We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Night”
Review of Sevilla de Opera

Sevilla de Opera
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.11*
and up
Seville Opera Performance with Optional Dinner
Ranked #14 of 39 Concerts & Shows in Seville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Every Tuesdays and Thursdays (19:00 and 21:30) enjoy the best traditional Flamenco in an intimate setting where raw emotion and commanding virtuosity provide an overwhelming experience for both artists and audiences alike. Prestigious and critically-acclaimed artists will show you the secrets of Flamenco whereby Flamenco dance, Flamenco song and Flamenco guitar are the leading protagonists.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
453 reviews
286 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“What a Night”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Yes, my passion is visiting Opera houses all around the world and Seville is no disappointment..............beautiful building and we managed to see The Barber Of Seville.....Go if you can.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    29
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent singers, but disappointing format.”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We saw their production of "Carmen." The four singers and the pianist-accompanist were all excellent musicians, and hearing excerpts of the opera up close and personal was fun. I was disappointed, though, that (a) the music was in fairly short excerpts, not even whole scenes, with too much narration (on a recording) in between, and (b) contrary to the impression left by the company's advertising, the opera portion of the evening had no flamenco aspect to it. Instead, a separate flamenco group (of uneven quality) performed for more than an hour before the opera presentation, with a (lengthy) intermission between the flamenco and the opera (which included another long intermission). Overall, the evening was enjoyable but wearing -- too much waiting around and talking for the amount of music performed

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Macrodiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This place is almost impossible to find. We asked many people on the street, no one had any idea where if was. We finally found a police officer who knew. It is behind a market, that is closed at night, so leave plenty of time to find itif you plan to attend. The opening act was flamenco. A guitarist opened the performance. He was then joined by a singer, and finally the dancer. His energy level and dancing skill was a joy to watch. After they finished the set many people left, I don't think they realized that an abbreviated version of The opera Carmen was to follow. The troupe of four perform arias and duets from the opera and the scenes are explained in Spanish. I'm very familiar with the opera so I was able to explain what was going on to my friend. It would be nice if there were an English libretto too. This is all performed in a restaurant. The food is not very good but the show is well worth attending.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nmfMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very intense and sympathetic”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Although not many visitors come during semana santa it was still a great experience. Dancers and musicians were very intense and sympathetic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I got a trim”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We fell upon this one accidentally and were quite glad we did. Although we are generally not opera buffs (having seen only one at the opera house in Vienna) we were pleased with our find. Everyone involved in the production seemed very personally involved. The voices were wonderful and better appreciated due to the cabaret like venue. The singers - one male and one female - walked among the tables as they sang parts of which virtually everyone has at least heard a portion. They interacted with the audience - to the point that , without missing a beat , the male vocalist motioned that I looked as if I needed my beard trimmed and walked over and went through the motions of trimming while singing his part in The Barber of Seville. The prices on food and drink were very reasonable and there was time between segments to allow full enjoyment of both. The pianist was also quite talented. We actually got to have conversations with the artists after the show. This is different than most entertainment and I think you will enjoy it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingDocruralPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sevilla de Opera also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Sevilla de Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing