We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of credit card charges” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ribera de Triana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ribera de Triana Hotel
Ranked #51 of 179 Hotels in Seville
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beware of credit card charges”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Good quality hotel - well situated, nice room, quiet and a good breakfast. The reception desk could have been a bit more friendly but they were efficient.

HOWEVER, when it came to checking out, they told me that there was an extra 32 euros for parking, which I was expecting as it had been clearly stated. They charged my credit card as usual and then gave me the receipt in a nice envelope. When I eventually opened the envelope later, the receipt stated that I had been charged in pounds sterling at their rate of exchange with a 2% mark-up!

The receipt states: "I accept that I have been offered a choice of currencies for paying and that this choice is final. I accept the conversion rate, the final amount and that the selected currency is GBP". This was NOT TRUE - I was NOT asked if I wanted the bill in euros or sterling. I have a card that does not charge anything for conversion from euros and I want to be charged in euros.

In this case the bill was small (as I had paid for the room through Travel Republic in advance) and the extra not very much, but on a 400 euro bill it would be significant. I think that this is a sneaky and underhand way for a 4-star hotel to get more money!!

It's a shame - they would have a much higher rating otherwise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amador R, General Manager at Ribera de Triana Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Brian964,

Thank you for your feedback and for stating the good quality of our hotel.

I’m very sorry to read that you felt overcharged although I’m pretty sure there has been a misunderstanding. Allowing payments in foreign currencies is a courtesy we provide to our guests and is completely voluntary. For this very specific reason we make sure 100% that clients are never overcharged. On the contrary, depending on client’s bank, billing is some or lower amount than in euros: you save the exchange tax. Again in any case the guest pays more and if ever a mistake (which is not the case now) happens in my hotel is in good faith.

If you want to contact me directly please do not hesitate to call at the hotel (+34 954 26 80 00) and ask for me. I’ll be very happy to personally explain you the misunderstanding we had.

Look forward to hear from you and to welcome back in Seville,

Amador Recio Crespo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    393
    144
    27
    12
See reviews for
140
384
20
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienne, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Negative: No possibility to choose between Double bed or twin on the web site. We discovered when we came, a double bed and view on the road(a bite noisy). We asked for a double bed but the reception said "we have just few double bed". We finally had a double bed in a smoker bedroom at 1 floor(the smell was ok) with a air conditioning without fresh air. They finally repaired it for the second night.
Swimming pool really small.
People not really friendly, no smile.

Positive: Really near the old center.
Bar on the roof open until 3h But not owned by the hotel (don't forget your money)

Room Tip: Ask double bed if your are in couple and view not on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amador R, General Manager at Ribera de Triana Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Djolf,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I’m sorry if the room we provided you with wasn’t 100% of your taste. Should you decide to come to Seville and stay at our hotel please just drop us a line a call at the moment of the reservation. We will make sure the best room with double bed will be available for you.

Best regards,

Amador Recio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I am a regular visitor to Seville and tend to stay in the west of the city. This was my first stay at Ribera de Triana and I was impressed. It's easily accessed by public transport as it's very near to the final stop (Plaza de Armas Bus Station) on the bus route from the airport.

Check in was hassle free. Public areas in the hotel are impressive. A large atrium runs from the basement to roof level and this gives a real sense of space.

My room was quite large with a king size bed and modern furnishing. Wifi was free.

The Triana neighbourhood where the hotel is located is about 20 minutes walk from the centre of the city. There are lots of bars and restaurants in Triana and the area is less touristy than the centre of town.

I did not take breakfast or other meals at the hotel, so can't comment on food.

I can see myself staying here on my next visit to Seville. It's a better option than the nearby NH Plaza de Armas

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrevD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amador R, General Manager at Ribera de Triana Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear TrevD,

Thank you for the positive feedback. I’m happy to read you are considering to come back at Ribera de Triana. Look forward to welcome you.

Best regards,

Amador Recio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our recent visit to Seville. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful on checkin and throughout our stay I parked my car in the underground car park for a daily charge of 16 euro. Let me add that this is not an exercise for the fainthearted as it's quite narrow and the exit involves a hill start while you await the gate to be opened!

Our room was a good size, nicely decorated and clean and the twin beds were very comfortable with storage space underneath for our overnight cases. The bathroom was also very clean with ample towels and toiletries. We were easily able to control the room temperature with the air-con thermostat.

Our room rate included a buffet breakfast which included hot food (eggs, bacon, sausages) and a good variety of cereals, cheeses, cold meats, bread, cakes etc. I have to mention that one of the waitresses was a bit sullen while clearing our table but possibly it was the early hour that didn't suit her!

The hotel is about a 20/25 minute walk from the old town center and we also found that the green tour bus had a stop right outside which will eventually deliver you to it's terminus near the maritime museum along the river which is then close to the center.

We would definitely stay there again if the need arose.

Room Tip: We had a standard room on the first near the side alley and it was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sconlon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amador R, General Manager at Ribera de Triana Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear sconlon11,

Thank you very much for such a good and detailed feedback. Great to know that the room was of your taste and you liked the facilities.

Look forward to welcome you back at Ribera de Triana.

Best regards,

Amador Recio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Good value for a great location. It is on hop on hop off bus although I don’t recommend that. It does give you the facility to get into the city easily. However a 10 minute walk gets you over the river. Varied restaurants, bars and wonderful food market all in walking distance.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnnetteinSpain2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amador R, General Manager at Ribera de Triana Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear AnnetteinSpain2013,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

Best regards,

Amador Recio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel was about a 10 minute walk to the heart of Sevilla. Overall we enjoyed our stay. It was an extremely good value and we had a lovely view of the river from our room. The room was cleaned, well maintained, and had a great bathroom. A few things I'd like to mention: the air conditioning unit literally sounded like there was someone vacuuming next door - so much so that when we first arrived I made the comment to my husband that they're really vacuuming a lot! Then we realized that it was the air conditioning unit making all of the noise. It was quite annoying, although it did not keep me up at night. Also, I was a little disappointed when we got to Spain and realized that our outlet adapters were not compatible in Spain. When we arrived in Sevilla, I asked the front desk staff if they had one that we could use. They did not. I felt like this was something that they should have readily available! So I was a little disappointed in that. But we were able to find one around the corner at a hardware store for a little over 1 euro. Problem solved.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. I would definitely stay again, especially because it is such good quality for the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amador R, General Manager at Ribera de Triana Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Sarah D,

I really liked your title “Great quiet hotel minutes from Sevilla” . It is great to know that you are willing to come back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Amador Recio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed in May, weather fab, the hotel was lovely in a very nice location by the river. Our room was very nice,comfortable and immaculate. There was no kettle in the room but I always have a travel one. Reception was helpful and professional. The pool is very small,but what a setting on the roof with a lovely view of the river. The bar on the roof was lovely for relaxing, very modern. Triana is a very nice location and has a very local feel even though you are only a ten minute walk into the centre. I was very pleased with our choice as I was worried that I should have stayed in the centre for convenience. The air conditioning was very good. There are three cafe bars opposite the hotel for a very reasonable breakfast and drinks in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dinny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amador R, General Manager at Ribera de Triana Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Dinny F,

Great you a “great weekend break” in Seville and at our hotel. Indeed Triana is an incredible neighborhood, part of the essence of Seville.

Look forward to welcome you back in Seville.

Best regards

Amador Recio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Monte Triana Hotel
#16 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Casco Antiguo
NH Sevilla Plaza de Armas
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#11 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Sevilla
#27 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,784 reviews
Ayre Hotel Sevilla
#35 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ribera de Triana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribera de Triana Hotel

Property: Ribera de Triana Hotel
Address: Plaza Chapina s/n, 41010 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seville
#22 Business Hotel in Seville
#27 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#54 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ribera de Triana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Day-light function rooms for up to 275 pers. (Theatre style) and 3,5 mts high. Restaurant, Piano-Bar, superior rooms with panoramic views to the city and non-smoking rooms. Gym, jacuzzi, turkish bath, solarium, outdoor pool and garage. Great location in the well known city quarter 'Barrio de Triana', facing the river Guadalquivir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ribera de Triana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Triana Seville
Hotel Abba Triana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing