We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alcantara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alcantara
Ranked #39 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Well located hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Centrally located hotel in the Barrio Santa Cruz area - right near to loads of restaurants, and within 10 mins walk to the Cathedral, the Alcazar and all the main sights.

The rooms are very basic, but were clean and just what we were looking for on our stay in Seville.

One thing was no safety deposit box - which I would have expected.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corion34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    328
    81
    15
    7
See reviews for
101
356
70
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel on 5 Dec 2013. All staff are great, helpful in lending us laptop & printer to print bus tickets to Ronda and knowledgeable in recommending us places to eat. What was most commendable is that they had offered to help return the spectacles that I had left behind in the hotel drawer, by arranging to have that shipped back to my country, which I had received within a week! Deeply appreciated & touched, thanks to Hotel Alcantara staff's dedication, you truly have made a difference to create a wonderful memory for me in Spain!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glastonbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I chose Alcantara because I wanted an hotel to be in the heart of the city, Santa Cruz. I know Sevilla because I studied there for six months in 2007. This year I came back for a second time since, and I decided to give Alcantara a try because of all the great reviews.

It was a great choice. Alcantara is a few minutes away (walking distance) from the Catedral, Alcazar, and all the restaurants and bars around. Santa Cruz is so centrally located that you can even walk to Triana and the Betis street from there (make sure to do it at night or in the colder months, don't try it in july or august, the heat is incredible).

The hotel is small, but you will have all you need. The staff is really friendly and the breakfast serves it purpose. Nearby is the Carbonería, where you can get free flamenco and great sangria. But if you want a better show, try Casa del Flamenco right next door to the hotel. Also, there is a taxi stop a minute away to take you anywhere.

On a sidenote, I stayed on a double standard room because and we were comfortable. The double small room seemed, well, small...The price difference seems worth it.

Would recommend this hotel for anyone, first timers in Sevilla and people who know the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esteban P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed for three nights st the beginning of October. The location in a pedestrian street but only 50 yards from a place the taxi could stop meant that we were in the heart of the city but without some of the disadvantages. The room was comfortable and clean and the staff friendly and efficient. The high recommendation for a tapas bar in Merida, our next stop proved fully justified. The buffet breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I upgraded beforehand from the single room to the small double to have slightly more space. I believe that all these small double rooms are in the same quiet corner at the back of the hotel, one on top of the other. I initially was put off by an overly scented room spray, but after airing out the room and requesting no additional use, I was able to leave the window open at night and the room was perfectly quiet and cool and smelled fine, even though the afternoons got up in the high 80s. Air conditioner worked fine and quickly when I needed it. I must say that this was my most comfortable bed in my one month trip (7 different beds in all)--not too hard, and not too soft. As others have said, the staff is uniformly very nice and helpful, and all speak excellent English. Only negative was that I had 3 wifi devices with me and only had enough signal for two of them in my room, but this was not really a problem.

I also enjoyed having the flamenco show adjacent to the lobby (but you couldn't hear them at all one floor up). The hotel gives you a 3 euro discount, and so I went twice. Really terrific performances both times. Highly recommend this show if you have an interest in flamenco--different artists each night.

Alcantara's location was great--the Barrio Santa Cruz is so charming, but the crowds in the small, windy streets were not oppressive or bothersome. You are a short walk from the awe-inspiring Seville Cathedral and Alcazar and the surrounding gardens. For a first visit to Seville, I think Barrio Santa Cruz is an excellent location.

Also want to say that going from hotel to a nearby taxi is a matter of a 30 foot or so walk--really not a problem unless you are mobility-impaired.

Good hotel for a solo visit to Sevilla (now my favorite city in Spain!). Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed 3 nights October 2013. Room good size, clean and comfortable. Central location. Free fast wifi. Reception staff speak English and are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Advised us of best onward travel arrangements and booked train tickets for us. Good value for money in an otherwise quite expensive location. Free good walking tours from hotel lobby. Didn't sample cold breakfast buffet, but it looked good at €6 pp extra.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel is in a great central location, easy to walk to any of the sights. Rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable, and a decent size. Good breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff. Hotel is on a narrow pedestrian street, which can make access a little difficult for taxis (who will pick you up or drop you off at the end of the street), but this isn't a major problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveller1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#31 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Goya
Hotel Goya
#37 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Hotel Abanico Sevilla
#22 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#12 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcantara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcantara

Property: Hotel Alcantara
Address: Calle Ximenez de Enciso 28 | Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#32 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alcantara 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel Alcántara offers comfortable and modern installations at the heart of Seville's historical center. It is located in the Santa Cruz district, next to the famous Murillo gardens, declared "of Cultural interest". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alcantara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcantara Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing