We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service, but simple rooms.”
Review of Alminar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alminar Hotel
Ranked #18 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent location and service, but simple rooms.”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The staff and assistance offered, was outstanding. The location was really central and easy to explore to city and tourist spots on foot. Just five minutes from the cathedral, restaurants everywhere, and shopping close by. We got the disabled room on the ground floor, which was a good size, but very basic in furnishings. The room had a small tv, safe and bar fridge, which is handy. The room was really clean, but had some minor maintenance issues like phone problems and sink leaking. The room was also quite noisy, with people in the lane ways and we could hear flowing water from every room upstairs using the toilets. The staff did offer to give us a different room for half our stay, but we preferred not to move rooms during our stay. ( the hotel was fully booked during our stay) We would still recommend the hotel to friends but to get an upper room.

Room Tip: Don't stay in rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingsley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    216
    48
    14
    11
See reviews for
107
451
102
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Granada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Had a wonderful stay for one night at this hotel, very clean, great service, and the reception was extremely friendly. Had a nice room with Wifi (very good reception) and slept very well. The manager of the place helped me with so much information in finding things---I was very grateful! I would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed at Alminar hotel during 5 nights in August 2012 with the intention to explore Seville and some more of Andalusia.
Alminar was an excellent choice, perfectly located in the heart of the old city, which allowed me to explore Seville effortlessly, on foot, without having to worry about driving etc.
Talking about driving, I did rent a car for the rest of Andalusia, and the staff of Alminar were very helpful in pointing out to me locations that I could park the car (Alminar does not have a parking facility as it is located in the pedestrianised, traditional part of Seville). This was perfect for me as I could park the car 5 or 10 min away from the hotel (on street parking, no fees to pay).
Finally, I must say that the staff were excellent, very helpful and offering advice on what to do, where to go etc. I have enjoyed Andalusia a lot more thanks to their help.

Overall, i am very happy with Alminar and i would recommend it to anyone who is looking for affordable, safe, centrally located and friendly stay in Seville.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan U.S.A.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Late review. Stayed at Hotel Alminar for second time in 2 years.I prefer its location on a quiet passageway,yet close to tourist sites,restaurants,transportation.This trip was my grandsons first trip to Europe and I wanted him to get the flavor of Andalucia.The hotel is small,rooms are clean and well equipped.The manager Francisco Naranjo and his small staff are very helpful and have many suggestions on what to do and see in Sevilla,as well as what dining spots are frequented by locals and are less touristic. I will probably head back to Seville in the Fall of 2012 and will stay at Alminar once again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Autresejour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2012

On a quiet street in an excellent location near the cathedral and alcazar. Room was modern though the a/c could not keep up on hot August days. Water temperature in the shower varied greatly with frequent bursts of hot water presumably when others in this small hotel drew cold water. It was nice to be on a quiet street though the halls echoed quite a bit when people moved around the hotel. Staff was helpful and friendly. Overall a good hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank k9kasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just spending one night in central old town Seville within easy walk from main sights and shopping streets plus an efficient A/C I wanted a room that did not feel like a bad choice. This 12 bedded hotel suited me 100% with very comfortable single room with great size walk in shower and soft and sleep inducing bed. Plus the fact that it is a few paces from the Cathedral area and in other direction the fascinating shopping streets of Sierpes and adjacent. Icing on the sugar was to be able to slurp a hot drink from the machine in reception when needed. Great. And friendly help. This hotel is good and now want to try the sister hotel down in Vejer de la Frontera called La Botica de Vejer .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadiz_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortes de la Frontera, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The hotel Alminar couldnt be in a better position! Its two minutes to the Cathedral and five minutes to the wonderful Barrio Santa Cruz- an area full of great tapas bars, boutiques and authentic Spanish streetlife! The staff are very welcoming and most informative. they are polite and friendly- nothing is too much trouble. Our room was amazing- with a rooftop terrace, views across the city. The room was cool and spacious. The bathroom clean an well equipped. We had a great night's sleep in lovely comfortable beds. We will be back!!

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have terraces with fabulous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonaskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#13 of 175 in Seville
711 reviews
Hotel Amadeus
#12 of 175 in Seville
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Elvira Plaza
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 175 in Seville
4,279 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Las Casas de El Arenal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alminar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alminar Hotel

Property: Alminar Hotel
Address: Calle Alvarez Quintero 52, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#11 Family Hotel in Seville
#14 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alminar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alminar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alminar Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing