We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Both "hidden" and "GEM"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Ranked #7 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeside CA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Both "hidden" and "GEM"”
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We visited Spain and Portugal for five weeks, and this, overall, was the best hotel of our trip. I noticed that it has moved up in the TripAdvisor rankings from #6 (in July) to #3 now (November) -- and deservedly so. As mentioned in previous reviews, the free refrigerated bottles of water during the July Andalusian heat were especially welcome, but so were the morning breakfast rolls and coffee. And the courtyard patio and fountain provided a really nice ambiance in which to enjoy both. But the best of all were the desk personnel, especially Jose. He was fun, friendly, fluent in English, and very knowledgeable -- and seemed to work 60 hours a week during the tourist season.

But be warned, this hotel can be a little difficult to find at first The taxi driver can only let you off at the closest plaza (Santa Cruz) and point you in the right direction -- and you can still be within 50 meters of the place and not find it at first. We had to ask several shopkeepers in the area before we found it. However, after a day or so, everything becomes more manageable (especially after scoring a hotel map of the neighborhood) -- and the location IS excellent. The good AC is essential in the Seville summer, and free internet is also a major plus. There is also a very nice Flamenco show within a 3-5 minute walk.

The only thing I might take exception to is the quality of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, especially along the route from the hotel to the Cathedral (we did not try the one at the hotel). We thought that they were all touristy, with underwhelming, overpriced food -- EXCEPT for an Italian restaurant very close by (which Jose rexcommended) and which we thought was EXCELLENT.

If you are driving, there is an staffed underground car park within a 10 minute (with suitcases) walk. However, finding the hotel from that car park may be fairly difficult if you don't know where the hotel is (I would recommend just asking for directions to Plaza San Cruz first --at the plaza there are a couple of restaurants whose staff should be able to point you in the right direction). On the other hand, once you get to know the area, it's an easy walk back down to the car park, and a pretty easy drive out of town.

Although I hesitate to call this the BEST place to stay in Seville, as I have not stayed in any other, if I were to return, I would look nowhere else. It's a little hard to find, but that's partly due to a major plus -- the ambiance of the neighborhood -- and it is certainly worth it once you're settled in.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SJTCHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    471
    78
    19
    5
See reviews for
224
1,030
85
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in October. What a fantatsic little gem of a hotel - we loved it. The rooms are unique and =the hotel has a gorgoeus little courtyard. The location is awesome and the staff very friendly and helpful. Not to mention the hotel provides a huge amount, free of chrage, water bottles, internet, bikes, a library - you name it - this hotel was amazing and the bigger chains could learn from hotels like this, who often charge through the roof for just 15 mons of internet access. I would stay no where else if I was to return, a fnatatsic hotel, great value, full of character and great staff - and the resturant was great too. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allybear80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

El Rey Moro was our favourite hotel of our journey through Andalusia! If we returned to Sevilla, it would be to enjoy this precious place again. The hotel accommodation was amazing and the restaurant delicious. Great location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

This hotel offers so many positive qualities that I hardly know where to begin. The overall service was excellent, from the friendly, English-speaking staff to the breakfast patio with free espresso and steamed milk, cereals, breads, and yogurt, along with eggs and jamon. The hotel even has free wi-fi. If you arrive from Madrid, as we did, you will appreciate the friendliness of the staff even more. In fact, everyone in Sevilla seemed so much friendlier than the people of Madrid (and even Barcelona), where nearly all hotel and restaurant staff seemed unfriendly, unhelpful, and resentful toward tourists. And after being squeezed for every Euro in Madrid (where a piece of bread at a restaurant brings a hefty charge on your bill), finding free coffee and breakfast at El Rey Moro was a pleasant shock. The rooms and the entire hotel also are charming and beautiful. Our room - the Junior Suite - was huge, well-decorated, and comfortable. The only drawback was that it was located above the restaurant's kitchen and outdoor seating area, so noise was a slight problem until about 11:00 pm. If you follow the Spanish dinner schedule and eat late, however, it will be quiet enough when you go to bed. You also should be aware of some street noise early in the morning, but it did not detract from our enjoyment of this lovely hotel and room. The hotel itself has two inner patios, one containing the small restaurant and the other the peaceful breakfast area and a fountain, and both are decorated with colorful tilework and small tables for lingering over your cafe con leche. Finally, the location couldn't be better - easy walking distance from the cathedral and the Alcazar; in a pretty medieval neighborhood (Santa Cruz) of winding, cobblestone streets; and surrounded by tapas bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TripBlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in (and I have stayed at many). The location was great, within walking distance to almost everything. The staff was fantastic! Unlike the large hotels, the front desk will personally help you with everything.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacationtraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I loved the feeling of personalized care that we received at El Rey Moro. All staff members, from the front desk to the kitchen staff, to maintenance personnel were attentive, kind, and efficient. The hotel's rooms are organized around a lovely dining courtyard, and we loved that there was a free coffee/tea/snack bar available 24/7. We'd definitely return to Sevilla, and one of the main reasons is this home-away-from-home hotel. Travel with as little luggage as possible, though, as streets leading to the hotel--and most Sevilla hotels--are historially narrow.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestCoastFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

we booked this hotel for 5 nights to use Sevilla as a base for exploring Andalucia. We arrived for check in and there were several couples waiting to do the same. We decided to leave for lunch and when we returned we were offered the only "superior double" [the room category we booked] that was left. It was large and charming but overlooked the courtyard of the hotel's restaurant. It was lunchtime and it was noisy. We were told that the hotel was full and that we could either stay there or move to one of the "single rooms" which had the same queen size bed as the others but was very small. My huband doesn't like packing and unpacking and so we opted to move to the quiet room and stay put. For 5 nights it was really too cramped. Another larger double became available the next day; had we been advised of this we would have stayed put for one night and then moved. The hotel is in the historic district and in a pedestrian only area; we were fine wheeling our luggage the few blocks but some guests would need to know this in advance. On the positive side, the entire place is charming, the staff is as pleasant and helpful as could be, and breakfast, beverages and snacks are available to all 24 hours a day. In addition, computer use and internet service is free. I appreciate this generosity when I travel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 175 in Seville
4,181 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 175 in Seville
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Amadeus
#11 of 175 in Seville
1,952 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#5 of 175 in Seville
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla

Property: El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Address: C/ Reinoso, 8 | Esquina c/ Jamerdana, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Seville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#33 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a delightful area of Seville, in the picturesque and authentic Barrio de Santa Cruz, the hotel is an attractive, converted manor house dating back to the 16th century. The Barrio de Santa Cruz is a charming area of the city with narrow, cobbled streets dotted with orange tree-lines plazas and centrally located within walking distance of many of the major attractions, such as the cathedral and the Alcazar. The hotel has a pleasing traditional patio-courtyard, onto which many of the rooms look out and where you can sit out and enjoy the peaceful ambience. There is also a popular restaurant that serves traditional Andalusian and Mediterranean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Moro Seville
El Rey Moro Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing