We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Annoying room mix-up but otherwise hotel was good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Puerta de Sevilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Puerta de Sevilla
Ranked #73 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Annoying room mix-up but otherwise hotel was good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

There was an unfortunate mix-up at the check-in and I was given a double room instead of single room. When the mistake was uncovered on the first night they made me change room late in the evening. After unpacking it was annoying having to pack and move again.

Otherwise the hotel was fine. Good location so you can walk to pretty much everywhere: cathedral, alcazar, plaza espanya, bullfight ring etc. The double room (which I was in for a short while) was a bit squashy due to funny layout. But it was right at the corner of the building with nice views over the street. My single room was right on top actually have more room due to smaller bed. Both were comfortable and clean. The keys to the door were kind of hard to lock and unlock and you really have to force it.

Hotel would recommend you go to El 3 de oro restaurant next door. Thought that was kind of expensive and average. There are plenty of better places near by.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    332
    80
    24
    12
See reviews for
86
407
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean but very small with uncomfortable bed and pillows. It was a great spot with several very good restaurants right there the downside to that was at about 3 am it was extremely loud with all of the cafés dragging in the tables and chairs for the night.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smsColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC Area
Level Contributor
183 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel is a small, charming establishment in the heart of the old city, walking distance of major attractions including the Alcazar, Sevilla Cathedral, and parks. It is surrounded by restaurants and bars. It is off the main thoroughfares, but still close to transportation; a 10 minute taxi ride to or from Santa Justa rail terminus. And there's a taxi waiting line right in front. Rooms are small but comfortable, with modern en suite baths, good beds, air conditioning, and free WiFi. A relationship with a nearby restaurant provides for a reasonably priced and excellent breakfast. The only real downside (and the reason I didn't make it 5 stars) is the fact that most rooms face a street that is full of late night bars and restaurants. The noise from these establishments may keep light sleepers awake well past midnight.

The staff are very accommodating, both when I called to make reservations (from the USA) and on site once we arrived.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main street (although there aren't many)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdclarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this lovely hotel so close to tapas bars, the old quarter, the cathedral, and the Alcazar. It was perfect for sightseeing and wandering the narrow streets. The fellow who worked the day shift and Mouna who worked the evening shift really made our stay as they were so helpful. I can't thank Mouna enough for helping with our Ryanair reservations and baggage payment. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again.

Room Tip: We had a street facing room with balcony which at first seemed noisy but didn't hear a sound whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trekkingsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice and classical hotel in the middle of the former Jewish quarter of Seville. You just walk out of the hotel and you are in the middle of the tapas bars and close to the Cathedral. In the evening you can hear a lot of people on the terrasses outside, but when you close the windows you won't hear much in your room. From the balconies it is great people watching.
Reception/front desk is very helpful and knowledgable. They help you find your way in the city, rent bicycles, order flamengo tickets or anything else.
The rooms are not big though: it is an inner city hotel so don't expect large rooms. Bathrooms we thought were good.
We were not too much impressed by the breakfast-bar (the hotel doesn't serve breakfast on its own but has some arrangement with a bar close by), but its easy to have breakfast in the city.
The main drag is the location: right in the city, and most of all, just around the corner of 'la vineria de san telmo', the best tapas restaurant in toen. Make sure you make a reservation in the afternoon, because if you arrive in the evening there mostly is a long waiting list!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsworth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a lovely 3-night stay in this unpretentious, character-full hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful, and our room was just right - air con; hefty double-glazing, view onto buzzing cafe-life below (no amplified music, just people enjoying conversation and food), good en-suite, and no noise from other guests. Features like the fountain in the little reception, the small first-floor sitting area and the hotel's roof terrace all add to the ambience and character. The very reasonable rate excluded breakfast and we enjoyed sampling different cafes nearby for our first meal of the day - all of which were good value with nice varied menus.
The location of the hotel meant we were able to fully enjoy all Seville's amazing sights and appreciate the vibrant cafe culture. If I am in Seville again, I will stay here.

Room Tip: Second floor round the corner looking over the cafes, rather than a room over the traffic in the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LogieBaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Comfy room for two nights in a good location close to the alcazar and cathedral. Staff were friendly but seemed keen on selling overpriced flamenco show and city bus tour rather than giving genuine helpful and local advice about the city, which is what we wanted. Only hotel in Spain that made us sign a disclaimer limiting their liability. Perhaps the hotel has had a bad experience before, but it doesn't make you feel welcome. Also, our room was quite noisy, being on the second floor near the elevator. Rooms are not well sound-proofed. These are only small points in what was otherwise an enjoyable stay in seville!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#40 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Hotel Dona Manuela
#85 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Simon Hotel
Simon Hotel
#46 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Goya
Hotel Goya
#37 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Hotel Alcazar
#63 of 179 in Seville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Hotel un Patio en Santa Cruz
#122 of 179 in Seville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta de Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta de Sevilla

Property: Hotel Puerta de Sevilla
Address: Calle Puerta de La Carne 2, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Seville
#35 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#37 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Puerta de Sevilla 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy family hotel in the historic center of Seville "Barrio de Santa Cruz", next to the city's top attractions: Cathedral, Giralda, Real Alcazar, Casa de Pilatos, etc. By the only parking available in 1 km around. Seville-style rooms with a/c, heating, satellite TV (channels in: English, French, German, etc), free wifi internet in all rooms, safe, ironing board, telephone.Friendly and multilingual staff (English, French, Italian, etc). Terrace with views of the Giralda and Murillo Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Puerta de Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta De Sevilla Seville
Puerta De Sevilla Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing