We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed but hotel has potential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla Boutique Hotel
Ranked #23 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed but hotel has potential”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked into this hotel because it was suggested in Frommer's Guide. True it has some nice Arabic decor and furniture pieces but our biggest complaint was the smells in the place. As soon as we entered the building it smelled dirty in the lobby and our room smelled too. It was a frowsy, dirty smell, mixed with incense. It could be that the smells came from from poor ventilation from a nearby kitchen that was using dirty oil in the deep-fryers.

The second issue was the loud sound of dripping water that started around 4 in the morning and went on for two hours so that we couldn't sleep during that time. This occurred BOTH nights we were there. It wasn't a quiet dripping like a tap; it was loud. In fact I got up the second night and walked down the hall to the elevator (10 metres away) and it could be heard from there, so it wasn't a subtle. It seemed to come from behind the wall in our room (the Abam Baso room). Maybe only this room was affected but surely previous guests must've experienced the same thing.

Thirdly, the drain in the unlit shower didn't run away fast enough so you were left standing in an 8-centimeter pool of water by the time you were done.

And lastly, the promised WI-FI service didn't work the 2 times we tried to connect. The first time a young man from the front desk fixed the issue within an hour; the next night they told us it was fixed but we were already asleep; and the next morning when we tried again, it didn't work.

The included breakfast buffet wasn't completely laid out for you. You had to ask for many things which can make it more difficult if you don't speak Spanish (we could). They did accommodate our very early departure the second day which was nice of them.

Although our room was located next to a busy street, the windows did a great job of keeping the noise out. The room was quiet for sleeping.

The location is okay and the 20-minute walk to the cathedral and alcazar is a nice one through a long plaza and then a pedestrian way with some good shops.

Not to sound too negative, the staff were quite friendly and helpful. The hotel just needs a good cleaning, better ventilation, and getting the two water issues fixed. It has a lot of potential. This is our first below-average assessment for a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arne_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rcarrion, Director General at Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guests:

We are very grateful about your comments. They are really constructive and allow us to improve. We are really pleased with them as I can know directly what my guests feel about our services and facilities.
We are very sorry about the smell. It was punctual due to an obstruction in the kitchen extractor. It is already fixed and only soft oriental scents can be smelled right now in Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla.
The sound of dripping water you refer came from a pipe leak from the building beside. We adviced the neighbours and they have already fixed them. Now everything is quiet at our hotel.

Due to your comment we checked the drain at Aben Basó room and as you said, it was a bit slow. Our maintenance Antonio has found the solution (as he always does) and now everything is fine.

Wifi did not work this weekend correctly in the whole district. I suppose it was a problem with the telecommunications company. We made a complain in order not to happen again. Now it works in high speed as it has always done.

Concerning breakfast, we present a nice and plentiful buffet with fresh and good quality food but we have decided that guests could order personally items such as coffee, eggs, etc, so they can have them as they like. Our staff speaks english and french so every guest can manage to order. People appreciate so much to be served personally with the food cooked and the drinks served as they personally like.

We also really appreciate your positive comments, specially concerning our staff. That encourages us to keep serving our guests and even improve.

Finally, I would like you to came in the next future to check that your suggestions have been taken into account and solved.

Thank you very much and hope to see you again.

Rafael Carrión
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    141
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
49
283
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We love this hotel with its flair of thousand and one nights. Located at the beautiful Macarena district it is eminently suited to discover Sevilla, e.g. a taxi trip to the Alcazar is about 10 EUR depending on the traffic. The hotel impresses with its Moorish entrance hall and the mosaic fountain in the breakfast area. Overall the owner paid a lot of attention to each detail of the interior. The personel was very friendly and obliging and provided us with great tips where to eat in the neighborhood. We had a lovely room with a baldachin bed, a ceiling with moorish elements and a beautifully styled bathroom. The hotel's roof terrace with its bar allows for chilling in the later evening. Everything was clean and lovely prepared. If you are travelling by car: the hotel's garage is nearby and invaluable since Sevilla's parking situation is unbearable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatH187291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I've spent a long weekend at this hotel in June with my boyfriend. I can only say positive things about this little Moroccan style gem. The staff was absolutely welcoming and friendly. We found the area amazing. Lots of hidden little restaurants, a weekly vintage market nearby and we loved walking to the centre. Our room was upgraded just because a more spacious one was available! Oh, and we loved coming back to the roof terrace in the hot evenings to enjoy the jacuzzi. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very close to the Santa Justa (Sevilla) train station, costing around €10 each way by taxi. Greeted upon arrival with the great host, Marta. She was very helpful in settling in and questions on tourist places around this historical city. Rooms are fitted to theme and to great effect! Breakfast was included and was enough to satisfy the morning hunger. Very relaxing communal areas. They provide spa services at reasonable prices. Unique hotel and a must experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toastynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Loved the decor of this hotel and the staff was great. The room was comfortable and quiet. Quick walk to the hop on hop off bus and market. My one and only complaint is that the tub doesn't drain when taking a shower so you are quickly standing in a pool of water which to me is not very pleasant. Cost of taxi from the airport was about 30 euros. Small selection for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a tub that drains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmviens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Seville is an unusual city in Spain. And this hotel is an unusual one in Seville. The taxi from the station takes about 7 minutes and as many euros (depending on your luggage). The reception staff, especially Martha, are very pleasant and helpful. The hotel has lovely Moorish touches everywhere. We were there in early July and it wasn't that hot.The room was a good sized one. It was on the street side but was quiet. Breakfast, which was included, was all right. No complaints. There is an easy way to get to the Centro. Walk to your from the hotel (with hotel to the back), till you reach calle Peral. Walk down Peral and you’ll reach the Alameda de Hercules, a nice square buzzing with locals, with families at dinner or breakfast, kids playing soccer etc. (Las Columnas is an excellent place for tapas and beer, cheap and good stuff). Walk to the end of the square, and you’ll reach Plaza del Duque at Centro. Do your shopping, walk around Santa Cruz and the catherdral, check out calle Sierpes, and you can walk back. It takes about 20 minutes, but pleasant. Seville was safe too contrary to what some reports we read. Have fun.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guruprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Unique design moroccan-style; website looks better than in reality, rooms would benefit from a renovation. Breakfast all right. Staff incredibly helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#13 of 175 in Seville
707 reviews
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Casco Antiguo
H10 Corregidor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 175 in Seville
4,181 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Monte Triana Hotel
#15 of 175 in Seville
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla Boutique Hotel

Property: Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Becquer 9, 41002 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#29 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andalusian legacy is still prevalent in Seville. Our hotel, Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla, is located next to the Basilica de la Macarena, which keeps the Virgin Mary of Macarena, in the same house where, according to the legend, the poet king of Seville Al-mutamid hid his impetuous love for the washerwoman Rumaykiyya from his father.To face modern life stress, in our hotel you will find peace, calm, serenity, tranquility, relax and rest for your body… and your soul.We invite you to time travel: go back to the Andalusian period, a time full of colors and emotions when Seville (Isbiliyya) was the cradle of Western and Eastern cultures, arts and scientific knowledge, thanks to the contact and fusion of three different cultures: Jewish, Muslims and Christians.You will be surprised by our colorful and impeccable decoration! But we have a bigger surprise for all of our guests. We are a hotel-boutique and every piece of furniture in the rooms and the hotel is on sale. You can buy pictures, lamps, headboards, canopy beds, chairs, curtains, bathroom fittings… everything you want! We are continuously innovating!A wonderful terrace with a Chill Out Lounge will make you enjoy spring and summer nights as well as you can have lovely sunbathings and freely use our outdoor jacuzzi.And the last surprise!!! The best tapas and andalusian food can be tasted in our restaurant, managed by our famous chef Rosita. She will personally serve you the best tapas you can ever eat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Alcoba del Rey de Sevilla Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcoba Del Rey De Sevilla Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing