We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm in a fabulous city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Ranked #8 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

First time in Seville, and with soaring tempertatures we wondered if we'd be better off staying a bit further out but with a pool. In the end we stuck with the El Rey Moro, and so glad we did. A delightful hotel which felt like an oasis of calm in a scorching hot city. The central courtyard where breakfast is served is open-roofed but with a sun shade to keep you from too much glare, a mosaic water fountain gently tinkling in the background, and birds chirping around to pick at any crumbs on the floor. At night the courtyard is lit by candles. Our room was clean, very pleasant, aircon (not the fiercest but it did the trick). the rooftop jacuzzi is a nice touch, with a great view of the cathedral. Great location, minutes from the cathedral and surrounded by some fantastic tapas bars. Our next stop on our holiday was the very swanky parador in Cadiz, but to be honest I much preferred the boutique delights of the El Rey Moro.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanMeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El-Rey-Moro, Guest Relations Manager at El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear friend,
Thanks for your opinion! Yes, our hotel is very charming, it´s a really oasis in Sevilla
Looking forward to see you soon
Best wishes,
Manuela Sánchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,670)
There are newer reviews for El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 1,670 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this boutique hotel right in the centre of the old town. It takes a while to find, but walking up and down the cobbled streets is half the fun. The hotel is clean with friendly staff and set within a courtyard feature. Beds are very comfortable, and the rooms have strong Wi-Fi and air conditioning.

Each of the rooms has its own unique and interesting styles (we had room 26 - a far eastern look) but this just adds to the hotels charm. Complimentary bottles of cold water are available all a day long. We did not try the breakfast, but it looked fine.

There are plusher places to stay in Seville, however I would recommend this hotel if you want somewhere peaceful with charm.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AKHDiscover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El-Rey-Moro, Guest Relations Manager at El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear friend,
Thanks for your opinion!! We are looking forward to see you soon
Best wishes,
Manuela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful Andalusian hotel for 2 nights.

Beautiful boutique hotel with each room tastefully decorated but different. Loved the pretty courtyard with draping plants from the balcony and little water fountain - such a pleasure to have breakfast there each morning. We had room 26, which was on the top floor in the corner, facing the central courtyard. Not the most spacious room even though it was a supreme double room, but very comfortable and clean, with a modern bathroom. Air con was a lifesaver, as it was 40 degrees outside. Room was quiet - you can hear other guests walking outside but at night there was no issues and we slept like babies.

It's perfectly located in the heart of Barrio Santa Cruz. Taxi had to drop us off about 200m away.It's easy to get lost in the twisting narrow lanes, but it was nice to just wander around and enjoy seeing all the colourful buildings. Its close to the cathedral and alcazar, and plaza Espana takes about 20 min walking.

Friendly English speaking staff. The freebies such as chilled bottles of water, bike hire, 30min spa and wifi were a nice touch, esp the water, but we didn't use the spa or take the bikes. Buffet breakfast was also included as we booked through the hotel website, and included a nice variety of pastries, cold meats, boiled eggs, juice, coffee, yoghurt and fruits. The lady ask if you like bacon and eggs and makes it for you on the spot.

Some great tapas bars nearby - Catalina was a lucky find (cheap and great food); avoid the café Bar Las Teresas just around the corner from the hotel, the most dishonest waiter and food was a rip off. Be sure to check out the opening hours of Cathedral, as it closed really early (around 4) on the first day we were there, and we had already planned a day trip to Cordoba the following day so had to change our plans. Not very easy to get to the Train station except by taxi.

Overall great value hotel in a top location, with true Andalusian characters which really added to our experience in Seville.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor facing courtyard are quiet - supreme double rooms are more spacious.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunl0ver789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El-Rey-Moro, Guest Relations Manager at El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review!! We are looking forward to see you soon in our cozy city
Best wishes,
Manuela Sánchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very unique hotel where all the guest rooms encircle a large center courtyard. The staff said that the building used to be a large apartment complex, which the owner converted into a hotel. Good job! The rooms are stylish and well furnished, and probably the largest of all the places we stayed at in Spain. One small but appreciated bonus: free, chilled bottles of water available all day! We really missed having this convenience later at other hotels.

Breakfast is provided as an option each morning, and although this was offered at all the other hotels we stayed, this is the only one we bought. I think it was because it was the least expensive, and was served in the main courtyard. It’s a very pleasant and relaxing atmosphere with the sounds of the fountain and the open sky above. In other hotels, the dining area was often buried in the basement or in the back of the building. The courtyard also makes for a nice sitting area later in the day, and there is a canopy that is extended to cut down on the heat.

The location of the hotel is fantastic...right in the heart of the Barrio and only a few minutes walk to the Cathedral and Alcazar. The Barrio is a spiderweb of wonderfully old, narrow streets and it was a bit difficult to find the hotel initially. We had walked from the train station (about 20-30 minutes along some very busy streets) and luckily had taken some Google maps screenshots on our phones! At first the Barrio seemed like a maze, but after just a few days we got decently familiar with the streets. The hotel is so well situated that even if you are out by the Cathedral and need to run back to your room for an extra camera battery it is no problem.

The hotel staff was also excellent, addressing any concerns and had some great recommendations for restaurants. We especially enjoyed talking to Manuela and hearing about her recent adventures in the US!

We would certainly recommend this hotel to a friend and would definitely stay here again if we are fortunate enough to return to Seville.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelerfromthe808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El-Rey-Moro, Guest Relations Manager at El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear friend,
Many thanks for your comment!!! I am glad you had a good stay with us and also you enjoyed our city (I enjoyed a lot your country as well!!)
We are looking forward to see you soon :)
Cheers,
Manuela Sánchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the El Rey Moro in Seville, Spain. It is perfectly located in the old town near the cathedral, central to Barrio de Santa Cruz. It is a true boutique hotel, built into an old manor house, but with all the features and comforts of the modern times and a very modern bathroom. We had room 25, and it's an excellent room.

There was access to a beautiful rooftop from where you can see all of the old town including the cathedral. There is an inner courtyard surrounded by the multiple floors of rooms in the old Spanish style where breakfast is served or you can relax.

Chilled bottled water was freely available on every floor in a refrigerator.

The hotel staff is super helpful. When we arrived there were some challenges with the WiFi, but we needed to make a call to coordinate a meeting with my girlfriend's son and daughter who were travelling independently, but were to be in Seville at that time and we had planned on getting together. The hotel was nice enough to allow us to use their desk phone to make what would appear as an overseas call to a roaming US number and reach them, and even provided them directions to our room on arrival.

Room Tip: Other travelers had suggested rooms 25 or 26 among other things. I think I had suggested such a roo...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank proy_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El-Rey-Moro, Guest Relations Manager at El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear friend,
Thanks for your review!! It´s great to know that you enjoyed the hotel
We hope to see you soon in Sevilla!
Best wishes,
Manuela Sánchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of old city. It is an easy walk to the Cathedral and the Alcazar, and literally, over a hundred restaurants and cafes.

We stayed at the jr. suite, and found it to be spacious and clean. However, on the first day the power kept going out, as the circut breaker for the room kept tripping. This was not an issue for the next 2 days of our visit. This room faces 2 of the small streets in the old town, and thus, street noise can be an issue.

Breakfast was OK. Had dinner in the hotel's restaurant one night and it was not very good. With so many eating options nearby, we never came back.

Overall, I found the hotel overpriced. Would consider staying outside the old town for a more reasonable rate on a future visit..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Troy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El-Rey-Moro, Guest Relations Manager at El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear friend,
Thanks for your opion. We apologize for any issue in your room, for next time if you need a quieter room let us know. We hope to see you again in Sevilla!
Best regards,
Manuela Sánchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful few days in Seville, staying at El Rey Moro. We were a family of 7 adults, including my 86 year old grandmother and the hotel suited us perfectly. The courtyard setting is beautiful for breakfast, the reception staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the location, excellent. Seville is a walking city, very easy to get around. El Rey Moro is in a great spot for exploring, has many great bars/restaurants very close by and the small alleyways you walk to reach it, are quaint and very Seville.

I had researched the rooms from the pictures on their website and made my requests when booking. All were granted. They were very well decorated, in bright colours and all had a table and chairs outside your door, which for those overlooking the courtyard provided a nice spot to sit and read.

The complimentary bottles of cold water were a welcome treat after a days walking in the hot Seville sun and the breakfast provides plenty of choice - the cinnamon ring doughnuts are yummy! The roof top jacuzzi provides relaxation overlooking the rooftops of Seville and is under cover from the sun.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Seville and especially at El Rey Moro and couldn't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 25/26, 2nd flr looking into the courtyard and room 15, 1st flr looking into court...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El-Rey-Moro, Guest Relations Manager at El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear friend,
Thank you very much for your review! We hope to see you soon in Sevilla!
Best wishes,
Manuela Sánchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,395 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 177 in Seville
2,123 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Amadeus
#11 of 177 in Seville
1,982 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla

Address: C/ Reinoso, 8 | Esquina c/ Jamerdana, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Seville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#33 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $103 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a delightful area of Seville, in the picturesque and authentic Barrio de Santa Cruz, the hotel is an attractive, converted manor house dating back to the 16th century. The Barrio de Santa Cruz is a charming area of the city with narrow, cobbled streets dotted with orange tree-lines plazas and centrally located within walking distance of many of the major attractions, such as the cathedral and the Alcazar. The hotel has a pleasing traditional patio-courtyard, onto which many of the rooms look out and where you can sit out and enjoy the peaceful ambience. There is also a popular restaurant that serves traditional Andalusian and Mediterranean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Moro Seville
El Rey Moro Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing