We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel, near all the sights!”
Review of Hotel Alcantara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alcantara
Ranked #42 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Great little hotel, near all the sights!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Hotel was a little bit tricky to find at first, but is extremelly well located - just a 5 minute walk to the Cathedral and the Alcazar. Staff was very friendly, rooms were small, but very comfortable.

If you are traveling on a bit of a tighter budget and would like to see a Flamenco Show, I would recommend checking out the show right next to the hotel, it is 15euros (compared to 40+ euros for the shows the hotel recommends) and it was a perfect introduction to flamenco.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldv09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    331
    81
    15
    7
See reviews for
101
360
70
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We recently returned from a visit to Spain in which we made a stopover in Sevilla on our way to Tarifa. We stayed one night at Hotel Alcantara, which is located in the Santa Cruz section of town. Hotel Alcantara is located on a side street about two blocks from Calle Menendez Pelayo and within walking distance of Sevilla’s main sights. We drove to Hotel Alcantara, which is not something I would recommend for the faint-hearted (because of the narrow streets), or for someone without a GPS (as a matter of fact, don’t attempt any driving in Spain without one). You can’t actually drive up to the hotel to unload, so we parked in the parking garage on Calle Menendez Pelayo and walked our luggage over to the hotel. The hotel and our room were clean, very quiet, and fine for a quick visit. If you get a chance, attend the flamenco performance in the salon conveniently located next to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachipichiNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This great little hotel at the edge of the colorful Barrio Santa Cruz, on a pedestrian-only street, is a real jewel. The room was clean, cool, quiet, and looked out over the inner courtyard. Our room was spare and functional, with air conditioning that worked, a flat-panel tv, and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was immaculate and tidy with good water pressure for showers after a day busy with sightseeing.
As I mentioned, a cab to the hotel will drop you off about 50 feet or so from the door but it's an easy walk. Once in the hotel the very friendly and accommodating owners provide a warm welcome and are willing to assist in finding restaurants and other services.
The breakfast is an additional 5 Euros and is served from a small buffet. Well worth the price. Take your meal out to the courtyard and enjoy the cool morning air.
We'll look forward to returning here in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calif_traveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

During our three weeks in Spain, this was one of the most comfortable, central, quiet and reasonable priced hotels--and with friendly staff!

The room was modest but fine; the location great although the roads are so twisted it took us 30 minutes for a 10 minute walk nearly every time because we got lost.

The Alcantara was tricky for us to find and our attempt to drive to it in a Passat was a disaster, even with a GPS. So we advise you to not try: ask them for details on the carpark and go there instead.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meemschirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson,SC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Had a triple room which was great. I can't say enough about the hotel staff-especially Benni. He was so helpful and friendly and went out of his way to meet all of our needs. The room was very clean and efficient. My only displeasure was with the air conditioning. The room was never cool. I spoke to Benni and he moved us to another room and it was the same temperature.The room stayed about 80 degrees the entire time. I gather the hotel was controlling the thermostat because I heard other guests discussing the same issue. Even having said that- I would still stay there-in the fall or the spring. The location is fantastic-within a short walk to every thing (less than 5 mins to the cathedral). Even though we were a little too hot- our stay was very pleasant and the staff a delight to work with! I would definitely stay there again. They also offered breakfast for 5 euro per person. It was quite good and I would pay 5 euro for a cup of their coffee right now!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fitnesschick88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Location : In the heart of the Santa Cruz Barrio, the hotel is very close to Cathedral and Alcazar. Though not very easy to find among the winding streets of the barrio, once you have done a few trips in and out of there, you'd get the route. The hotel front door is not accessible by vehicles so you do no need to drag your luggage a short distance from where the taxi drops you off.
Room Not very large and had basic amenities . The closet/ cupboard space is tiny . The room had a very small window and had a boxed in feeling. The bathroom too was small and basic. Overall not very impressed with the room but our stay was very short so didn't mind it much. Would not recommend if you plan to stay more than couple of days.

Breakfast : Standard cold breakfast like most European hotels. Not a wide selection. The courtyard where breakfast is served is not as charming as we thought it to be but can pass off as Al fresco.
Staff was helpful , thought not very knowledgeable about the town.
Hotel offers free wifi which was very useful, the connection was strong and good.
The hotel has a flamenco show next door , which seemed quite popular. We had already booked with other flamenco show prior to getting there so cant say how the show was.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kunal511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Hotel Alcantara was fantastico. Clean, comfortable, perfectly located in the heart of the old town, but still easy to reach other parts of the city. You can walk everywhere from here within 20-30 minutes. The rooms were very comfortable, unusually large for a European hotel. Comfy bed, nice size bathroom with decorative Spanish tiles. the flamenco show in the shop downstairs was GREAT, and seemed totally authentic. What's more, you can't hear anything of it from your room! Staying in a reasonably priced, wonderful hotel (like Alcantara) in a special city (like Seville) makes vacation the special experience it is. Stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeftyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#33 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Goya
Hotel Goya
#40 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Hotel Abanico Sevilla
#25 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#12 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcantara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcantara

Property: Hotel Alcantara
Address: Calle Ximenez de Enciso 28 | Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#32 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alcantara 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel Alcántara offers comfortable and modern installations at the heart of Seville's historical center. It is located in the Santa Cruz district, next to the famous Murillo gardens, declared "of Cultural interest". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alcantara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcantara Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing