We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little too pretentious for me ..sorry”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of La Mojigata

La Mojigata
Ranked #836 of 2,614 Restaurants in Seville
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Wine Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A little too pretentious for me ..sorry”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were lucky to secure a table outside and asked the host Rafa, to select some wines and tapas for us to sample. The wine here is top notch and very reasonably priced, but the food......just one tiny sardine fillet on a crouton between the two of us!!! why? Ok the taste was good and having Rafa sear the fillet with his blow torch, a little different. Other diners were treated to one sardine fillet each! Not a good start. Next came the hot dog with foire gras and a side dish of jam....way too sickly.Other dishes were just as memorable. However, kudos to Rafa, because he gave us some great recommendations for some great traditional tapas bars in the city.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpressGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    39
    24
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We travel to Seville a couple of times a year and one of the joys of the city is eating in a different tapas bar every night. La Mojigata ruined this for us - it is so good that we had to break our rule and return here at least twice on every trip. The food is excellent, stylish, beautifully prepared and served and utterly original in concept and presentation. The menu varies to reflect the best produce in the market each day. The wine selection is extensive and the staff both knowledgeable about the wines and very helpful in their suggestions. The staff are most engaging and strike perfectly that elusive balance between attention and intrusion! The cost per tapas is a little higher than the average at €4 - €5 per plate but this reflects the superior ingredients used and the skill and time taken in preparation. My only reservation in recommending this restaurant is that the more diners it attracts the bigger the danger that it might be full the next time I visit!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen_ADublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great wine gastrobar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Are you interested in wines? This is the place to go. The owner is really knowledgeable and will always guide you to the best deal that satisfies your preferences. I don't understand why he doesn't advertise his 300 references list through a wine menu, but he has the wines; so just ask him, it will be an interesting talk.
The food is really creative and much lighter than Seville's average. I found it the perfect match for drinking some great wine without having a michelin starred bill. As a matter of fact the selection of food is really wide so you can find many dishes that match the wine you choose.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bon_Scott_AC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Small & stylish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Another of my favourite places in town. It's very arty, but that's because a lot of the stuff, such as the hand-painted mousetraps used for the bills, have been designed by a prominent local artist. It's a modern fusion tapas bar, dishes are beautifully presented and the taste is subtly divine. For quality like this, the downside is the cost, but it's worth it. It's certainly a great place, especially if you aren't too hungry!

The black sushi melts in your mouth and equally delightful is the flambéed sardine. As most of the best places, I found this quite by accident, the menu painted on the windows and the hand-painted drums acting like table of sorts attracting my attention.

Just as I said, it's not cheap, but it's a great little place. Go when you aren't hungry!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Chiew_Pang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very sophisticated, hip and slow”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The restaurant is small, hip and sophisticated. The service is very personal and extensively sophisticated with the preparation by the waitresses of the fish-tapas at the table with gas pre-treatment and oil after-treatment, and interested personal talks with the guest about their holiday. We were very much stimulated by he preparation and smell of the dishes at the tables of our neighbors and their seemingly very interesting holiday experiences, but after 30 minutes being unserved ourselves, we could not endure our emaciated stomach anymore and searched for a quicker address. Maybe better next time ?

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickRots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mojigata also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to La Mojigata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing