We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Casas De Los Mercaderes
Ranked #36 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in an excellent location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for five nights. The double room was just a few steps up from the ground floor but was certainly on the small side for two people. There was no balcony and the only fresh air came via a small window which looked onto a tiny internal courtyard which was a problem for us if there were people down there smoking. There is air conditioning but it is very noisy. On the up side, the hotel is in a fantastic location, in a quiet narrow street but only moments walk from the Cathedral and the Alcazar. The room and the bathroom were clean and the staff helpful and friendly. There are a lot of good restaurants, bars and breakfast places near by. Avoid the cafe next door for breakfast the food there is terrible. For a few nights only this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jip11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    210
    60
    13
    13
See reviews for
44
248
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for a few nights here and found the location to be excellent for access to everything on the east of the old town (Cathedral, Alcazar, many good plazas). They do not appear to agree with double beds here. The plumbing for rooms above us appeared to run through an unsoundproofed conduit in our ceiling and we got a bit too much information on the state of our fellow inmates gastrointestinal tracts throughout the day).
All of this aside, the hotel is clean, the staff friendly (although we had very few requests for them) and relatively good value (for Seville).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candide57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at this nice hotel, simple but with everything I needed. The room was clean although a bit dark, the bed was comfortable, the air conditioner worked fine (it was 40°C), wardrobe was a bit small, but I didnt have much clothes to hang anyway. The hair dryer wasn't working, but I didnt even complain coz it was so hot outside that I preferred to go out with my hair wet. Staff was nice and polite. I didnt pay for the breakfast, but there is a cafe next to the hotel - and belongs to it, where you can have a decent Spanish style breakfast for less than 5 euros.
The only problem I had was due to the noise on my first day (the hotel is in renovations and they were hammering the wall next to my room - it was in the middle of the afternoon). Apart from that everything was fine and I've heard no noise from other guests.
The location is excellent, in the heart of bario Santa Cruz, so you can do everything on foot: 5 minutes walk to the Cathedral and the Alcazar. 15 to 20 minutes to Plaza Mayor. If you go by car you must pay attention coz Alvarez Quintero is a pedestrian street, so it might be a little trick to find it (like almost all the streets in Sevilla).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostInThoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here for one night on the 17th September. Lovely location, helpful staff and a nice positive atmosphere helped to purge us of a very negative experience in another Seville hotel. Hospitality, cleanliness and care for the guest go a long way towards creating a positive experience for the guest. So take a bow the Reception staff and all others we came in contact with. iced tea a nice touch and location is quiet and so central. Just take it easy on the air freshener!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186605Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Me and my friend stayed at this hotel for two nights. The Hotel is located in the city center with walking distance to historic city center and shopping district. This is a very ancient and beautiful building. Room was very nice and clean, Staff was very helpful, we enjoyed the beautiful small pool , which is located in the Husa los Seises Hotel (we very kindly informed by the staff that we can use the pool service in their other hotel which is located 300 m away from Husa Las Casas de Los Mercaderes). The taxi costs 9-10 eur from Seville central train station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SofiaGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed with my parter in this hotel last october and I really fell in love with it! It is so spanish :)
Good position - very close to the most important places and to the city centre (2/3 minutes by foot); comfortable and spaciuos rooms with a lovely view on the main street, professional and helpful staff. We did not book breakfast because we decided to relax and have it nearby...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zighy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#12 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Hotel Abanico Sevilla
#22 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#33 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
H10 Corregidor Boutique Hotel
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casas De Los Mercaderes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casas De Los Mercaderes

Property: Las Casas De Los Mercaderes
Address: Calle Alvarez Quintero 9-13, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Casas De Los Mercaderes 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Casas De Los Mercaderes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing