We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rey Alfonso X
Ranked #34 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Rey Alfonso x. it is a Very confortable hotel with a great placement in the historical centre of Seville : both the cathedreal and the Alcazar are very closed.
Rooms are clear and spacious and the decoration quite nice. Internet works fine : ).
Only weak point point the air conditioning noise ...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Piergio13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviag288, Director Comercial at Hotel Rey Alfonso X, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado huésped:
Gracias por dedicar su tiempo a compartir su opinión sobre nuestro
hotel. Nos alegramos que su estancia haya sido agradable.
Quisiera pedir disculpas en nombre del hotel y su equipo por el problema del ruido del aire acondicionado de las habitaciones y tomamos nota del incidente.
No dude en contactar con nosotros si quiere volver a pasar unos días en la ciudad.
Saludos Cordiales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 899 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed three nights in this central hotel, and the room was clean, smart and cool. we had asked for a quiet room so the only window (a sort of narrow slit!) looked out onto a wall. The room itself was well equipped but the decor was totally gloomy. It was very 'designer' in style but the corridor so dark it took a while for your eyes to become accustomed to the dark to see to open the door. Once inside, this was not a room to spend any amount of time in, as had no natural light to speak of. Staff were nice enough - the bathroom had the previous user's dirty razor in the shower and this remained throughout our stay, but the place was so dark I guess the maids didn't see it!
Oh and PS, when you advertise 'Free WiFi' it helps to mention this is so weedy that it doesn't actually get you online in the room.......... not helpful!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ginny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviag288, Director Comercial at Hotel Rey Alfonso X, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado huésped:
Gracias por dedicar su tiempo a compartir su opinión sobre nuestro
hotel. Lamentamos realmente que su estancia no haya sido todo lo
agradable que debiera.
Quisiera pedir disculpas en nombre del hotel y su equipo por los
problemas durante su estancia. Nuestro procedimiento estándar en
estos casos sería ofrecerle cualquier otro tipo de habitación. El mal entendido se produciría al pedir una habitación tranquila. Tenemos, no sólo habitaciones que dan al exterior con balcones, sino otro tipo de decoración, puede comprobarlo en las fotos de las habitaciones del Hotel.
Mi más sincera disculpa por encontrar una cuchilla usada, ese es un error que se podría haber corregido y lo pondré en conocimiento del personal.
Una vez más, le ruego acepte mis disculpas y espero que pudiera
disfrutar al máximo del resto de su viaje por España.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for three nights in clean comfortable rooms. The location was great, not too far from the station, good selection of bars and restaurants close by and majority of sites an easy walk. After a guided walking tour we hired bikes which was a good way to get around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel looked very promising from the out set good location, parking in a cramped city lay out and a friendly porter that helped us park. That is where the good times ended. We arrived to a room that hadn't been cleaned lint on the pillow, dust and dirt on the side tables and bathrooms. To make it worse we had booked a king size double room and we were told they had run out and there was nothing they could do. Then on top of this there were no toiletries and the remote to the TV was not working. The response from the staff was less than helpful, not what you would expect paying 4 star hotel rates and on top 22 EUR a night for parking! We went out to see Seville which is an amazing place by the way but when we came back there was a repetitive clicking noise that was almost impossible to sleep through. This coupled with the noise you could hear in the room like your neighbours going to the toilet (very clearly) and doors slamming, all built for a sleepless night.

Like I said the prospects for the hotel looked great but failed on almost every level. There are much better hotels is as good a location. Avoid this one like the Plague. Over priced and falling short at every opportunity.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Asg593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviag288, Director Comercial at Hotel Rey Alfonso X, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado huésped:
Gracias por dedicar su tiempo a compartir su opinión sobre nuestro
hotel. Lamentamos realmente que su estancia no haya sido todo lo
agradable que debiera.
Quisiera pedir disculpas en nombre del hotel y su equipo por los
problemas durante su estancia. Nuestro procedimiento estándar en
estos casos sería ofrecerle una habitación de categoría superior en una
planta diferente, seguramente el hotel estaba completo y no habría posibilidad de cambio. Si es cierto que las habitaciones de cama matrimonial no se confirman y están sujetas a disponibilidad.
Me aseguraré de que su experiencia se ponga en conocimiento de todo
nuestro equipo de servicio para que sirva como ejemplo práctico.
Una vez más, le ruego acepte mis disculpas y espero que pudiera
disfrutar al máximo del resto de su viaje por España.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Not the best. We are here currently travelling all over Spain (Barcelona, Granada, Seville then Madrid). This is the most expensive and the worst! There is no iron, not even on request! They are afraid I am going to burn down the hotel. Basically, i was told to send my clothes out for servicing.
The shower is terrible, water goes everywhere, and I mean everywhere. Additionally, our bathroom door jams a quarter way when opening.

My husband and I are world travellers and this is my first review as I am both upset and disappointed. The lack of an iron really pissed me off.
One good thing is the location.

However, simply this hotel should not say they are 4 star.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Greenibandit69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviag288, Director Comercial at Hotel Rey Alfonso X, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado huésped:
Gracias por dedicar su tiempo a compartir su opinión sobre nuestro
hotel. Lamentamos realmente que su estancia no haya sido todo lo
agradable que debiera.
Quisiera pedir disculpas en nombre del hotel y su equipo por los
problemas durante su estancia.
Hemos tenido una pequeña plancha hasta hace poco pero igualmente tenemos servicio de lavandería donde gustosamente podrían haberle planchado las prendas que necesitaran.
Una vez más, le ruego acepte mis disculpas y espero que pudiera
disfrutar al máximo del resto de su viaje por España.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I could not have been happier with this Hotel. I stayed here for a week over Semana Santa and was so happy and comfortable. The Hotel was perfectly located to see and walk to everything that I wanted to see. The staff were incredibly friendly and incredibly helpful in giving recommendations about Seville and recommendations about Easter in Seville.
There are hundreds of Tapas bars and restaurants within 5 minutes walk from the Hotel including many on the plaza right in front of the Hotel. The in room wifi was fast and reliable. My room was large and extremely comfortable and the bathroom was huge and very chic. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

There are many advantages to the Rey Alfonso X. It is in the heart of the old city of Seville, within a couple of minutes' walk of the Cathedral and in the midst of lots of bars and cafes. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped, although like most Spanish hotels it does not have tea and coffee-making facilities, which would be a major advantage. It does have free wi-fi for guests, however, which is always a major plus-point for business travellers.
This trip, however, was a sight-seeing visit to the city and for that the hotel worked well too. We had a room at the front, overlooking a busy little square which was fine except it got rather noisy, especially early in the morning with much banging and clattering of bins and cars and motor cycles in the narrow streets surrounding.
We did not use the hotel for breakfast as it charged 18 euros each, which was a little steep considering you can walk outside to many bars and cafes offering the same thing at a fraction of the price.
But for the noisy room and the high breakfast charge, the hotel might have warranted a four-star rating from me.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snookoafc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Fernando III
#41 of 177 in Seville
1,304 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#35 of 177 in Seville
2,829 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Monte Carmelo Hotel
#11 of 177 in Seville
798 reviews
Melia Sevilla
#37 of 177 in Seville
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rey Alfonso X? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rey Alfonso X

Address: Calle Ximenez de Enciso 35, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#47 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $82 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rey Alfonso X 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rey Alfonso X is located in a privileged place, in the famous Santa Cruz neighborhood, next to the Cathedral and the Giralda, a 19th century house converted into an elegant hotel. Its emblematic location, next to the most famous monuments and leisure and shopping areas will make you enjoy an unforgettable stay in Seville. The rooms have been meticulously decorated, blending tradition with elegance and timelessness, to offer them a unique hideaway in the cradle of millennial Seville. Let yourself be seduced, relax in our coquettish outdoor pool and enjoy views of the historic city of Seville. Enjoy an unforgettable experience, you can eat or snack at your bar and meet their fantastic cocktails. The Hotel Rey Alfonso X offers you a pleasant breakfast in a pleasant and quiet atmosphere, with a great variety of natural and freshly made products for you to prepare it to your liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rey Alfonso X reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rey Alfonso x Seville
Rey Alfonso x Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing