We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful flamenco - go!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Carboneria

La Carboneria
Ranked #1 of 232 Nightlife in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful flamenco - go!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We got here at around 10pm at the recommendation of the owner of our apartment. We got seats and drinks (slightly more expensive than other bars, but still very reasonable) and waited for the flamenco to start. The atmosphere was electric and the place was packed to the rafters. The guitarist and dancer were wonderful. It felt raw and authentic - a must do when in Seville!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank setaylor175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    390
    111
    40
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good flamenco, bad tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Tis is a teeny tiny place and we walked by it twice before seeing the sign. We went with a few friends at one of their suggestions. Having been to an excellent show in Sevilla before (Quinetro Alvarez), I was looking forward to more of a flamenco bar experience. Drinks were reasonable- not as inexpensive as some other places, but still less than any drink we can get in NYC! We should have had some tapas on the way over, because we were quite hungry. We arrived around 10 for the 10:30 show and got a seat on the floor level. Ordered some drinks and tapas. Br is in the front, food order station is in the back near the bathrooms. The drinks were fine. The food though was not worth the money. The flamenco show was excellent- a completely different experience than where we had seen flamenco before. So my recommendation? Go, drink, maybe order one food item and go somewhere else for dinner!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank IrishAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Free flamenco!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I am living in Seville for 3months and want to experience things that aren't commercial and touristy.
My flat mate told me about this place and gave us the address, but we actually walked past it at first not thinking much of it because its quite hidden.

When we first arrived we got there for the end of the first show and it was pretty busy, so I'd definitely recommend getting there for before it starts (around 10pm) to get a good seat.
It's a free show and all they ask is that you buy a drink, the drinks aren't as cheap as your normal bars and tapas restaurants but not too bad considering the show is free.

I'll definitely be visiting again so I can get a better seat to watch it.

Helpful?
1 Thank ilovetravelling24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire uk.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun Night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a good place to visit and it is free to enter. The price of the Drinks are a little high but you get free show. It is a hard to find but it is well worth it as the flamenco is authentic.Tourists and locals mix well. I have been 4 times and every time I have see different acts.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank oldbackpacker1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Touristic but authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I revisited Carboneria 6 years after my first time there. Although now the sitting area has overtaken the tablao, it remains one of the best and cheapest places to watch passionate, gypsy Flamenco this side of the river. First show starts about 10.30 so you better be there before 10 to get a good seat. Stay for the second show and, if you´re lucky you might even get some after-show singing and dancing by the locals which frequent the place especially at weekends.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank zoilogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carboneria also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to La Carboneria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing