel as a whole you have to understand that when we renovated it we had many restrictions.
It is a historic building, it was built for the 1929 Iberoamerican Exhibition in Seville, and we had to respect its original estructure. We couldn´d enlarge the rooms.
This is why we tried to apply, very meticulously, the concept of "less is more" in all posible aspects we could reach: contemporary arquitecture, attentive and quality service, details...
Regarding breakfast we applied the same concept. We offer breads which are artisan made and 100% organic. The same about the exquisite Basilippo olive oils, the jams, the tomato puree, the coffee and orange juice.
At Holos we understand breakfast as part of the travelling experience and for this reason we offer the best products of our region and the fashion in which andalusians have breakfast.
In the subject of the rates I am sorry to say that we apply different ones depending on the season. I believe that you had two different ones.
Although I understand that if you didn`t have a 100% pleasant stay you could feel disapointed.
In any case, I assure you that the information we offer publicly in our web site and in Tripadvisor as well, is neither more nor less than what we offer at Holos.
Best regards and thak you again for your critique,

Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorca, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We travelled by public transport and looked for somewhere quiet to relax after a days sightseeing. What a gem this is. A short distance from the city centre with a variety of transport options to choose from, bicycle, bus, taxi and walking. Carmen was full of knowledge on the city, with advice on the best restaurants and places to visit. Nothing was to much trouble for Carmen and her staff. The hotel was clean, comfortable and other little surprising little touches that makes ones stay memorable. It was everything we wished for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmenHolos, Propietario at Hotel Holos, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Thank you David and Joan for your nice comments. It is always a pleasure to see that you really welcome all the efforts we are doing to make you feel confortable.

I hope to see you in the future.

Regards

Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Wow what a beautiful little 7 bed hotel! We arrived after much driving to a warm welcome! We said we needed food and asked how to get to the city!! The owner said "no way, it's far too hot" and she fixed us a lovely late lunch!! We thought we would get a snack, we got three courses, wine and beautiful service! The rooms are simple, clean and very comfortable! Lovely patio's and balcony's! The staff are helpful and the advice seems spot on!! Thank you!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank judieannellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmenHolos, Propietario at Hotel Holos, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Thank you for your nice review. When you come to Seville when it is 40º C we always suggest to wait until the temperatura decreases and that's what we did. We always try to orientate all our guest in order to be sure that you enjoy as much as posible the city.

Regards

Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Wonderful staff, a real family atmosphere, located in a very nice neighbourhood, clean, quality, air-conditioned, an ideal walk into centre - about 35 minutes but bus or taxi easy and affordable.
no parking available but found it easy to park in the vicinity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoutiqueHotelHolos, Propietario at Hotel Holos, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Philip,
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Warm regards,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We enjoyed a few great nights in Seville, staying at Hotel Holos. From the friendly and smiling reception, to our farewell at the gate, we can honestly say our stay was fantastic.

Small and personal is how I would best describe the hotel.

Set a little out of the city centre, but only a short and convenient bus ride away, we enjoyed the local hospitality of the area, making daily trips to a local nearby bar, or jumping on the hotel bikes to explore Seville (it's very flat, perfect for riding).

Carmen takes great pride in the presentation of the hotel, her attention to these details really set this apart from the chains. All of the staff were so friendly, professional and warm.

We wish Hotel Holos all the best and thank them for such a memorable time in Seville.

J & J

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoutiqueHotelHolos, Propietario at Hotel Holos, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Joseph, thank youy very much for your kind comments.
We are always very happy when we feel that we have accomplished our goal in making our guests enjoy Seville and their stay with us.
Hope you will return to continue discovering and enjoying our city.

Warm regards,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Wonderful respite from the close by center of Sevilla is this very special gem in the middle of a high end neighborhood. Due to the very close proximity of the Betis (futbol) Stadium, there are great local restaurants sprinkled closely nearby if you feel like staying close to your bed when dinner ends which is pretty late. Carmen, Irena, and all of the staff are more than courteous, they assist you in the best way possible for a ticket; suggested itinerary; even a special request meal served to us upon returning from a day trip to Cordoba! I've successfully used the Holos bicycles on another visit, but it was just too hot for me and my friend..a 100+F or something crazy. Somehow we managed to do everything..Carmen arranged for us to see the fantastic Rigoletto conducted and artistically directed by Pedro Halffter who is a friend. it was majorly exciting, as we went backstage and were escorted to meet the famous Leo Nucci/Rigoletto. Our friends were so excited it was enchanting! The hotel has recommended different kinds of restaurant/tapas/bars that are local and special. An amazing, real and UNIQUE flamenco.If you want the in town local experience, this is not for you. If you bike, walk,bus,taxi or drive and want to have a "home" base, this is it. It feels like going home at the end of the night!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoutiqueHotelHolos, Propietario at Hotel Holos, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you very much Madelane for your kind comments.
It was a pleasure to have you back at Holos this summer.
It really feels that you have enjoyed your days in Seville.
Hope to have you back again...

Much love,
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Elvira Plaza
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Casas de Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#12 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Las Casas de El Arenal
Monte Carmelo Hotel
#11 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holos

Property: Hotel Holos
Address: 8 Uruguay St | 41012, 41012 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#35 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holos 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting hotel in Seville with just seven romos, where design and confort combine. Located in Heliopolis, which is one of the Seville's quietest and most refined districts. Well located and easy to reach by car, bus, bike... The building has been beautifully restored to its original purpose: a Hotel for the 1929 Iberoamerican Expo. Hotel Holos combines modernity and avant-garde with a singular architectural and decorative restoration of the original building. This hotel is especially for people who look for something different, who enjoy and interesting architectural and decorative environment, a staff that is helpfut and pleasant, a quiet ambience and attention to detail. Cosmopolitan, cultivated people, who appreciate the possibility of privacy and exclusivity, within the charming city of Seville, both for business trips and for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Holos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holos Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing