We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, helpful staff”
Review of YH Giralda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YH Giralda Hotel
Ranked #117 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We were in Seville twice during our stay (we flew to Morocco and back). Both hotels were nice, but this was better. Perfect location. Very walkable, lots of pedestrian streets, tons of shopping, right around the corner from the cathedral.
The rooms were fine - clean and comfortable. No complaints at all. Good price. The lobby was attractive and the staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gearheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 247 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stood 3 nights in this very centric hotel & it was exactly what I expected:
clean charming rooms,
helpful staff
good price.

They provided city maps to us & shared some very nice restaurant (out of the usual tourists places). One of the lady of the recption is blind, so she will recognize you with your voice (I was the one asking for the key and when my friend asked, she realized she never heard him before). In case, it is her, somehow, make your oral identification possible

I would definitively recommand it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guapaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel is in a fantastic location very close to the cathedral, easy to find if you have a decent map. The hotel is well decorated and all the staff were friendly and helpful and spoke enough English.
The room we stayed in was large with a large window with shutters, air conditioning and a very nice bathroom. Towels and a hairdryer are provided. The room was more basic than the lovely decoration in the entrance and hallway but had a TV (only Spanish channels, but I was expecting this in a Spanish hotel) and the towels and bedding were changed everyday. We stayed on the top floor of the hotel (3rd floor) and slept very well, there was hardly any noise from the hallway and the street.
The only bad thing about the hotel is that the advertised wi-fi is not free, it is 7 euros for 1 hour or 12 euros for 24 hours which I found quite expensive and was not mentioned on any website. It is better to go to the tourist office at Plaza de San Francisco and use the computers there for free.
Overall, I would definitely stay here again due to its fantastic location, friendly staff and good facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicolaJade22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yhgiraldahotel, Gerente at YH Giralda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Dear Sir,

thank you, we really appreciate your review. We would like to Inform you that in other to improve our services, we have already install free WIFI for all our clients, we hope next time you are coming, you could use it.

Best Regards,

YH Giralda Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Started off on the wrong foot. The taxi dropped us off at Hotel Giralda - which we found out was the wrong one (make sure you say YH Giralda, or better yet, have the cab drop you off at the Giralda Tower Square. It's a half block walk away.) So the location is great. The room we had was probably one of the smallest rooms we have ever stayed in (even by Japan standards). Just barely enough space for the bed with a mailbox-sized closet and a small bathroom. All the rooms are off the main stairwell so you hear everyone coming and going. You are also that close to the cathedral - so you won't need to look at your watch to tell the time. Great if you like bells (which we did.) Lots of great restaurants around and for any sites farther away, consider renting one of the handy public bikes that are set-up everywhere in Sevilla. Overall ok. This hotel is a 2-star in every sense.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank reyledda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed at YH Giralda Hotel for 5 nights in September 2011.
We weren't looking for 4 star luxury - just a comfortable place, clean, with a most helpful and friendly staff and an excellent location.
We loved Seville and Giralda gave us the ideal base from which to explore. It is within easy reach of all the main sites resturants etc. So near the Cathederal but so peaceful.
If this is what you're after I would question whether you will find better value anywhere else in Seville!
Steve & Jane Wright, Kilham, East Yorkshire
www.wrightgardening.co.uk

Room Tip: Room with view to the outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This small hotel is in the centre of Seville - only a few minutes walk to the Cathedral. There is a Hotel Giralda nearby so make sure you get the taxi to take you to the right one. The YH Giralda is up a small side street with cafes, restaurants and bars a few minutes walk away. The rooms are small but clean. Some rooms have no external windows, but they do have air-con. I'd avoid ground floor rooms as they are right next to the reception desk and will be noisy. The noise travels a lot as the rooms are based around a central courtyard. The hotel requires one night's charge to be paid on arrival. Rooms have a hairdyer in the bathroom and a tv (but we couldn't get an english channel) but no fridge. Seville is a great city with great attractions, bars and restaurants and this hotel is a great base when on a budget. Try the delicious tinto de verano (red wine with lemonade) drink at any bar or restaurant. The Arab baths are not cheap but are worth a visit for a few hours relaxation out of the heat. If travelling by train (we were flying from Malaga) then book your train ticket in advance as we ended up paying double to get to the airport as the train we had planned to get was fully booked. Seville is a great city and I'd recommend this hotel if you are looking for a basic base for a few nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor - but be aware there isn't a lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 247sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Pros:
Perfect location.
Air conditioning! It was 105 when we were in Seville.
Very Quiet.

Cons:
Staff was OK, some didn't speak English.
No elevator--top floor landing was very hot.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank island_rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hosteria del Laurel
Hosteria del Laurel
#110 of 177 in Seville
52 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Goya
Hotel Goya
#37 of 177 in Seville
504 reviews
Hotel un Patio en Santa Cruz
#114 of 177 in Seville
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Palacio Alcazar
Hotel Palacio Alcazar
#100 of 177 in Seville
297 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#31 of 177 in Seville
745 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YH Giralda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YH Giralda Hotel

Address: Calle Abades 30, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Price Range: $57 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — YH Giralda Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel Giralda Sta. Cruz, an 18th century palace and the former house of the Abbots, is located near the picturesque Santa Cruz neighborhood. Located 350 feet from the cathedral, the hotel is housed in a completely refurbished historical building which preserves the unique and artistic value of the hotel. We offer fourteen soundproof rooms with en-suite bathrooms, supplied with hydromassage showers and hairdryers. All of the accommodations come furthermore equipped with individually-controlled air conditioning systems, a direct dial telephone, television, free Internet access (WI-FI) and heating. Moreover, non-smoking and disabled-accessible rooms are available and additional cots, extra beds and ironing facilities may be provided upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your YH Giralda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yh Giralda Seville
Hotel Yh Giralda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing