We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A completely romantic experience”
Review of Corral del Rey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corral del Rey
Ranked #2 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A completely romantic experience”
Reviewed September 3, 2009

I have lived in Seville for a year and i have never seen or stayed anywhere as gorgeous as Corral del Rey - it is private, a slick operation, romantic and totally delicious. Don't miss the home made granola topped with fresh fruit. The staff are friendly and the whole place compliments Seville.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinnieDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    97
    20
    9
    2
See reviews for
108
389
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ACTempleton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

My boyfriend took me for a romantic weekend getaway to this stunning 17th century converted palace. The hotel is romance epitomised, the attention to detail is impeccable, had it not been located in the heart of the old town, I think we may have never left our room!

The staff were wonderful, and we were able to organise all our activities through the hotel removing any stress from our trip. The beautiful roof terrace has a fantastic plunge pool to cool off after a day siteseeing.

Big thumbs up, I cannot wait to go to the sister hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACTempleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Another great find. Having stayed at the sister hotel, The Hacienda de San Rafael we stayed at the Corral for a few nights before returning home. This is quite a new hotel and as such all the rooms and amenities were immaculate. This is a perfect little hideaway in a fantastic city, taking a dip in the rooftop pool was an ideal way to cool down in the hot Seville sun.

The style and design of the hotel are really second to none and there is a sophisticated feel to it without being pretentious. This is helped by the friendly staff who were able to help us get the most out of the city as well as organising transport for us.

All in all our stay was highly recommended and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdoPanizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Sister property to the Hacienda de San Rafael, Corral del Rey is another gem. Fairly recently opened, it beautifully fills a gap in the Sevillian hotel scene . We've long awaited it's opening as there is nothing else quite like it in Seville and it fulfills all one's needs for a city hotel.

Located in the heart of the old town and it's maze of narrow streets, just getting here is an adventure and you feel like you are in the Marrakech souk, some of the surrounding streets are so narrow. Once inside it's like an oasis of calm, contemporary style and sophistication. The bedrooms are spread over several floors and exceptional pieces of artwork line the walls from top to toe and in the bedrooms. These are small but who needs a large bedroom in a city like Seville where you are outside exploring all day long and then dining on delicious Spanish food late into the night. The rooms are state of the art and done up with great flair, taste and style and have every comfort one could wish for. They have used the space brilliantly and, although the views are not great, this is not the place to come if you want to spend time looking out of your bedroom window.

The downstairs sitting area / lounge / lobby is wifi'ed up and has deep, comfortable sofas and is an excellent meeting place which is conducive to chat. Beautiful artefacts are scattered around and ther is no real reception which makes it all the more informal and relaxed and like a home away from home. The friendly staff are just there and quietly, almost miraculously, appear exactly when needed. The bar is modern and well staffed and serves snacks to order. Being in Sevlle where most people eat out, there's no need for a full fledged restaurant here but breakfast is served in your room and it's delicious!

The owning family have spent years restoring this beautiful old building what they have achieved, against all the odds and batting with bureaucracy, is quite stunning. It is a credit to them that this little hotel is flourishing so early in its young life and Corral del Rey has already become a byword for comfort, elegance, discretion and intimacy in Seville.

For anyone hwo doesn't like 'hotels' this is perfect and you will fall in love with it. It could not be a better base for discovering this incredible city.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahout_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We opted to stay in this hotel after reading these reviews and expected far more from the hotel after paying over 300 Euros. The room was very small and there was no help with finding somewhere to park (the car park they recommended was full and all they said we "needed to drive around and find somewhere else". This was very stressful and the parking cost us over £50 for 3 days. Location was convenient but we just thought this hotel was grossly over priced and would expected to be staying in luxury for the price we paid. $150 Euro would be more reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pharryLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

After reading the reviews of the hotel and booking on this basis I was actually quite dissapointed. However after having seen the 1970s decor and style of the other hotels in Seville, I would give this 4 stars as its perfectly nice and probably the best place in Seville to stay - but i dont think thats saying a lot. I found the hotel to be quite dark on a small ally and chose the smallest room category. It was 300 euros a night - and the room was next to the elevator (the smallest category are) and was 25 square meters. It had 2 windows with no outward view, so i felt like i was staying in a bit of a pit. The room was finely decorated with flat screen tv, nice linens and nice bathroom, but it was tiny. There were really nice communal parts of hotel - a small roof terrace and resturaunt which we never saw anyone in (and i think is really for breakfast only), and the building was narrow and dark. Also when we asked them for directions to their other hotel, hacienda san rafael, all i got was a print out of directions from the airport...given we were not at airport this was unhelpful - so i didnt find the service fantastic either. I just thought you didnt get much for amount spent.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Agree with most comments, stayed here for my 30th birthday in May. They left me a birthday card and free bottle of Moet which was very sweet.

Pros:
Location, 5 mins from Cathedral
Integrated iPod sound system
Absolute top end quality of the rooms/bathrooms/general comfort
Polite and attentive front of house staff
Alan Partridge DVDs kept behind desk at main reception plus loads of other UK comedy and general film - saw this on departure, and naturally, one doesn't spend one's holidays watching comedies one has at home, but it made me happy seeing them sat there!

Cons:
Difficult to find, it's not No 12, it's No 10. There is no No 12 on Corral Del Rey, and we had to buzz for ages before someone came to let us in.
No restaurant and the bar was always empty.
You have to leave your car in an underground public car park a 20 min walk away.
It really is just a glorified B&B, as lovely as the comfy bed and soft towels are, it's pretty steep for what it is. At the prices they charge, you'd sort of expect a few more hotel-like bonuses.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bramall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 176 in Seville
2,021 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 176 in Seville
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 176 in Seville
4,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corral del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corral del Rey

Property: Corral del Rey
Address: Calle Corral del Rey 12, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#3 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Corral del Rey 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corral del Rey is located in the heart of Seville, in the old quarter of Barrio Alfalfa five minutes walk from the Cathedral. The original 17th Century Casa Palacio has been meticulously restored and converted into a small private luxury hotel, offering chic accommodation with a vibrant bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Corral del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corral Del Rey Seville
Corral Del Rey Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing