We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Rey Alfonso X
Ranked #48 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Can be noisy”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

There are many advantages to the Rey Alfonso X. It is in the heart of the old city of Seville, within a couple of minutes' walk of the Cathedral and in the midst of lots of bars and cafes. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped, although like most Spanish hotels it does not have tea and coffee-making facilities, which would be a major advantage. It does have free wi-fi for guests, however, which is always a major plus-point for business travellers.
This trip, however, was a sight-seeing visit to the city and for that the hotel worked well too. We had a room at the front, overlooking a busy little square which was fine except it got rather noisy, especially early in the morning with much banging and clattering of bins and cars and motor cycles in the narrow streets surrounding.
We did not use the hotel for breakfast as it charged 18 euros each, which was a little steep considering you can walk outside to many bars and cafes offering the same thing at a fraction of the price.
But for the noisy room and the high breakfast charge, the hotel might have warranted a four-star rating from me.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snookoafc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    338
    163
    32
    24
See reviews for
98
468
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elora, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in Hotel on a short trip from Portugal. The only difficult thing with the Hotel is that we had a hard time getting to it with our cars because the old part of Seville is covered in one way streets. We eventually parked in a local garage and took a cab to the Hotel. Once you are there a car is unnecessary as it is central to all the major attractions. There were 8 of us and the staff organized rooms together. The rooms were clean and had beautiful views over the square. It was large really surprising how large the rooms were. The stay was enjoyed by the whole family.

Room Tip: In the off season ask for a room looking out over the Square.These may be noisy in the summer though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked into this hotel for a long weekend in Seville. The location could not be better! A stones throw from the cathederal and other major sights.
The hotel itself is lovely.
The beds were very comfortable - not a double bed but two very large singles pushed together.
It was cold in February but the air con worked nicely to warm the room.
A comment on the lighting in the room - I have noticed in many moderdised hotels that the lighting is not great. I'm sure the room is much brighter in the summer months. In addition the only mirror was in the bathroom which can be a challenge when both my husband and I were preparing for a night out. These are very small things that did not take away from our enjoyment of the hotel.
Finally, the staff were extremely plesant and helpful.
I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank audscb_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you are looking for a no fuss, clean and just in the heart of the city centre Hotel to stay then Hotel Rey Alfonso X is the perfect for this purpose. We requested a quiet room as we know from our previous experiences how some Spanish towns and cities can be extremely noisy. Indeed our room was quiet , overlooking to a simple courtyard. So no views of the Cathedral or any church.
But our aim was to stay as little as possible in our room and exploring City of Seville as much as we can during our four nights stay. The staff overall were friendly and helpful and they gave us some tips on where to eat and visit. A little dis appointment was when we asked for an umbrella on a rainy morning we were told the hotel doesn't supply umbrellas and we had to buy our own umbrellas. Not a big deal but not good either for a 4* hotel lacking on something as simple as this.
But overall we had a pleasant stay. By the way we didn't include our breakfast in the booking so we wouldn't be able to advise on that.

Room Tip: Room S 20 is good if you are looking for a better sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibrahim1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just back from a stay in this hotel and had to review it after receiving brilliant service. We arrived really early in the morning yet the reception staff allowed us to check in early and catch up on some much needed sleep. Staff were friendly, yet professional.
Our room faced the patio, was well furnished to a high standard with plenty of space and a very generous sized bathroom
Excellent location, minutes from the Alcazar and the Cathedral with some nice cafes in the square just in front of the hotel.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowgirlcat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A really well located from where you can walk and explore the main areas of the old city. The reception staff were all very pleasant and very helpful. Wise to ask for a quiet room if you are not used to external noise. Rooms are of a good size with comfortable beds and clean. Seville is a vibrant city ( even in February ) and I cannot imagine you would have much time for TV. If you do there is only one English news channel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear facing the patio are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnomBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First visit was as solo traveller and this second trip was with family. Location is hotel's biggest asset. Service is outstanding and the rooms are great, comfortable and clean. Will continue to recommend.

Room Tip: Hotel faces small plaza and there are rroms overlooking plaza with small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barranquitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Fernando III
#47 of 175 in Seville
1,085 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 175 in Seville
4,181 reviews
Hotel Posada del Lucero
#62 of 175 in Seville
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
#51 of 175 in Seville
844 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#34 of 175 in Seville
2,670 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 175 in Seville
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rey Alfonso X? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rey Alfonso X

Property: Hotel Rey Alfonso X
Address: Calle Ximenez de Enciso 35, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#47 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rey Alfonso X 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two majestic buildings located in plenary historical center of the city shape the elegant IMG Hotel Rey Alfonso X, where the tradition, modernity and elegance are in perfect harmony. The recovery of these distinguished buildings has formed a wide offer of rooms, with the common features of being luminous, comfortable and current. The bedrooms and the baths are equipped with meticulous form to cover the needs of all the customers. The offer of services of Hotel Rey Alfonso X is replete with beautiful details that will do his unforgettable stay: it will be able to savour the plates of the menu of the Bar, to taste a pleasurable breakfast buffet integrated by a wide diversity of products or to enjoy a relaxing time while he contemplates the panoramic sights of the city from the Bar of our swimming pool placed in the top terrace. Equally, we put to his disposition the garage of the Hotel in order that his stay is more possible commode. Near of the Hotel, there places to scanty 500 meters the whole of Cathedral, Giralda and Reales Alcazares, the commercial district for his purchases to 800 meters or Plaza de Toros a 1.200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rey Alfonso X reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rey Alfonso x Seville
Rey Alfonso x Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing