We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pension Nuevo Suizo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Duquesa Hotel(Seville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Sevilla(Seville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
31
78
54
32
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
78
54
32
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscereal and toastreception ladycalle sierpescentral locationlocation is greatthe heart of the citystoragesinkcathedral
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 245 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2009

If you are lucky this is a great deal hostel if not it could be a bit nightmare. The only good thing about this hostel is the location and the Italian reception lady.
Details:

I had made two separate bookings first night me and a friend - second night 3 beds. The first room that was allocated to us was good enough but despite the fact that the room already had an extra bed for our third friend the hostel staff insisted on moving us to one floor above the next day. When demanded to see that room we were told it was busy and they'd move our bags later in the day while we were out.
To our horror the room upstairs (no 26) was a terribly small-dark-damp and extremely neglected with three very low bunk beds. Despite all complaints we were stuck with that room as there was no other available options our option was 'to sleep on the street'. We were paying the price of triple private room but were dumped to 6bed (even smaller) prison!!

Apart form the poor management issue above the location is excellent; there is a fantastic Italian lady. She always smiles, she is very very very helpful and goes miles and miles out of her way to help you with whatever you need.

Safety was ok the first night but second morning someone opened the door to our little cellar-like room because there is no option to lock the door from inside.

(All in all try avoiding room number 26 in terras which is described above- you might be alright with a room on second or third floor)

The cleaning lady seemed to be working hard but she cannot be blamed for the run-down state of the building. (problem: water comes out of the showers/taps only drip by drip...!!)

Breakfast is not great (white bread+butter+jam) but there is free tea/coffee served all day long and the coffee is good.

I tried to be as fair as I can- i 'll ask to be compensated for the price difference between the room we stayed and we paid for but it might just be fruitless...

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connector-gv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newadmin, Marketing director at Pension Nuevo Suizo, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2010

Taking our guests comments in to account, we have made some changes in room number 26 as well as other rooms.
We have reduced the number of beds, refurbished the bathroom, doors and windows of the room, installed a new water pump and changes some pipes.
We take our guests comments seriously and try to do the best we can to improve any situation that needs fixing or repairing.
We serve contiental breakfast. It is fresh, unlimited and its FREE.

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Cockroaches in dining room, paint falling from ceiling room, pipes wrapped in duct tape, shower not working: in brief, avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roachhater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newadmin, Marketing director at Pension Nuevo Suizo, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2010

Taking our guests comments in to account, we have worked on the room indicated by the guest and on other rooms in order to solve the problem.
We have painted the ceiling, changed water pipes, shower heads, water pumps and boilers to make water supply stronger and stable.
During summer time we also fumigate the whole hostel weekly.
We take our guests comments seriously and try to do the best we can to improve any situation that needs fixing or repairing.

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

I stayed with a friend in July. Firstly the location is great, very central. despite that, you are far from the noise of the crowd. rooms are clean and has basic stuff you might need. Shared bathrooms were always clean as well. The breakfast was ok - compared to the spanish breakfast concept. It exceeded my expectations for the price that we paid. The staff was very friendly and was helping with any questions about the city.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zozoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

I was shocked to see negative comments, although we did stay in a twin room with ensuite, so can't comment on the dormitories. The price was about right. The sheets and towels were changed every day. The free breakfast was fruit juice, toast and jam basically - but better than nothing. What we really valued was the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, free Internet access and free short calls home. We felt that this place really cared about its customers. And without the air conditioning I don't think we would have survived! Compared with similar-priced hostals I think this was good value for money,

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMJHooton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2009

Objectively, the location of the hostel was decent, and the staff were friendly and helpful. However, this is an all in all TERRIBLE place to stay.

Firstly, the room I stayed in (top floor 'shed' as someone referred to it before, and it is.) was woefully inadequate. The room is small (for six people), and poorly maintained, looking old and shabby. The sizeable toilet window faced out onto the terrace, and was covered by lace curtains; certainly does not make you feel comfortable about showering unless you're into the exhibitionist thing.

Secondly, breakfast and the free drink machine were rather suspect; I wanted some tea and pressed the button for hot water: what came out was clear liquid with black flecks in them. Breakfast did not TASTE bad and was certainly not unsubstantial, but were served on small picnic tables of which there were only 3, which means that if you're here in a group (as i was), either your entire group would not be able to sit down together, or you would feel bad for sitting down and depriving other people of a seat: not nice.

By far the worst of all was that the room was ABSOLUTELY freezing.The air cond doubles as a heater in winter, and it was a very old rickety machine mounted on the wall. The ridiculous thing about that idea coupled with the arrangement of the room was that the air cond blew directly onto one top bunk bed. As HOT AIR RISES, or in this case, stays up, the bottom bunks were absolutely torturous to sleep on. Furthermore the top bunks have no railings, so its a choice between the fear of falling off (which some like me might have) or freezing mad cold. I felt very unwell the next day, and asked for a heater (as I had the bad luck of staying here for two days) to be placed in the room. While that was done, the plug on the portable heater had a broken pin, so when i accidentally brushed against it, the plug fell off, and the pin stayed stuck in the socket. Yup, naturally it didnt work. My friends and I had to push the bunk beds together and fit three people onto two top bunk beds.

Some considerations too: the staff are not terribly fluent in English, so that might be problematic, but nothing one can't handle. Security is also slightly dubious; the procedure is to hand your key in to the counter when you leave the room and ask for the key when you return. The problem is that you just have to tell them the room number and they give it to you: someone else very possibly can get away with asking for your room key and entering.

All in all, would not return even if you paid me. Unless its for some Fear Factor-esque program.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank concrete-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newadmin, Marketing director at Pension Nuevo Suizo, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2010

Taking our guests comments in to account, we have made some changes in room number 26 as well as other rooms.
We have reduced the number of beds, refurbished the bathroom, doors and windows of the room, installed a new water pump and changes some pipes.
We also changed some air-conditions and added heaters in room.
We take our guests comments seriously and try to do the best we can to improve any situation that needs fixing or repairing.
We serve continental breakfast. It is fresh, unlimited and its FREE.
All our staff speak fluent English! Some might have a foreign accent, but no communication problems.

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews