We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coveniently located, small but clean hostal”
Review of Hostal Museo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Museo
Ranked #49 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Seville
Reviewed October 18, 2009

This Hostal was better than our expectation we stayed here for two nights, a short walk from the bus station across the freeway and a 15min walk to the cathedral. This hotel is located in a maze of typical Seville streets off the courtyard from the Museum. Area has plenty of dining options which make up for absence of them at the hotel.

Hotel is small but clean, good shower well maintained bathrooms and clean linen was provided. Since the alleway is very narrow, there is less traffic on the street outside hence it is pretty quite.

To sum it up at the price we paid (approx 45 Euros) we could not a have found a better place in Seville everything is a short walk from the Bull Ring to the Cathedral and Alcazar palace. We would stay here again on our next visit to Seville.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_moleMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 137 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights. Rooms are clean but basic. The first night was extremely noisy. We asked for another room and fortunately it was no problem to get a room on the 3rd floor (much better). No breakfast. 15 minutes walk to the city centre. Some nice tapas bars nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank catofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights in October. Can be a little difficult to find if your driving. But, I'd say that applies to most places in central Seville. Situated on a quite street within easy walking access to the centre. Plenty of bars, restaurants shops close by. Between 2 couples we stayed in rooms 1 and 2 on the ground floor, spotless clean, bring a bar of soap, was none there. If you're in room 1, you will diffinitely be woken up by the occasional car passing by in the early hours. So, if you can get a room upstairs. When you come out of the doorway turn left and then the first right you'll be on a quite enough street with some cheap cafes and restaurants. We used these as our last stop on the way back from the centre. When you come out of the doorway turn right and then left walk straight ahead you'll end up in the centre a few short minutes. Seville is a walking city so forget about cars, maybe a small moped if you wanted to. It's great fun just strolling around and getting lost in the maze of streets, you'll discover some great little places on your adventures. If you are driving you'll be parking in the plaza de aramas hotel car park. To get there the hostal is a one way street, continue to the end take a right and continue straight about 2 to 3 hundred yards. It's a big underground car park. Collect your ticket and get in guy at reception of the hostal to stamp it you'll get a small discount. English is limited in the hostal so maybe bring a few words with you or do as I do, hand waving and chicken noises you'll get your message accross. For eating your spoiled, just be wary of places near major sights, I find you can pay way over the odds for sub standard food in big cities. Just go where the locals go, and if something looks expensive just go around the corner or down that little lane that looks like nothing you'll find some great places. For restaurants I went to the tourist info near the main Cathedral and I asked for recommendations, she said she wasn't allowed to give recommendations and handed me a book of restaurants, I was not very please about this. I'm in a new city, I want to find where it's happening for food or entertainment. Anyway so we picked a restaurant from the book she gave to us, although the food was okay. It was way over-priced for what we got. We left the restaurant hungry and found another place down a tiny sidestreet, great food for a quarter of the price. Oh yeah I like food.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

The hostal is really in the city center: 2 mins from restaurants, and shops/malls, and 10 mins from the touristic places to visit.
It is situated in a really small street, that seems calm.
We asked for a double room with one single bed , and therefore were on the ground floor (only 2 rooms with single bed, and both of them are on the ground floor). As it is was really in the entrance of the hostal and quite noisy ( directly on the street) we asked to change room. Hopefully there were no pbl to change. Much better we finally stayed in a quiet room ( in a patio) at the first floor.
Our stay was perfect, no noise before at least 9 am , and the people were nice. The room was very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

The room was not ready when we showed up. It wasn't as centered as I thought it would to the main touristic attractions. It was my 3rd trip in Europe and I must have stayed in more than 30 hostals total. I have never had such a bad experience. It was very noisy at night. The room was clean and had air conditioning as it was supposed to. The staff didn't speak a word of French nor English so it was extremely difficult to communicate evenwith my translating dictionary. The guy working at night was very rude with us, and even though we were always king and polite when asking for information of help, he kept yelling at us. He even refused to call us a taxi while our train was leaving at 6h00 AM on a Sunday and no bus was running. We had to ask the help of someone on the street and walk 5 minutes at dark to a public phone to call the taxi ourselves. Fortunaltely enough, except for this bad experience in the hostal, Seville is a very nice city to visit. I just recommend you to pay a few extra euros and go somewhere elseto stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gen312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

I stayed there for a week. Clean and confortable rooms (but not to big) with air conditioning. Friendly staff. I travelled alone and felt safe there. I would stay there again definitely.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldynis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

Stayed here for Semana Santa 08, mainly because no other options available but it turned out to be an excellent location. room was small but clean and comfortable. staff were friendly. location was safe and crucially during semana santa, it was quiet. It's 2 minutes from the main shopping streets and about 10 or so minutes from the cathedral. There are plenty of local coffee shops and bars nearby which are not overrun with tourists or have tourist prices! Various processions come within quite close proximity if that is what you are after. It's also very close to the bus station - plaza de armas.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonlady100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Petit Palace Canalejas Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla Macarena
#94 of 178 in Seville
2,312 reviews
Le petit Paris
#107 of 178 in Seville
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Sevilla
#54 of 178 in Seville
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Museo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Museo

Address: Abad Gordillo, 17, 41001 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Seville
Price Range: $45 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hostal Museo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Museo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Museo Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing