We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local food.”
Review of Modesto

Modesto
Ranked #900 of 2,836 Restaurants in Seville
Price range: $0 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The downstairs seating area looks like a low-priced café. Upstairs is a more ornate dining room. A window table for views of the street life is recommended. The waiter helpfully advised on the wine. We had an excellent meal and it is good value. There was just the slight feeling that the waiter preferred clients to speak Spanish, but really, I can't fault the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlandeWalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Modesto, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Customer

It gives us great pleasure to receive comments like yours and we recommend publicly.
Thank you very much for the time you've spent in contributing their views.

Best regards from Seville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 95 of 594 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

The food is not the justification for the modesty. The food is quite good -- fried, eat-everything red mullets, the usual jamon de bellota, pimientos de padron. The problem was the waiter. I am old enough to be an unembarrassed tourist, but it has been a long time since I have been treated so disdainfully, as though tourists are a lower order of creature. The waiter walked away before we had finished ordering, cleared plates before we had finished eating, brought not a wine list but a single glass of poor red wine and then seemed taken aback by the suggestion that my wife might also like something to drink. My reaction was not self-consciousness about my less-than-fluent Spanish, but rather the thought, "Que jerko profundo," and an ardent desire to save other tourists from having to undergo this treatment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel d, Gerente at Modesto, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear client:

First of all, we apologize about this. Is not usual the situation that you are telling to us, in fact, the satisfaction scale of our clients, Spanish and foreigner, is very high.

We would like, if you believe it convenient, to have more information about this terrible event: Day of the week when it happened; was a dinner or a lunch?; which payment method did you use?; how much was the receipt total amount?; distinctive features from de waiter that assisted you… all this in order to try to figure out what could happens. You can send this information to emarketing@modestorestaurantes.com

We are at your complete disposal.


Best regards,


Modesto Restaurants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We went twice and had two excellent tapas meals. Excellent value at Euros 50 for two including wine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Modesto, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Customer
It gives us great satisfaction to know that on the two occasions that our restaurant was to was to his liking.
We are proud to know that you felt right price in relation to quality
Greetings from Sevilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Anchovies, paella for two; wine, sangria, caramel flan. Good meal, for about $50 euros. Service. Ok.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank avmh5angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Modesto, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Customer

It gives us great pleasure to receive feedback like yours.
Thank you very much for the time you've spent in contributing their views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

In a nutshell, good food, arrogant waiter. I suspect that the source of his annoyance was that we requested a fixed price menu and ordered from it in the upstairs dining room. It is not uncommon for me to return to the same restaurant when the food is good, but this is not a restaurant I would choose to go back to again, even for very well prepared food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel d, Propietario at Modesto, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Sir:
Thank you very much for expressing your opinion. We're glad you liked the food.
You can be sure that we have no problem in offering the menu, many customers ask for it.
Regards,
Manuel del Toro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modesto also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Modesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing