We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start to my Spain vacation!”
Review of Hotel Alcantara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alcantara
Ranked #48 of 178 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

After a long day of transatlantic flying and a train ride from Madrid, the Hotel Alcantara was the perfect place for my family to start off our vacation in Seville. Though it was initially hard to find (we were lucky that a man on the street offered to walk with us there from the train station), its location ended up being one of its best features. You really can't beat being in the heart of Seville with its winding alleys, quaint shops, and great restaurants; not to mention that it is only a five minute walk to the cathedral and Alcazar.

The service here was probably the best out of all the hotels that my family stayed in during our Spain vacation. The woman at the reception desk was incredibly friendly and helpful at providing directions and recommending restaurants. She also got us tickets to the fantastic flamenco show in the auditorium in the hotel building (hotel guests receive a discounted price).

The rooms were very clean and well laid-out. One of the reasons why we chose this particular hotel was because it fit my family of six comfortably in two rooms: one quadruple room and one double room. While we opted not to eat breakfast at the hotel, it looked like a good, standard continental breakfast.

The great location, rooms, and service here really made our stay in Seville relaxing and enjoyable. For all of these qualities at a reasonable price, the Hotel Alcantara is one of the best places for tourists to stay in Seville!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Djs94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 750 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

A great place!! The location was perfect amidst small alley ways, restaurants, and shops. It is nothing fancy but all you need. More than anything else the service was fantastic. They were all friendly, happy, and very helpful. Great place to stay!

Thank Meredith_Gregory
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in June. This is a good hotel to be in if you want to explore the sites of the old town. You could walk to all the recommended sites in Barrio Santa Cruz. We had a room facing the courtyard and it was very pleasant. The rooms are of good size, kept clean with very good working air conditioning. The staff was friendly and very helpful. There are lots of places to eat around the hotel and there's even a flamenco school. We didn't take the breakfast as we thought it to be quite expensive given that there are nearby places to have breakfast at less cost. It was a bit difficult to find the hotel but people we asked were very helpful and if you get your bearings, it wasn't that difficult after all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chantal55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great hotel on a little pedestrian street in the heart of the Barrio de Santa Cruz, steps to the cathedral, the Giralda, the Alcazar, nice gardens and parks, restaurants, shops and cafes.
We had a nice, very clean and quiet room with big windows on the central courtyard. There is flamenco at night; hotel guests get a discount. They keep your luggage after check-out time so that you can enjoy Seville a little longer. Taxi station on a plaza nearby. Pleasant and helpful front desk staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geanne_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Alcantara in Sevilla May 19-21 and were very satisfied with another Rick Steves’ recommendation and concur with all the recent reviews on this site. We arrived at the El Prado bus station from Ronda and took a taxi to Alcantara, which we were glad we did. If we had been walking (with carryon luggage) I know we would have had extreme difficulty finding the hotel because it is in the Barrio Santa Cruz neighborhood which is a maze of narrow, winding streets. The taxi driver dropped us off half a block from the hotel because Ximenez de Enciso was too narrow for him to drive down. The hotel location was excellent for the following reasons: 1) it was a 5-7 minute walk to the Cathedral, Alcazar, and the pedestrian (except for tram) Avenida de la Constitucion (which has 2 Starbucks). 2) a dramatic, outstanding Flamenco show is right next door to the hotel; 3) an excellent tapas restaurant is just three minutes away in Placa Santa Maria; 4) another restaurant in Pl. Santa Maria serves American style breakfasts (with eggs) which you may want to do because the breakfast at Alcantara is basic. Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet and the front staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nrokke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in June 2013. The location is superb, and the staff was very professional. We did have a problem the first night when staying in a room right across the hall from reception. Unfortunately, we could hear even those at reception who were trying to be politely quiet. We mentioned this to staff the next morning, and they moved us up to a larger room on the third floor. I suppose every hotel has problems now and again, but (in my mind) what differentiates the good hotels from the bad ones is how they react to the problems. In this case, Alcantra gets five stars. We would definitely stay there again and will recommend the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: We would not recommend the room on the same level as reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikey371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Thanks TripAdvisor community for the recommendation of this hotel. It is in the middle of the Barrio d Santa Cruz and within a very short walk from the Cathedral, past dozens of shops and delightful narrow alleys.
The hotel is basic, but hey, it is cheap. There is a lift (thank goodness) and everything was clean and acceptable.
There is no fridge or safe, but the shower works well, and we could string up our trusty elastic washing line, and left the hotel with all clean clothes; a blessing.
The breakfasts at six euro are expensive and the coffee is awful. Head off down the road for a tostada, real juice, and good coffee.
The staff were terrific, and spoke good English.
Yes this is a good place to stay in Seville.
And - if you don't have Seville on your itinerary, and are thinking about it - do it. What a super city, what a lot of fantastic history of the Iberian adventures in America. Hmmn, I wonder what the indigenous people thought about it at the time?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#42 of 178 in Seville
1,996 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Goya
Hotel Goya
#56 of 178 in Seville
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Petit Palace Canalejas Sevilla
Hotel Dona Manuela
#74 of 178 in Seville
363 reviews
Hotel Abanico Sevilla
#32 of 178 in Seville
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcantara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcantara

Address: Calle Ximenez de Enciso 28 | Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#32 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $50 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alcantara 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel Alcántara offers comfortable and modern installations at the heart of Seville's historical center. It is located in the Santa Cruz district, next to the famous Murillo gardens, declared "of Cultural interest". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alcantara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcantara Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing