We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to Walk Around”
Review of Triana

Triana
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.90*
and up
Tapas Guided Tour in Triana Seville
More Info
$119.85*
and up
Triana Gourmet Tapas Tour in Seville
More Info
$29.96*
and up
Seville Bike Tour with Full Day Bike Rental
Ranked #19 of 289 things to do in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: For a more authentic and decidedly less well-scrubbed experience, it’s worth crossing the river to explore this scruffy but vibrant old quarter, historically the centre of azulejo, or glazed-tile production. There are plenty of tapas bars for sustenance to sustain your ceramic shopping, and it’s fun to seek out the surviving corrales. These tiny buildings with flower-smothered courtyards once housed extended the gypsy families from which emerged Spain’s greatest flamenco dynasties.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice to Walk Around”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

There's cafes and shops which have a different atmosphere than the other side of the river. The market is a good place to buy fruit and vegetables, as well as meat and fish. If you're looking for ceramics shops, this is the place to go. It didn't seem quite as hectic as the main Sevilla centre.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DdKiw2013i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,133
    1,031
    455
    87
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
TEXAS
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A Cultural Experience...Not to be missed”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent the morning shopping for ceramics and scored well with our purchases. We then walking through Triana, soaking in everything we could from the building and people there. Loved it! We finished with a really yummy lunch of baby bull burgers at Cerveceria Marisqueria Al Socaire. The Triana Market was a must for us and we were not disappointed. If you want to truly experience Seville, you must visit the Triana neighborhood.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank VALENTINELADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A Gem in Seville”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Triana is situated along the Guadalquivir River and is definitely worth visiting, especially at night! This area has a strong identity which I witnessed during a religious procession where the locals could be heard enthusiastically chanting their neighborhood song. There are less tourists here than in the central area of Seville, which truly creates for an authentic experience. This neighborhood is best known for their high-quality ceramics and pottery. I would avoid visiting during siesta times as the majority of businesses tend to be closed. I recommend Calle San Jancito for shoe-shopping, as well as for visiting small cafes and typical Andalusian restaurants. If you are into the nightlife scene, Calle Betis, the street right along the waterfront, is the place to go. The mercado de Triana (situated next to the Triana bridge) is also worth exploring as you can find reasonably meals, as well as Spanish delicacies (such as ham) to bring with you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mercedesandreina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
3,585 reviews
3,183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,138 helpful votes
“An Interesting Neighborhood”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Triana is a very interesting neighborhood and looks very traditionally Andalusian. My wife and I are very interested in seeing the traditional ceramics made in Seville and this is the barrio where we can see these ceramics. There are all sorts of decorated tiles, jars, and other items that tourists can buy. These make very good souvenirs.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katwijk, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“not much in daytime”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

But the do have a nice market just over the bridge.
We didn't go in the vening , but next time we visit Seville it's on the agenda

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank acdourlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triana also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Triana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing