We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location if visiting old Seville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Rey Alfonso X
Ranked #48 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Garden of England - Kent
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location if visiting old Seville”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was our first time in Seville and we wanted a hotel close to all the sights - we were not disappointed with our choice as it is located within walking distance of The Cathedral and Giraldo, Alcazar and countless bars and restaurants. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and our room was clean and up to date. A suggestion though would be for tea/coffee facilities to be available in the room as a cup of tea first thing when I woke up would have been greatly appreciated. I would also have liked a few more hooks in the bathroom to hang clothes, towels etc but not a major concern. We too travelled by bus from the airport but would highly recommend that you have a decent map if you choose to do this as we found the hotel difficult to find but our map was not detailed enough as the hotel is not hidden away. Loads of places to eat and drink within easy walking distance plus you are also in the narrow winding lanes of old Seville rather than a built up area. We loved Seville and will definitely be returning and will happily stay at this hotel next time.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Magalluf_annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    338
    163
    32
    24
See reviews for
98
468
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vence, France
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is ideally situated in Santa Cruz, everything in walking distance. Staff was friendly and helpfull, we were given a large mini-suite-like room. Everything was clean, not too noisy from the outside (but from families on the same floor). Problem was: This rooms atmosphere was ice-cold. I do not mean the aircon/heating which worked fine. But there was no painting on the wall, no piece of drapery. Curtains? Full height shutters out of sheetmetal instead. Also: Idiotic design touches like spots in the floor which prevent from seeing anything or a glossy black bathroom with no place to put the soap. However, it was not too expensive and still good value, I reckon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay at this hotel , the location is really great just a short stroll to all the main attractions, restaurants & bars. The rooms are spotless & there was a great range of toiletries provided. The bus from the airport (EA) only costs E 2.40 & the stop is only a short walk to the hotel . Overall I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on our first trip to Seville. We wanted somewhere central but that also had its own parking spaces available and could not have wished for a better experience. The hotel is clean, well maintained and in easy walking distance of the main attractions. We were particularly impressed with the welcome from staff at the check in desk and the great help we received in recommendations for places to visit and local restaurants for us to try. The rooms are a good size, lots of amenities and the free wifi helps make our stay more enjoyable too! We were a bit concerned about finding the parking after reading other reviews, but this proved to not be a problem at all; as soon as we arrived a member of staff parked our car for us behind the large brown doors leading to their underground car park! There is a great place just around the corner for breakfast too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivjoluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a very unfortunate experience with this hotel. We had booked for a Friday and Saturday night. On arrival on the Friday night we were told that there was no room for us at the hotel as it was overbooked. They could give us a room on the Saturday night but not the Friday night. We understand that sometimes these things happen. It is what followed next that was very disappointing.

The hotel had arranged us another hotel room which we were told was a 'very nice hotel'. The hotel paid for us to get a cab to this other hotel. It was horrible. It was out near the airport, stunk of cigarette smoke and was in a bad state of repair. On looking at Tripadvisor since, we had been put up in one of the worst rated hotels in Seville. There were no dining options around and we had to get room service at a cost of €60 and the food was very average. A far cry from the night we originally planned of tapas and bar hoping around the central area where Hotel Ray Alfonso is located. I had asked the Ray Alfonso before leaving whether they pay for us to get a cab from the airport hotel back into the city so we could go out for tapas and was told no.

The next morning we got a cab back to Ray Alfonso and were given a free breakfast for our troubles which was appreciated. For balance, once we checked into the Ray Alfonso it was lovely. The rooms are fantastic and it is a great hotel. If we had of been there both nights as we booked it would have been a great experience.

The problem is that when we checked out of the hotel they charged us the full amount of staying at Ray Alfonso for both nights. This is not fair. We did not get a like for like hotel when we were sent to the terrible, dirty hotel out near the airport. It ruined our first night in Seville and we would never have booked and paid the terrible hotel out near the airport. On questioning this, all the hotel would do is offer breakfast free for both days.

It is such a shame that such a lovely hotel is let down by bad management. We were penalised and inconvenienced by the hotel's error and all we got was breakfast thrown in. I would have thought a discount on the first night's stay would have been the fair thing to do given they ruined our first night in Seville. It's simply not fair that we had to pay full price when we were sent to such a terrible hotel way out of town that we would never have spent a single euro at in other circumstances.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leigh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Like always, we looked for an hotel via tripadvisor and this one charmed us the most. And again, we weren't disappointed. The hotel is located in the center of Sevilla, just a 5 minute walk from the cathedral. There are lot's of nice tapasbars and restaurants nearby. Even more so, when stepping out of the hotel, there's a little square with lots of restaurants, we especially liked the one just next to the hotel on your right hand side. Our room was very spacious we a big closet, safe, minibar and a seating area next to the bedroom. The bed was very comfortable so no problems sleeping, also because it was very quiet ( room was situated at the back of the hotel ).
The bathroom was also very spacious and modern with separate bath, toilet and shower with gigantic showerhead! The only downside we found, was that there was only a small narrow window with fixed metal frame work so there was very little daylight coming in. Because of this we also didn't have a view or terrace, but for us this wasn't a big issue since we were out the whole day. The staff was very friendly, helpful and speaks good English. The hotel is about 15-20 minutes from the airport. You can take a taxi which will set you back 25 euro, you can also take the bus from/to the airport, but then you have to walk a little bit, but is much cheaper. There's a nice tapasbar close by called Levies, which we found worth visiting. Enjoy your trip! This hotel is definitely worth staying at if your willing to pay a bit more and have a nice comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here earlier this year and we were very happy with this hotel, pleasant staff, clean rooms and a lovely square in front of the hotel where breakfast can be taken in the morning at the two or three cafe's opposite.
Very close to cathederal and tapas bars in old town seville in a very picturesque part of the city.
Only booked room here so cannot comment on breakfast etc but all in all you could do much worse than this pleasant, corporate stylish hotel. Very nice terrace on top of the hotel where drinks can be taken although we tried the terrace we found service up there a bit lax however worth a look.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSteve64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Fernando III
#47 of 175 in Seville
1,085 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 175 in Seville
4,181 reviews
Hotel Posada del Lucero
#62 of 175 in Seville
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
#51 of 175 in Seville
844 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#34 of 175 in Seville
2,670 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 175 in Seville
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rey Alfonso X? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rey Alfonso X

Property: Hotel Rey Alfonso X
Address: Calle Ximenez de Enciso 35, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#47 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rey Alfonso X 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two majestic buildings located in plenary historical center of the city shape the elegant IMG Hotel Rey Alfonso X, where the tradition, modernity and elegance are in perfect harmony. The recovery of these distinguished buildings has formed a wide offer of rooms, with the common features of being luminous, comfortable and current. The bedrooms and the baths are equipped with meticulous form to cover the needs of all the customers. The offer of services of Hotel Rey Alfonso X is replete with beautiful details that will do his unforgettable stay: it will be able to savour the plates of the menu of the Bar, to taste a pleasurable breakfast buffet integrated by a wide diversity of products or to enjoy a relaxing time while he contemplates the panoramic sights of the city from the Bar of our swimming pool placed in the top terrace. Equally, we put to his disposition the garage of the Hotel in order that his stay is more possible commode. Near of the Hotel, there places to scanty 500 meters the whole of Cathedral, Giralda and Reales Alcazares, the commercial district for his purchases to 800 meters or Plaza de Toros a 1.200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rey Alfonso X reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rey Alfonso x Seville
Rey Alfonso x Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing