We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location right at Santa Cruz, family style friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Hosteria de Dona Lina
Ranked #136 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location right at Santa Cruz, family style friendly staff”
Reviewed December 29, 2010

This hotel impressed me as a family run friendly hotel. The staffs were very nice and helpful. The room was exactly as what was shown on the photos. Very Seville characteristic Ceramic tiles decorations. I dropped my small umbrella when I left the hotel and a staff picked it up and gave it back to me. This is not a hotel for those with very high expectations or not used to a family style hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SexysuzyWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    54
    47
    12
    16
See reviews for
20
70
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

The location is really great, in the beautiful barrio de santa Cruz. Near the Alcazar, Cathedral and many, many places to eat.
Getting there was tricky, though maybe we got an inept taxi driver. He didn't know the area, ended up dropping us at Plaza santa Cruz, and telling as to walk and ask people. It wasn't bad, since we were actually a couple of blocks away down the maze of streets.
It is a very basic hotel. By basic I mean BASIC. The room was spacious, with the exception of the shower, in which, once inside, you could not turn. very interesting... Also, our room would get all the noise from the kitchen, so the banging of pots and pans and the loud staff can be annoying.
This is my fault, because we didn't check, but the rooms don't have TV. It was good to some extent, because I cought up on much needed sleep.
It was cheap, so you get what you pay for. But compared to places in Madrid, Barcelona and Granada, which were not much more expensive, this place was not up to par.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HullyChully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

This typically andalusian hostaria had a very comfortable and spacious room, the restaurant outside in the plaza was also good quality. We were especially pleased about the location, really easy to get around and see the main sites.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gferr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,700 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

For me, this had two great advantages: the price (it’s incredibly cheap, anyway in December) and its position, close to the cathedral and the entrance to the Real Alcazar. Otherwise, it isn’t luxurious but it’s adequate. Service OK. Breakfast is a bit Spartan. Apart from that I didn’t eat there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2010

The best things about La Hosteria de Dona Lina are its location and its cheap price. It is very close to the cathedral and the real alcazar. If you are young and single this is a great place for you. If you are married and traveling with kid(s), I would not stay here. The staff (all men) were not really that helpful and seemed to be bored. Maybe that is because the restaurant is usually empty compared to other places in the Barrio de Santa Cruz.. We ate dinner one night at the restaurant. I ordered the menu of the day special for 14 euros. When I received the check (La cuenta, por favor), I was double charged for my dinner. The waiter corrected it, but with only 2 other tables being served in the whole place how could you make that mistake??? Our room was on the small side but clean. The shower was so small that you literally could not bend over without hitting your head on the wall. So much for being 6 foot tall. The room we stayed in was located on the 2nd floor above the kitchen area in the restaurant below. At 2 am in morning, someone was still in the kitchen banging doors and clanking dishes. Very annoying. I turned the fan on the AC unit to help drown out the noise. I would not stay here again. Recommend you look for something else.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hijimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seville hotels

Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

All right, the title is a bit rough. But that's what will stick in our minds. The staff - three overweight, arrogant and impolite men - do everything in their power to make you feel unwelcome, without actually shouting at you or throwing you in the Alcazar's dungeon. On a rainy week - which is what this one was - the place suffers from a bathroom odor problem: every room and bathroom in the hotel aerates onto the patio, whose roof must perforce be kept shut in wet weather. The result is a perfume that is rarely sought out by the common-minded among us.

The rooms? Tiny but clean, and the beds are small but comfortable. The bathrooms are equipped on the "where can we find the cheapest, least solid fixtures?" principles. It all works, sort of. Just don't count on getting more than one thin, flaccid towel for a family of three.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YumScrubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

I just wanted to say thank you to the Hosteria de dona lina staff for making out stay in Sevila the best stay on out 10 day trip around Spain. My mom and I had booked a double room for one night. However, we arrived in Sevilla at 6 in the morning and with this being Spain, nothing was open. It was a freezing cold, late November morning. So, without any options, we decided to knock on the Hosteria door. Surprisingly we were greeted by the friendly staff. Although, our room reservation was not until that evening (and check-in not being until 11), we were given an available room (at not extra charge). Which was perfect, because we were exhausted and able to go lay down. Yes, the rooms are very basic, but who needs a TV when you are in Spain. Most importantly, they are clean, larger than I expected, and the bathroom was extremely clean. Also, the location cannot be beat. It is right in the middle of the Old town. Right next to a beautiful square and around the corner from the Cathedral, alcazar, and all the other major sights of Sevilla. It was quiet, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The best part, this was the cheapest place we stayed on our trip and definitely the best.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neverstoptraveling01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hosteria del Laurel
Hosteria del Laurel
#111 of 176 in Seville
36 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Casas de Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Palacio Alcazar
Hotel Palacio Alcazar
#100 of 176 in Seville
271 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Elvira Plaza
Casco Antiguo
La Casa de la Luna
La Casa de la Luna
#125 of 176 in Seville
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Hosteria de Dona Lina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hosteria de Dona Lina

Property: La Hosteria de Dona Lina
Address: Calle Gloria 7 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Hosteria de Dona Lina 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FULLY RENOVATED BOUTIQUE HOTEL IN DECEMBER 2014 THAT HAS 9 ROOMS. IT HAS AN UNBEATABLE LOCATION, IS LOCATED IN THE HEART OF SEVILLE, IN THE DISTRICT OF SANTA CRUZ, CLOSE TO THE MONUMENTS MOST EMBLEMATIC OF THE CITY AS THE GIRALDA, THE CATHEDRAL AND THE REALES ALCAZARES, ALL OF THEM LESS THAN TWO MINUTES ON FOOT. HOTEL HOSTERIA DE DONA LINA IS LOCATED IN AN OLD HOUSE STYLE SEVILLANO OF THREE FLOORS WITH LIFT. ROOMS CONSIST OF A PRIVATE BATHROOM WITH HAIRDRYER,PERSONAL TOILETRIES , AIR CONDITIONING/HEATING,FLAT SCREEN TV AND FREE WI - FI IN ROOMS AND PUBLIC AREAS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your La Hosteria de Dona Lina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hosteria De Dona Lina Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing