We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambivalent about this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casona de San Andres Hotel
Ranked #120 of 175 Hotels in Seville
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ambivalent about this hotel”
Reviewed December 26, 2006

This hotel is in the historic center of Seville, but not in a particularly attractive area. We had ambivalent feelings about it because we had spent two previous nights at a much nicer small hotel, but couldn't book a third night, so had to move. The Casona just has a slightly "bordering on seedy" air to it, sort of dispirited, instead of lively and bright. However, it was clean. The hotel did not offer breakfast, but gave us vouchers to walk around the corner to a nearby cafe, where we got a toasted roll and cup of coffee. The Casona was certainly reasonably priced, but I would spend a little more to upgrade if we were to return to Sevilla.

  • Liked — nothing in particular
  • Disliked — The lobby was dark and dreary.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Anneinseville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    93
    45
    21
    20
See reviews for
29
108
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2006

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Casona de San Andres. It has a great location that is within walking distance to everything you want to see and because it is on a square, the hotel is quiet! The hotels and the rooms are charming with beautiful Spanish/Moorish decor. We didn't want to stay in a sterile hotel but rather something a little more authentically Spanish and this fit the bill perfectly. It was also a great rate of 65 Euros.

The only downside is driving in Seville to find the hotel! It is a maze of really narrow one way streets, pedestrians everywhere and seemingly no traffic rules. If you are coming by car, get a good map before you go, map out your route and head to the Corte Ingles car park (costs 15 Euros for 24hrs through the hotel).

Have breakfast with the locals in the little restaurant across the square. It is lively and the food was pretty good!

All in all, we would definitely stay here again. Seville is a great city and we enjoyed wandering around and enjoying the atmosphere!

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelling_loulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2006

The Casona de San Andres is a treasure indeed! My family of 4 stayed for 8 days here and loved the entire experience. ( two family members in each room)The hotel is super clean, very convenient to all parts of Seville, friendly staff, great amenities such as color t.v., safe for valuables and air conditioning, super functional, practical/clean bathrooms in your room , wonderful "Moorish" decor, rooms with just enough space for 2 people ( european standards), the modest extra "breakfast" included across the quaint plaza a great way to start your daily adventures..... I could go on about the positives but instead will mention just one negative: the hotel is located in a small plaza and taxi access is a bit tricky. The price is very fair. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — how totally unique and charming the hotel was
  • Disliked — somewhat smallish rooms but very manageable
  • Tips/Secrets — try it!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank picanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2005

Clean, modernised, friendly but small rooms and beds. Dreadful to find as the plan is totally uncomplete, the hotel is located on a small square, accessible by a narrow "oneway" street (!) -better rent a small car to drive in Spain !- the square is lively and not really noisy, a 10' walk to the cathedral. Forget the breakfast : it's a coffee and a piece of bread.

Check is your room has a "real" window instead of one giving on the patio and the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EricLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 5, 2004

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, and although the room was very small (common for Europe), it was VERY clean. The bathrooms were modern with good plumbing and plenty of hot water. There was even a built in hair dryer! Beds were comfortable, and there was a sizable safe in the closet. We had an interior room and the walls were thin so that noise from guests returning to the hotel late at night would wake us up. The cafe was closed so we were given vouchers to a little cafe across the courtyard. The breakfast wasn't great. The location was pretty decent--about 3 minutes to the shopping area and a total of 10 minutes to the Cathedral. Overall, I was pretty happy with the hotel for what we paid.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 18, 2004

This hotel is dreadful.We were awoken each morning at 8.00am by construction work involving a pneumatic drill and hammering immediately next door. The hotel was VERY NOISY and there was work also going on in the hotel involving drilling and hammering.There was no access to the roof terrace (locked) so we had to sit outside in the square. The hotel was so awful that we left early and asked for a reduction on the bill because of the noise but the hotel owner locked us in the hotel, called the police and made us pay in full. We have registered an official complaint.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seville hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dona Blanca
Hotel Dona Blanca
#117 of 175 in Seville
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dona Lola
Hotel Dona Lola
#126 of 175 in Seville
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Venecia
Hotel Venecia
#99 of 175 in Seville
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Derby Sevilla
Hotel Derby Sevilla
#56 of 175 in Seville
941 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duquesa Hotel
Duquesa Hotel
#140 of 175 in Seville
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro
Hotel Don Pedro
#90 of 175 in Seville
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona de San Andres Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona de San Andres Hotel

Property: Casona de San Andres Hotel
Address: Calle Daoiz 7, 41003 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casona de San Andres Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Casona de San Andres Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing