We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful building and exceptionally helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casa Imperial
Ranked #67 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful building and exceptionally helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

This beautiful hotel is hidden down one of the old quarters’ numerous tiny, winding streets, about 15 minutes walk from the Cathedral. The many small, shaded courtyards are furnished with comfortable seating and swathed in colourful plants making Casa Imperial something of an oasis during the heat of the day.
Our room was ample, spreading over two floors with the winding staircase continuing upwards to give access to our own private roof area. Whilst the bright turquoise walls of the bedroom did nothing for me the rest of the room, especially the bathroom were excellently decorated and maintained to a high standard.
Hulio, the receptionist with whom we had the most contact was always polite and friendly making us feel welcome from the moment we stepped in from the street. Despite our many questions he continually proved to be helpful going beyond his necessary duties to give us his best possible service.
Breakfast is a buffet with a fairly extensive range foods from breads and cereals to meats and cheeses. The quality of the produce was high and as fast as it was eaten it was restocked by the copious hotel staff.
My only complaints at Casa Imperial were with the wifi which was too weak to reach my room (a problem I have found again and again throughout Spain) and the safe in the room which didn’t work. Reception were however more than happy to safely store my valuables whenever I asked it of them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I_am_de_La_Condamine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaImperial H, Gerente at Hotel Casa Imperial, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Seville. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    140
    46
    30
    15
See reviews for
55
201
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

My family stayed at Hotel Casa Imperial in December of 2013 for 7 days. First impressions were not great and while there is no doubt that the hotel is majestic and has its own charm it is far from its potential and is certainly not worthy of its 4 star rating.
When we first arrived late at night we were greeted by an older gentleman (sandy hair and beard) who was unfriendly and apathetic in his demeanour. He offered no assistance with our heavy bags, despite our room being located at the top of a very steep flight of stairs. Had we not already paid for our stay upfront we most definitely would have checked out and found alternative accommodation. Here is a breakdown of why we were so disappointed with our stay at this hotel:

- No power points in close reach to bed
- Not enough bedside tables
- No lamp next to both sides of bed
- No English Channel tv
- No assistance with bags
- No elevator and no mention of such steep stairs
- Internet very, very slow. Cause of much frustration.
- Bathroom decor was very distasteful and dated
- Very basic breakfast, no hot food offered whatsoever and very minimal range of food to choose from. We arrived at 9.45am one morning (breakfast finishes at 10.30am) and when we asked if we could have some croissants or bread we were told that we had arrived too late and missed out. We felt pretty ripped off considering we had already paid per person every day.
- Bathroom floods every time you shower
- Kitchen completely empty of any utensils, cooking equipment or kettle
- If someone flushes the toilet or turns on a tap when you are showering, the shower temperature becomes boiling hot
- Dusty curtains in rooms
- Peacock poo on walkways
- Dim lighting in rooms
- Mould on shower curtain
- Dust gathered on bathroom ceiling
- Hair dryer doesn't reach the mirror in bathroom
- No room service, when we asked for some hot water the older man that works on reception said it wasn't possible and sarcastically said 'well I guess I can microwave water for you'

We are avid travellers and have stayed in many hotels around the world. It's the basic things that really make a difference, and when they aren't met it is really noticeable. This hotel would be fine if you were only paying half the price that they are charging. Our saving grace was that there was a very helpful and friendly gentleman working on reception named Julio, he was most accommodating and it really lifted our spirits. Also, Saluz who worked in the breakfast room was lovely and very obliging.
We believe that you can definitely find a hotel that is better value for your money, and hopefully more welcoming atmosphere on arrival.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaImperial H, Gerente at Hotel Casa Imperial, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
we really regret your unsatisfied stay at Casa Imperial. We try to do our best to provide the best service possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
175 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Only one person working the hotel. He was receptionist ,porter, telephone operator , room service ,answering customers at reception etc .He did his best. The hotel is dated in every aspect. Toilet handle broken in bedroom. Water in tank noise all night. Difficult to know if the shower was clean as even the floor was painted.The 'hardest bed' I have ever been in my life. I am sure a prison bed in North Korea is better. Wifi supposed to work in room and didn't . Our friends left after arrival . As we arrived late we decided to stay. Not a good decision. Never again to return .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biggestjohn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaImperial H, Gerente at Hotel Casa Imperial, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
we really regret your impressions, if your stay had been longer maybe we could have changed them. We try to do our best to make the guest stay confortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel is very traditional and has some beautiful courtyards which give it a Moorish feel. According to the lonely planet, the hotel was formerly an islamic palace so the courtyards are a nice legacy.

The staff are very helpful and gave us a useful map when we checked in.

The hotel is well located - only a few mins walk to Seville's main attractions. It's a little further out than some of the more centrally located hotels, however.

The rooms are very clean and quite spacious. The bathroom however is very odd - the shower was very old and didnt look very clean. It was painted blue and looked worn and in much need of refurbishment! The bathroom was also small and it took a while for hot water to come through the main tap.

We didn't have breakfast but saw the breakfast tables laid out in the courtyard and it looked lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank culture_vulture_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaImperial H, Gerente at Hotel Casa Imperial, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Seville. It would be a pleasure to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anyós, Ordino, Andorra
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Ok, I am told all hotels in Seville are expensive, but this offered really poor value. Shabby and really not up to scratch. We booked a junior suite to give us something special. The staff were very helpful and the courtyard looked so attractive and welcoming. However all the rooms overlook the common walkways with NO privacy. Our suite was dark and claustrophobic. You had to have the shutters closed to get any privacy. There was just two glasses, plates and cutlery in the kitchen so it was a complete waste of time. The bed was clean and comfortable. Just don't use the bathroom. The bath was ancient, dirty and made of rough concrete painted blue with no hot water in the evening! The basin just big enough to clean your teeth. Breakfast was excellent. I am happy for the unusual but I have had better facilities camping!! Average location, parking difficult.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaImperial H, Gerente at Hotel Casa Imperial, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your stay in Seville.

About the location of the rooms, this is an Old Typical andalucian House, all of them are around patios.

We try to do our best to improve our services everyday. We hope to see you back in Seville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in October 2013. It was a really pleasant place to stay and a real taste of Spain. The staff were first class and dealt with us in a very professional manner. Nothing was too much trouble. The double room was comfortable with everything we needed. The ambiance of the hotel is very Moorish with superb decoration. Atmospheric areas to sit and enjoy a drink or breakfast. And free WiFi!! It is well placed and a short walk to most parts of the city. I would happily recommend Casa Imperial as a base for exploring Seville.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireBigpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaImperial H, Gerente at Hotel Casa Imperial, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Seville. It would be a pleasure to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed one night to explore Seville. Wished we could have stayed longer as this hotel is a calm oasis in a busy city. Its only 10minutes walk from the cathedral and great shops. Our room was on the first floor, lots of stairs so no good for disabled, but worth the trek. Don't get me wrong - the stairs are not that strenuous - just lots of stairways spread out across the various courtyards. I loved all the tiling and lovely quiet courtyards. Our room no 16 was like a little flat - large seating area, even had a small kitchen area and fridge! You could get 4 people in the bath - it was huge! over 6ft long! Such a unique quirky place to stay. All then rooms over look a courtyard and has seating outside the room just to sit and chill! The Staff were really helpful and all spoke English, nothing was too much trouble. we didn't eat at the hotel as we were out sightseeing but when we came back in the late evening we enjoyed a few drinks in the courtyards - so peaceful and relaxing after a hard days walking around. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaImperial H, Manager at Hotel Casa Imperial, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Seville. We hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Las Casas de la Juderia
#31 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
Petit Palace Santa Cruz
#26 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Abanico Sevilla
#23 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Hotel Amadeus
#12 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Las Casas de El Arenal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Imperial

Property: Hotel Casa Imperial
Address: Imperial 29, 41003 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#39 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Imperial Seville
Casa Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing