We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, central & good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Convento La Gloria
Ranked #100 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very nice little hotel, breakfast a little limited, reception staff wonderful always ready to help. A little hard to find even taxi driver had trouble. Not far from Seville Cathedral But quite a distance to train station. Rooms clean and tidy, but could do with a little refurbishment. To get wi-fi have to sit in reception area not available in bedrooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Convento La Gloria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 306 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have been to this lovelt little hotel before but in february we took some friends. They were as delighted with it as we were. As the name suggests, its a renovated convent, but no nuns cells, i can assure you. Comfortable rooms, if a little small, with ensuite bathrooms and complimentry toiletries. The rooms open out onto inner courtyards where you can sit and read with the sun streaming thru the skylight. The breakfast is in the restaurant that is as old as the convent, its self service with everything you could want. Close to the Cathedral, in narrow streets of the old quarter, which are facinating to explore. We will go again, but maybe we should keep it a secret.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spookyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I had a great experience at this hotel. First of all, you couldn't ask for a better location for sight seeing, just two blocks from the catherdral and surrounded by great restaurants. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful I had to leave for a very early flight the last day and they made sure to had breakfast ready for me at 4:30 in the morning. The rooms were very comfortable. I'd go back in heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betsy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I agree with other reviewers that the location cannot be beat. Espeically in a city like Seville where there are very narrow streets and a lot of turns and one-ways. (It would be best to not drive. Once we saw what the streets were like we were quite happy we took a cab.) The hotel is located near a slew of restaurants and bars. Right near the Giralda. This hotel is a 1500s converted convent and it totally looks like it is still operational. Tons of art, religious, eerily quiet at times. We had a booking snafu so we ended up in a suite. It was really nice/clean/large! The staff while accomodating us with the booking issue (I am never using booking.com again), really were not friendly, and always looked/acting like their was something else they'd rather do than answer a question. They definitely should have some training on what it is like to be hospitable. The breakfast was great and included in our room rate. Get there on the early side to really have your choice of foods. Not to beat a dead horse but what would take this from a good hotel to a great hotel (like casa 1800) is the staff. If they were more friendly/welcoming and at least pretended like they cared it would go a long way.

Room Tip: If you can afford, and are staying for a few days, a suite is worth it. A lot more space and light.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Convento is quite unique. It is a 1500's convent converted to a hotel and it feels just like that. It is like staying in a musuem with large and plentyiful paintings everywhere. Mosaic walls and staircases add to church atmosphere. It's beautiful inside with a courtyard that has a glass roof providing outdoor lighting. The dinning room is beautiful and the breakfast is terrific-like having breakfast in a musuem. We did not have the Giralda tower view. Our view was a sitting room across a hallway so we really could not open the curtains. But it was clean and the bath was very nice. The room was very nice and it did feel like it could have been a convento room at one time. We were glad we stayed there-it was an experience in itself besides all the other great attractions in Seville. There were several families staying there. The staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: ask for the tower view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cal245_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

What a great location - could not be better - 3 mins walk to the cathedral - steps from loads of restaurants and bars. Booked the room with the wonderful view of the Giralda - so no problems with a dark room and not noisy either - as the hotel is set back up an alley off the road. The bedroom was clean and typically spanish. The public areas of the hotel are very cluttered - lots and lots of pictures and "stuff" - it is a bit overwhelming. Some of it is nice but there is so much of it. The reception staff speak English and are keen to help and give you tips about where to go - everything is on the doorstep. One night while we were there a local was practising his flamenco guitar in the cafe at the front - All in all if I was going to Seville again I would stay here again as the location can not be beaten and all the "stuff" is certainly quirky, certainly not a chain box hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for three nights in this hotel and went there with some trepidation after reading some of the more recent reviews on Trip Advisor. We agree, it is quirky, the decorations are amazing and I was not sure whether I was in a museum or an hotel. Our room was adequte, most of the furniture in the room was rickety and needed some sort of repair, however, the bed was comfortable. The air conditioning worked well enough and the breakfast was also adequate. The front desk staff are a bit frosty and could do with some training around how to make customers feel welcome and valued. There is little warmth and they didn't make any effort to assist with requests. For example, we asked if we could get some hot water and they just said 'no'. This is despite having a restaurant attached to their hotel. We also had to leave very early one moring, before breakast and there was no offer of a sandwich or fruit (which we had offered in another hotel when we had to leave early). This could be a really good hotel; what it needs is a really good customer service ethos and a genuine desire for their guests to really feel welcomed. I would also recommend them considering some shared guest lounge with some tea and coffee making facilities. These things cost very little, are rarely abused, but go a long way to creating a good feel in a hotel. I would also recommend that they fix up some of the furniture in the rooms and try and coordinate some of the furnishings (just a little so as not to detract from its quirky charm).

Room Tip: We had no problems with any noise, we had a room on the second floor towards the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Palacio Alcazar
Hotel Palacio Alcazar
#101 of 177 in Seville
288 reviews
Hotel Maestranza
#110 of 177 in Seville
190 reviews
Casco Antiguo
YH Giralda Hotel
YH Giralda Hotel
#119 of 177 in Seville
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Goya
Hotel Goya
#39 of 177 in Seville
497 reviews
Hotel Europa
#99 of 177 in Seville
288 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#41 of 177 in Seville
1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Convento La Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Convento La Gloria

Address: Calle Argote de Molina 26-28, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Price Range: $87 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Convento La Gloria 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Convento La Gloria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento La Gloria Hotel Seville
Convento La Gloria Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing